Skip to content

Nine More??

February 5, 2011

I woke up to almost 6 more inches of the fluffy stuff! I don’t think anyone in St. Louis was expecting quite that much, as the streets were kind of a mess.

It’s pretty, but it made my trip to the gym a little difficult. I got stuck right behind the plow trucks on the highway. Plowed streets, but slow moving!

Before heading to the gym, I had a pre-run breakfast of almond butter and 1/2 banana on a whole wheat english muffin.

A glass of hot lemon water and few wheat thins may have snuck in too. I need to stop with the wheat thins – I’m goign to go through the whole box handful by handful! I figured a few extra carbs wouldn’t hurt though, as today’s long run was 17 miles! I was actually scheduled to run 11 today and 17 next weekend, but I switched them because I’ll be in FLORIDA visiting Alex next weekend and the shorter distance will be much easier there. (Did I just call 11 miles short?)

Today’s run was broken up a bit differently than usual, as I had to get off after 6 miles to change the TV to the Villanova vs. West Virginia basketball game. I also took two gels this week, (gross Razz Clif Gels…not my thing) one at mile 7 and the second at mile 14. The run looked like this:

  • 6 miles @ 6.6 mph, .5% incline
  • 2 minute TV changing / bathroom break
  • 9 miles mostly @ 6.4 mph, .5% incline
  • 2 minute stretching break & refill my water bottle
  • 2 miles @ 6.4 mph, .5% incline

FINITO! Total time was about 157 minutes. Lots of stretching and foam rolling afterward was necessary as my right calf and ankle are pretty tight. And now I’m icing my ankles and knees on the couch and loving that I have a rest day tomorrow.

That’s my “I can’t believe I ran 17 miles!! But I can’t imagine running 9 more!!” face. I’ll just ignore that thought for a while.

*********************************

Time to shower and EAT! I think I’m going to try Anne P’s black bean burger recipe. Hopefully it’s more successful than the veggie burgers I made last weekend!

 

End Notes:

  • My Operation Beautiful note is featured on the website today! Check it out!
  • I love this quote that hangs in my gym: “Make the impossible possible, the possible easy, and the easy elegant.”

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 2:54 pm

    Congrats on the long run! The longest I’ve ever done is 13, and that was seriously tough for me.

    Sorry you’re getting more snow where you are. I think we’re predicted to get a few more inches this week here, too. Personally, I’m ready for spring.

    Alright, happy weekending, Clare!

  2. February 5, 2011 3:09 pm

    So impressed with your17 miles!! And I have those black bean burgers on my “to-make” list too… let me know how they are if you make them!

  3. Lauren permalink
    February 5, 2011 3:48 pm

    Congrats on 17 miles, Clare!!! Amazing! I would want to eat a lot of ice cream after that 🙂

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    February 5, 2011 4:27 pm

    Dang girl, CONGRATS on the 17miles on a SATURDAY morning, haha. The only 17miles I’ve traveled this week is by car. 🙂

  5. February 5, 2011 4:41 pm

    Wow! Great job on that run! Definitely something to be proud of. And by the way, the church sign is hilarious!!

  6. February 5, 2011 9:15 pm

    Wahahah! The sign at the church cracked me up. Nice to know we Christians have humor, too! 😉

  7. February 5, 2011 11:16 pm

    17 miles on a treadmill?! Holy mother of god. You deserve an award! Go you!

  8. February 5, 2011 11:48 pm

    great job on the indoor run!! that’ a lot to do on the treadmill!!!

  9. February 6, 2011 1:51 am

    SO SO Impressed you can run that much on a treadmill! i hope i can do that one day!.. and YES u did just call 11 miles SHORT ahahh!

  10. February 6, 2011 3:20 pm

    really impressed with all these miles your racking up in training! making me consider a full marathon one of these days.. one step at a time! I hope you ate a ton afterwards running for that long must have worked up quite an appetite!

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Recipe Blogs « Fitting It All In
  2. You’re Hot Then You’re Cold « Fitting It All In
  3. The Marathon Experience: A Look Back « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

