Skip to content

Fro-Yo For One

February 6, 2011

Yep.

Last night I was “that girl”. The one that goes and gets frozen yogurt by herself. I was a walking Observer comic.*

I went to Yo My Goodness and kept it simple – just a mix of tart and strawberry topped with a few fresh strawberries and some mini chocolate chips. It was a really really good decision…I hadn’t had fro-yo since my birthday in October!

*The Observer is the daily newspaper at Notre Dame. Each day there were comic strips, and often they made fun of how much Notre Dame girls love the frozen yogurt machines in the dining halls. It’s kind of an inside joke, but also a point of controversy since it essentially makes fun of overweight girls. Regardless,  last night I fit right in!

After my solo dessert, I met up with some friends for black jack and drinks! I had a beer and lots of laughs. The beer tasted SO weird at first since I haven’t had one in a while. I’ve been sticking to wine lately, but I’m a beer girl at heart 🙂

I was in bed by midnight, but didn’t sleep well at all! I’ve found that I am really restless the night after a long run. I think maybe it’s because I had so much water yesterday that I had to go to the bathroom a lot, but don’t know if it might have something to do with muscle fatigue or calorie deficit?

Does anyone else have this problem?

When I got out of bed around 9:30, all I wanted to was a cold yogurt bowl. I mixed 2 teaspoons of peanut flour, a bit of stevia, and a teaspoon of chia seeds into my Oikos 0% plain. On top went Kashi Go Lean, 1/2 microwaved banana (why it looks so gooey in the middle), sliced strawberries, and a sprinkle of walnuts.

After Church and a grocery run  (I needed garlic, lemons, and a veggie tray for tonight) I came home and started roasting veggies for the week. I popped 3 chopped sweet potatoes, 1/3 block of tofu, 1 bag of brussel sprouts, and some cloves of garlic in the oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Some got packed up for later, some got thrown on a sandwich for lunch tomorrow, and some were put on top of my salad for lunch!

My salad was a base of spinach topped with roasted sweet potato, brussel sprouts, tofu, and cherry tomatoes. I dressed it with Amy’s light raspberry vinaigrette (a new one for me..liked it!). I don’t usually make salads myself because they don’t fill me up, but using root veggies and a hearty protein source solves that problem.

An apple for dessert!

Time to lounge and catch up on blogs before I head over to LB’s boyfriend’s house to watch the Superbowl commercials. Is anyone really upset that Glee is on so late? I’m definitely not going to be able to stay up to watch that, so onto the DVR it goes. It’s gonna be a busy beginning of the week for TV watching between 2 episodes of Glee and the Bachelor. Weeee!!

  • What are you doing for the Superbowl?

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 3:32 pm

    I like your idea to roast up some veggies and tofu for the week…great idea!
    No plans for the superbowl…painting my nail and watching SVU on USA! Im not a football girl. 🙂

  2. February 6, 2011 3:45 pm

    I love yo my goodness!! my boyfriend is from st. louis & lives in webster groves so it’s super convenient when we’re here! so fun to find another st. louis blogger…excited to follow your blog!

  3. Karina permalink
    February 6, 2011 3:57 pm

    i sometimes have trouble sleeping after my long runs too! im curious as to what it could be…

  4. February 6, 2011 4:05 pm

    My night will be pretty low key, just watching the game and catching up on homework 🙂

  5. February 6, 2011 4:14 pm

    There is nothing wrong with yogurt dates by yourself 🙂
    I do them a lot when Kris is working late and I have nothing else to do 😉

    I have lots of mornings where all I want is yogurt and fruit, I’m not a big breakfast eater!!!!!

    Todays plans include studying, I won’t be watching the superbowl, instead I did a spin class and now I’m at starbucks studying, well more like blog stalking and studying 😉

    xoxo

  6. Emilie permalink
    February 6, 2011 5:56 pm

    I totally can’t sleep after long runs either! I guess I should research this.. I wonder what it is. Maybe the adrenaline is still running high and we can’t calm down?

  7. February 6, 2011 6:20 pm

    Hanging at home with my husband. He took a new position so this is one of his two weekends home this month. Savoring every minute!
    I love frozen yogurt, but it’s been so cold lately to really enjoy it.

  8. squigglefloey permalink
    February 6, 2011 7:03 pm

    Omg I ALWAYS go on yogurt dates by myself!!! Like, once a week — no shame!
    Have fun watching SB commercials, I’ll be doing the same 🙂 And painting my nails I think…

  9. February 6, 2011 10:19 pm

    Girlfraaan. Doesn’t it suck to have to do stuff solo when we know it’d be extremely enjoyable if our dudes were by our sides? Yea. I have to force myself not to think like that too often! Thankfully, froyo is fab no matter the situation.

    Sometimes when I don’t eat enough, I can’t sleep. I also have bouts of insomnia, so there’s nothing really to help that.

    Have a fab Monday!

  10. February 6, 2011 10:25 pm

    I did absolutely nothing for the superbowl! My husband and I did laundry, ate dinner and watched mindless TV. It was a pretty normal night! Just found your blog and you spell your name the same way as me so I was intrigued! Hello from one Clare to another – spelled the right way, of course. 🙂

  11. February 6, 2011 10:28 pm

    I had a great time with friends watching the Super Bowl 🙂 Your salad looks so yummy!! Black jack night sounds like so much fun! I felt the same way about beer today. I hadn’t had it in so long too!

  12. February 7, 2011 1:46 am

    oh gosh! sorry you didnt sleep well… sometimes i dont sleep well when my body is hungry and needs more food.. im so restless the wholenight until i get up and EAT..! gah! so many a small snack when that happens will help!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fro-Yo For One « Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

