Skip to content

Blast From The Past

February 8, 2011

Check out what I found on my kitchen counter:

We still have phones from the 1980s in our house!

Apparently what happened is that my mom was reviewing our phone bill and noticed a charge for “leasing” a phone. After looking into it further, she realized that we have been leasing this old phone since we bought it! We don’t use it anymore, but didn’t remember that we needed to return the phone. So, we’ve been charged about $100 a year ever since. When we called the company, they told us they could still give us $70 if we return the phone and they will reuse it. FOR REAL? They are going to try to lease this phone again?

  • Do you still have any ancient technology lying around your house?

We still have a Laser Disk player in our basement…like the big record-looking things that you used to watch movies on even before VHS!

************************************

WORKOUT:

This morning I had another increase in mileage. I was to run 8 miles before work and I was nervous! I got up a little earlier to start my run and was finished a little before 8 am, total run time coming in at 72.5 minutes:

  • 2.5 miles warm-up @ 6.5mph
  • 3 miles tempo @ 7.0mph
  • 2.5 miles cool-down @ 6.5 mph

I was lacking a little energy but luckily I expected this and brought a GU with me. I took a Vanilla Bean GU around mile 4 and fell in love. A new favorite for sure! I want to eat GUs as snacks.

source

And in another little blast from the past, I’ve been watching Sabrina a bit during my morning runs on ABC family. Haven’t seen that show in forever! It’s pretty entertaining.

OUTFIT:

Why did I choose not to wear tights when the windchill is -2 degrees? Oh boy does the wind give you a little kick in the pants when it blows up your legs!

 

BREAKFAST:

I wasn’t sure if I needed to be at a 9 o’clock meeting or not, so I packed a portable breakfast just incase. Turns out I didn’t, but this almond butter and banana sandwich was a nice change from my usual oatmeal.

 

I’ve been loving reading all of your Valentine’s Day plans, as well as some interesting comments on my recent China Study findings. Thanks for chiming in! Have a great Tuesday!

 

Of Interest:

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 11:05 am

    That’s amazing–reminds me of those huge cell phones. Did you see the neat Superbowl ad featuring outdated technology? So cute.

  2. February 8, 2011 12:00 pm

    Do you have tvs in your treadmills at your gym? I have the hardest time watching tv while I run, mainly because at my gym, the treadmills are so far from the mounted tvs! It’s a struggle.
    Your outfit is nearly identical to mine! Mine included tights though…yesterday I had on a skirt and boots SANS tights and did freeze…so today the tights were a priority! My outfit includes a black pencil skirt, black tights, brown boots, a purple long-sleeved top, and a tan cowl/eternity scarf! Great minds! 😀
    That telephone issue sounds crazy. Silly phone companies.

    • February 8, 2011 12:11 pm

      No personal TVs, just a couple TVs on the wall infront of all of the machines. I try to get a machine thats kinda close so I can see better.
      And too funny about our matching outfits! I usually wear tights, but they really bother me when they stick to my skirt so I went without. Bad call I suppose!

  3. Her Brother permalink
    February 8, 2011 12:06 pm

    The laser disk came out between VHS and DVDs. It was the supposed to be the new thing for about 3 weeks before someone made the laser disk smaller to create DVDs.

  4. February 8, 2011 12:12 pm

    i LOVE SABRINA!! and wow- great run esp 3miles at 7!
    ahahha blast from the past technology- i think i have a few of those lying around!

  5. February 8, 2011 12:39 pm

    gosh i love those boots…fantastic!

  6. February 8, 2011 1:39 pm

    My parents still have their answering machine haha!! Great job on the workout!

  7. February 8, 2011 4:30 pm

    That sounds like an awesome workout! I love your oufit as well! Where did you nab that skirt and that scarf?!

    • February 8, 2011 5:00 pm

      Thank you! I believe the skirt is Ann Taylor Loft and the scarf is American Eagle!

  8. oatsandspice permalink
    February 8, 2011 9:10 pm

    Haha we have one of those old school phones at my cottage – so funny!

  9. February 12, 2011 11:56 am

    Here’s a good suggestion, which my kids asked for…breakfast for dinner. So, we made healthy Belgian Waffles(without the trans-fats), eggs and meat-free sausage. I couldn’t tell the difference.http://bestdealsclub.com/862/how-to-have-a-fun-breakfast-for-dinner/

Leave a Reply

