Skip to content

Ache-y Break-y Stomach

February 8, 2011

Hi guys!

Lunch today was a classic – sweet potato with black beans and salsa and a side of roasted brussel sprouts. Apple for dessert.

It tasted great, but I ate it in a bit of a hurry since we had a 1pm meeting. Afterward my stomach felt like this:

source

 

One of those “my stomach is eating itself and cramping in every single direction” problems. No bueno.

I wasn’t feeling my snack at work – a mix between not being hungry and thinking yogurt wasn’t the best thing for my aching tummy – but when I got home I knew I needed food. I intended to make savory oats tonight, but that sounded awful. After putzing around the kitchen opening cabinets and drawers, I decided all I really wanted was a big bowl of cereal.

I had a huge pour of Kashi Go Lean with some sliced almonds, blueberries, and strawberries swimming in soy milk. It tasted good, but didn’t help my stomach too much. I wish I knew what was wrong! My guess is too much fiber at lunch. Yes, too much fiber isn’t good either!

I have a harp lesson tonight and then will hopefully be able to watch Glee afterward. I hope this stomach issue clears up!

  • What do you eat when your stomach hurts?
15 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    February 8, 2011 6:16 pm

    Oh gosh when I first started reading I looked at that plate and knew all that fiber would hurt my stomach too. I usually just wait it out. Maybe have a cup of peppermint tea and then if hungry avoid fiber veggies and maybe have some crackers and cheese with tomatoes and cucumber. Or some toast with pb.

    • February 11, 2011 4:26 pm

      Peppermint tea works for me too. I keep a couple of tea bags in my purse for when I’m out somewhere and need some.

  2. February 8, 2011 6:24 pm

    Any time I eat in a rush I have terrible stomach pains after! That could definitely be it. The lunch looks delicious all the same though. Oh and thank you for the black bean burger review- can’t wait to make them!!

  3. February 8, 2011 6:34 pm

    When my stomach hurts, I usually try and drink something carbonated and have some low-sodium soup. I hate feeling that way! Too much fiber does a number on my stomach too : (

  4. February 8, 2011 6:50 pm

    My stomach does somersaults when I eat too much fiber too. And my go to meal whenever I can’t decide what I really want is ALWAYS cereal. I swear if I weren’t married, I would be eating cereal way too much for dinner.
    Hope you feel better!

  5. February 8, 2011 7:47 pm

    When my stomach hurts, I usually have a glass of ginger ale. It always seems to settle it down. Feel better!

  6. February 8, 2011 10:15 pm

    I like to eat bananas! Or do the old fashion sprite and crackers! 🙂
    Hope its feeling better! You can never go wrong with cereal! Make sure to mellow on the dairy!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    February 8, 2011 11:22 pm

    I often have tummy achies — usually after I drink bubbily drinks too quickly or eat too fast? I dunno, maybe you did have too much fiber? I would have thought cereal would make it better — but these days my tummy aches are usually helped by just some plain toast or pita bread with butter and some cinnamon. I think it’s diff. for everyone though!
    ❤ feel better m'dear!

  8. February 9, 2011 1:22 am

    ahh im sorry your tummy was upset!! mine gets upset when i eat something oil heavy or too much bread!

  9. February 9, 2011 7:29 am

    soup and hot water with lemon! feel better 🙂

  10. February 9, 2011 8:11 am

    I’m in the same boat right now — it happens to me quite often, and I haven’t figured out why yet!! So I usually just have to deal with it (read: pretend it doesn’t hurt) because it’s annoying to let something like that ruin my life. But applesauce / bananas / ginger supposedly help a bit.

    ❤ ❤

  11. mel permalink
    February 9, 2011 8:25 am

    that happens to me when I wait too long in between meals to eat, then eat too much fiber!!

  12. February 11, 2011 5:01 pm

    ginger chews WORK WONDERS when i have an upset stomach!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Ache-y Break-y Stomach « Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. Blogs Are For…Learning! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

