Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: My Big Valentine’s Day Question

February 7, 2011

 

For today’s edition of Monday Man-Day, I’m gonna get a little romantic on you. I want to hear about YOUR man!

mine:)

With Valentine’s day a week away many people are trying to decide what to do, what gifts to give, or what chocolately dessert to make to *celebrate* being a free-woman. Tell me about your plans – is your guy a romantic? Do you two do a nice dinner out or cook at home? Do you get flowers & chocolate, something practical, or decide to do no gifts?

 If you’re not currently attached, have you had any memorable Valentine’s days in the past? Do you do anything special with your girlfriends that day? Last year my girlfriends and I went to see the movie Valentine’s Day and then out to dinner at Bar Louie.

But the big question I’m wondering is do girls get the guys gifts too?

source

 

I’m a total gift giver on any and every occasion. I just love the whole process of finding something the person will truly love and seeing their eyes light up when they open it. Thinking of the perfect gift is an exciting game for me! But Valentine’s day is a little different. Often times it’s thought of as a time for the guy to dote on the girl and the one day he can show his mushy gushy side. (Have you heard of the guy holiday on March 14th? Steak and a BJ day. Clever boys, clever.)

So tell me, do you get your guy a gift on Valentine’s day or is it your day to be pampered and loved?

If you’re looking for a bit more than the standard box of chocolates, I’ve heard Engagement Chicken does the trick 😉

source

  

Fun fact: In highschool I hosted a “Singles Party” every Valentine’s Day. I think it started one year when my parents were out of town and I decided to have people over (oops!). We played scrabble, ate take-out Chinese food, made brownies, and had a pinata (what?). It was such a blast that the tradition continued every year!

One year, though, I wasn’t single! Being the loving girlfriend that I am, I told the guy that I had a singles party to host so I’d be busy. It worked out because he wanted to go to some hockey game anyway, so we went out the next night. We liked each other, I swear!

I’m excited to hear all your stories and plans!!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 1:30 pm

    We always stay home and cook a nice meal on V-day, since the restaurants are so slammed (and the prices are usually jacked up). And we don’t do gifts, partly because his birthday is like two weeks before Valentine’s. But I’m sure I’ll be baking some sort of heart-shaped treat.

  2. February 7, 2011 1:31 pm

    crazy for me to talk about, but i actually met my guy on eharmony! i was totally embarrassed by it at first, but with mine and his kind of field job it isn’t easy for us to meet other people!

    i’m normally not a fan of valentine’s day because i worked at a chocolate store and it was the worst experience ever! 18 hour shift was killer! but this year, i found a special through livingsocial (like groupon) so we have a nice marina/beach side stay for two nights with running, surfing and vegetarian eats on the calendar!

  3. February 7, 2011 2:00 pm

    Oh yes. My husband and I are very much looking forward to Valentine’s Day as we’ll be celebrating the exact same way we did last year: by eating fried chicken and beer for dinner while watching Nacho Libre.

    This is likely going to become our annual tradition, which I love. I just think it’s funny because we don’t do the stereotypical things like getting each other gifts and such. We’re just spending time together eating good food and being dorks, like usual : )

  4. Lauren permalink
    February 7, 2011 2:05 pm

    This is my first valentines day in a while with a boyfriend, so I got him a few small gifts (DVD and a book), but normally I think it’s all about friends! In college we used to wear black and pink and go out to eat and have a party! So much fun!!

  5. February 7, 2011 3:06 pm

    My boyfriend is pretty romantic, but not over the top. We are keeping it simple with presents, because our birthdays are right around the holidays, and we are a little presented-out:). So we are planning on making dinner together, and we are also going to see Casablanca this weekend. I might get him some wine glasses, too:)

  6. February 7, 2011 3:29 pm

    We’re just doing a simple dinner out–it feels like we were just at Christmas!!!

  7. February 7, 2011 3:30 pm

    My husband is the anti-romantic…so usually I have to initiate Valentine’s Day events. This year I’ll be on a plane back from Michigan, so we won’t spend much of the day together. Maybe a quick dinner before we both go off to our evening jobs! I’ve learned not to expect to much (just on romantic holidays), which is okay with me…I’d rather have him be genuinely romantic when he feels it (which does happen sometimes!) rather than force it on one day. He did buy me Valentine’s Day M&Ms our first V-day together! 🙂

  8. February 7, 2011 3:55 pm

    I love finding/giving gifts for every occasion too! My boyfriend and I have been dating for almost 4 years. Our anniversary is on Feb. 18, so we always celebrate that weekend. Usually we watch all the NBA All-Star weekend events, and go out to dinner. We’re pretty low-key, but I will admit that a couple bottles of wine make their way into the weekend 🙂

  9. Katie permalink
    February 7, 2011 4:33 pm

    Well my boyfriend and I have only been together since the fall… so I still haven’t completely decided what I am wanting to do for him since we haven’t been together that long. In the past I have let the guy buy the presents and plan the night, but I feel like I should do something for my current boyfriend. Perhaps a heart shaped treat and I will let him plan the night. I know he has something up his sleeve… oh man I hate the anticipation of surprises!

  10. Erin permalink
    February 7, 2011 4:42 pm

    I’m totally a gift giver. Last year I got all-inclusive Blues tickets for Timmy and me. He’s made me promise no gifts this year though 🙂 He’s planning our Saturday activities during the day and I’m going to make dinner at night and we’re just getting a hotel room that night. So exciting you get to see Alex this week!

  11. Brandi permalink
    February 7, 2011 5:30 pm

    Awe….your guy is so cute and such a hottie! We dont usually do much for Valentine’s Day. Our Wedding Anniversary is Jan 4 so…I think that is about all hubs can handle 😉
    This year we will both be in the middle of a busy busy workweek so this weekend we are going to Miami (hour east), staying at a beach hotel and doing couple-y things.

    I’ve never been much of a Valentine’s Day fan. Usually I felt this way because it seemed I was ALWAYS single at the time but even now, forced romance just doesnt do it for me 😉

    I hope you are the hottie have a Happy Valentine’s (regardless of what party poopers like me say)!!!!

  12. February 7, 2011 5:57 pm

    My hubs is my valentine. Last year we didn’t get each other gifts because we just got engaged and were saving money for the wedding. This year, with him being gone so much, I think we have decided to give each other gifts the next time we see each other, ten days away! That way even though we won’t see each other on Valentine’s Day, we still get to spend some time together by picking out gifts for each other. 🙂 I think I’m going to get him a digital photo frame.

    My husband is amazing. My best friend and the one person that just gets me. I’m such a lucky girl!

  13. February 7, 2011 6:09 pm

    I love giving gifts and any chance I can give gifts I go crazy 🙂 But I love giving heart felt gifts that are home made and sometimes on occasion store bought gifts.

    This valentines we are doing a dinner and movie. We don’t usually celebrate valentines day, I used to, but my fiance told me once “I will show you I love you everyday not one day out of the year” and he truly has. We already do date nights once a week, so that will be our valentines “date” But I am a sap for Valentines day and still ask him to be my valentine 🙂 Once I decorated his entire room with balloons and candy and left a big poster board that said “will you be my valentine” 🙂

    i’m such a sucker for love 🙂

    xoxo

  14. February 7, 2011 7:33 pm

    I love Valentines day now that I have a valentine!! My bf Sean and I have been together for almost 2 years..last year we did gifts so we are again this year..not sure about dinner plans yet but we go out to eat a lot so probably will!

  15. squigglefloey permalink
    February 7, 2011 7:49 pm

    Haha how cute u guys are! What nationality is your BF?
    Not too sure what I’m doing this Valentine’s Day. I’m not going home for the wknd bc of midterms, so I think the BF is going to come over and–we’ll find something fun to do. I’m in Orange County so it’s not too far from Balboa Island pier and a few other things. I’m not really huge into celebrating, so even going to a nice little dessert place or seeing a movie is fine with me 🙂

  16. Danielle permalink
    February 7, 2011 8:15 pm

    my boyfriend is named paul…and he ironically resembles a piece of cardboard.

  17. February 8, 2011 9:22 am

    aww u guys are too cute!! im not at all into the overpriced awkward v-day dinners out so we’re staying in and cooking–our favorite past-time anyways! the menu is up in the air but im sure we’ll put something yummy together!

  18. February 9, 2011 6:24 am

    Scott ALWAYS cooks for me on valentines day. ( its the ONLY day of the year that he does and its a shame because he is good at it!
    we do always exchange small gifts. i DO get him something every year. usually a card and candy and this year a video game too 😉

  19. Good Ol'WENDY permalink
    February 9, 2011 9:12 pm

    Ahhh I can feel the love in the air! I’m sure you’ll have a very special Valentine’s Day…with a hunk like that, how could you not?!?

    Now I dont want to sound like a wet blanket on your romantic weekend, but whatever Alex told you about “Steak and a B*” Day is a bunch of hooey! Now I know he’s cute, but it sounds to me like he’s just scheming to get you to tame his one-eyed snake (If I’m making myself clear…). You deserve your own prince, princess. So just make sure this boy knows that he’s got a real special lady and behaves accordingly!

    Now that’s enough talk about the birds and the bees! You’re a grown woman, I’m sure you can handle yourself just fine. Wendy’s just looking out for you! You two have so much fun this weekend. I know you will!

    Oh to be young…

    Take care and God Bless,
    Good Ol’ Wendy

    • February 10, 2011 9:54 am

      Actually, Alex wasn’t the one that told me about that day. It was an ex-boyfriend, but the “holiday” is pretty well known as I’ve seen it on the internet. Thanks for your concern.

  20. rose permalink
    February 12, 2011 9:46 pm

    We usually stay home and have a dinner with the kids. It’s a family holiday in our home. I give my kids and my husband gifts. I work at DISH Network and I purchased the Logitech Google TV for my husband this year. He is an electronics man all the way. Now he will be able to watch TV and play on the internet all at one time while lounging on the couch. I think this will be the best present yet.

Leave a Reply

