Skip to content

Noochy Oats

February 9, 2011

Great conversation on my last post about how much is too much when it comes to running. I got lots of reminders that adequate strength training will help to prevent joint and knee problems…another reason why I need to keep up with my 2011 goals!

 

FOOD:

Lunch today brought the return of an old fav – Dr. Praeger’s burgers! These frozen veggie burgers are heavy on the veggie – very soft as opposed to a meaty texture of say a Boca burger – but the flavor is incredible. I had on on a sandwich thin with hummus, spinach and tomato.

Sugar snap peas and an apple rounded out this meal, which thankfully did NOT hurt my stomach! It was close though because I was inhaling this so I could sneak out and get my nails done (pink on my nails and red on my toes because I’m a sucker for holidays πŸ™‚ )

Anyway, I subscribe to text messages from Self Magazine, and as I was eating I got a text encouraging me to slow down during meals to enjoy the food. It was such perfect timing that I tweeted @SELFmagazine thanking them, and now they are sending me some treats in the mail! I LOVE SOCIAL MEDIA.

While working away I had my go-to snack as of late. Just a plain 0% Oikos with some strawberries and blueberries on top. But the big hit of the day was planned for dinner. Since I didn’t get to make my savory oats last night, I made sure to get them in tonight. Do savory oats sound strange to you? They did to me too at first when I read about them on Angela’s blog. Aren’t oats supposed to be a sweet breakfast food? But if you think about it, oats are just another grain like rice or couscous, so why not?

 

The star of the show was nutritional yeast, affectionately called “nooch” by many. Never heard of it? Nutritional Yeast is…

  • A terrific food, providing nutrition, enhancing flavor, and adding taste to your favorite meals and drinks.

  • An excellent source of protein (52%), containing essential amino acids. Gluten Free.

  • Rich in vitamins, especially the B-complex vitamins. An excellent source of folic acid, which is important for formation, growth, and reproduction of red blood cells.

source

You can buy nutritional yeast in the bulk bin of health food stores, Whole Foods, and even some regular grocery stores now. (I got mine at Dierbergs in St. Louis). It has a nutty, cheesy flavor and so is used by many vegans as a protein source and cheese replacement.Today it got mixed into a pot of oats along with some olive oil and soy milk to achieve a creamy, cheesy, bowl of goodness.

It looks like fish food. Try to get past that.

My recipe was based off of Angela’s “You’re So Cheezy Savoury Oats” but with a few changes. Here’s what I used:

  • 1/3 cup oats (not quick-cooking)
  • 2/3 cup water, 1/3 cup soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • dashes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder

Toppings:

  • black beans
  • peas
  • edamame
  • salsa
  • siracha

 

First I put the oats, water, soy milk, olive oil, and spices into a pot and brought it to a boil. Once it was frothy, I added in the nutritional yeast.

I lowered the heat and stirred frequently as the oats thickened up. I kept the heat pretty low because I have problems with oats getting stuck to the bottom of my pans, but it should only take about 10 minutes until it looks like this:

While it was cooking, I prepped my toppings. When it was finished it got poured in a bowl, topped with some veggies and proteins, and put into my belly.

Amazing. The oats have a velvety luxurious texture. It doesn’t taste like a slice of american cheese smacked you in the face like a bowl of Kraft would, but instead has a subtle nutty flavor that melts in your mouth.

And you can put anything on top! It was so much fun to mix and match my toppings in each spoonful, and siracha really makes everything better. I think it has a slightly sweet flavor compared to other hot sauces. Whatever it is, it’s good.

Try this!! The great thing about bulk bins is you can get just a tiny bit of the nutritional yeast to try at first. Now you have no excuse.

********************************

Eating a grapefruit and a chocolate z-bar for dessert. Time to finish PACKING for my trip to Florida tomorrow!

  • Ever tried Nutritional Yeast?
  • What’s one “weird” food combination you tried and ended up loving?

 

 

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 8:48 pm

    Have a great time in Florida! πŸ™‚ I get to visit my hubs over spring break. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait.
    We have a HUGE container of Siracha in our fridge. My husband put it on everything!

  2. February 9, 2011 9:25 pm

    Hmm a weird combo… that’s a tough one! I’ve really been enjoying carrots and almond butter lately. I guess that’s not super weird, but it’s all I can think of. My Mom on the other hand likes lots of weird combos- she’ll only eat Cheezits with milk!

  3. Katie permalink
    February 9, 2011 9:31 pm

    I have always grown up eating popcorn and pickles together. It sounds gross but it is delicious πŸ™‚

  4. February 9, 2011 10:04 pm

    I’ve never tried nutritional yeast… I’m a little nervous, to be honest.

    A weird food combo- lots of different things with cottage cheese. Tomatoes, fritos, etc.

  5. February 9, 2011 10:15 pm

    One night, out of raging hunger and having nothing in my kitchen, I microwaved a potato and topped it with a can of plain tuna, some salsa and parmesan cheese. And it, was, awesome. I ate it for like a week solid after that. So good!

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:02 pm

    You best be taking a picture of yourself in your gorgeous dress this wknd!!! So excited for you and hope you have a safe and wonderful trip! πŸ™‚

  7. February 10, 2011 1:50 am

    i LOVE savory oats! but have never tried them with noosh!.. now i might have them for dinner becuz i forgot how good they are!

  8. February 10, 2011 6:00 am

    Dr. Pragers makes the BEST Veggie Burgers!!

    I still have not tried Nutritional Yeast but I really want to. Just keep forgetting to buy it.

  9. February 10, 2011 8:26 am

    i love angela’s blog but still have yet to try the savory oats…yours look so yummy!

    so lucky you’re escaping this freezing weather!! i can’t take it anymore!!

  10. February 10, 2011 10:46 am

    I have not tried nutritional yeast, or savory oats, but have been meaning to forever!! I must do this soon!! I am in LOVE with Dr. Prager’s veggie burgers, they are my absolute favorite.

    Weird food combo: I never thought I would like spinach in my smoothies, but now I love my green monsters!

  11. February 10, 2011 8:34 pm

    i put nutritional yeast on top of home made popcorn, popped in chili oil, and a splash of liquid aminos.

  12. Alice permalink
    March 16, 2011 7:24 am

    I’m actually a savory oats for breakfast person. Its really good with nooch and an egg on top—reminds me of cheesy grits πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Bloggie Trends You Just Aren’t Into « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

