Skip to content

One Small Step: How I Met Alex

February 11, 2011
Hiii guys! Since I’m in Florida visiting Alex and with Valentine’s Day coming up, some crazy part of my brain convinced me that you might be interested in hearing how we met. Forgive me if I’m terribly mistaken.

Here it goes:

My friend LB and Alex’s friend Pat were good friends through class, but our two groups of friends had never really met or hung out. When LB mentioned to Pat that we girls were going on a cruise for Senior Spring Break, Pat brought the idea up to the guys and they were all interested.

LB & Pat

Despite the fact that most of us didn’t know each other, a group of 9 girls and 8 guys were going on Spring Break together. We approached it with a relaxed attitude — if these guys were cool, then awesome! If we didn’t click so much, no big deal. A girls’ trip would be really fun too.  Parts of the group hung out a couple of times before the cruise started, but we still didn’t know each other very well.  I met Alex briefly at a bar one night and all he told me was that he was going to propose to his wife with Taylor Swift’s “Love Story” playing in the background. He doesn’t remember that.

Cruise Group minus 3. Sweet face, Lex.

The night before the Cruise left we all stayed at my friend Kim’s house because she lives in Palm Springs, conveniently close to our port. We ate and drank and started a big game of boys vs. girls charades. Alex remembers me as being  bitchy because I was upset that the boys were playing kind of dirty. I don’t remember Alex at all because he grew out a crazy beard and mustache for the trip down to Florida. (It’s shaved in that picture above)

The cruise began and we quickly figured out that this mix of girls and guys were going to get along VERY well. The first night we decided to hit up the cruise dance club, One Small Step. Ohhh One Small Step, you complete me. With a couple of  an unhealthy amount of alcohol in our systems, the dance floor got crazy. I don’t really remember how, but Alex and I ended up dancing together all night. He is quite the dancer.

Alex Dancing at One Small Step

 

And apparently I was busting out some crazy moves that night too…

Me at One Small Step

I have no idea what was happening in that picture. Moving on.
 
I didn’t really know what to make of my little crush on Alex, considering it was senior Spring Break, but we ended up hanging out a ton during the cruise (minus the night I drunkenly ditched him, but I’m trying to block that night from my memory). We got along really well and had tons of fun, but neither of us were really thinking much further than that week.

Alex & Me on the cruise

Cracking me up, as usual

 One night he was being really cute and asked me if I would try to watch the sunrise with him. We set up camp on a lounge chair and talked and talked, but he gave up around 4am and we went to bed. I was embarrassed for him.

Awesome pic of us on that lounge chair. MY CHEEKS!

 
So the cruise ends, and I’m totally nervous about whether or not Alex will want to hang out when we get back to school. I was so excited when he texted me during his drive back! Through a series of stupidly flirtatious text messages I got invited to watch a movie with him the first night we were back in school. I was told this was a bold move for Alex – he didn’t normally bring girls over on weeknights.
 
That week was also St. Patrick’s Day, which is like the Super Bowl of Notre Dame parties (Read: the only day us nerdy kids actually skip class to day drink). Alex and I hung out all day!

sweet outfits on St. Pat's

Throughout the next couple of weeks we were together a bunch. We went on our first date to a Boyscout spaghetti dinner at a local Church (awesome) and danced at our favorite bar a ridiculous amount.  One day I made him one of the Green Monsters I kept talking about. He uttered the words “I really think what we put in our bodies affects how we feel” and I almost died. (He probably doesn’t remember saying that). I was smitten, but nothing was official. Starting a relationship a month before graduation seemed like a really bad idea.

Lex & Me at the Kentucky Derby

But I guess we just couldn’t help it. We clicked! I don’t think we admitted to the boyfriend/girlfriend thing until almost May, but people teased us about it for a while before that.
 
As graduation approached, I was getting really nervous about what would happen. Could we really start a long distance relationship after only a couple months of dating? How would I feel if this just ended? We didn’t talk about it at all, and I just enjoyed each crazy, beer-filled, final day of senior year as it came.

Lex & Me, Senior Ball

Graduation came and went, and literally the night before I was leaving to go back to St. Louis we had “the talk”. I asked him what we were going to do, and he said he wanted to try it. I WAS ECSTATIC! We didn’t set any ground rules, but had already talked about Alex visiting me for the Cardinals vs. Reds baseball series in June.
 
And that’s that! Things kept going well and we visit as much as we can. He’s awesome and I’m lucky and we’re taking it one small step at a time.
 
The end.
24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 9:32 am

    Y’all are adorable. Hope you’re having fun!

  2. February 11, 2011 9:56 am

    Lovely story – the pics on the cruise show how close you got – you look really happy!

  3. February 11, 2011 10:06 am

    ohh you went to notre dame! i went to andrews in berrien springs…small world!

    love your fire cheeks 🙂 i miss summer breaks.. 😦

  4. February 11, 2011 10:42 am

    ah, such a great love story!!!!

  5. oatsandspice permalink
    February 11, 2011 10:45 am

    Aw you guys are so cute together – and that is adorable he said he would propose to his wife with “Love Story” – I bet it will be youuuu!! 🙂

    Have fun with his this weekend girl!

  6. February 11, 2011 11:09 am

    Aw what a cute story!! Have a great Valentine’s Day with him!

  7. February 11, 2011 11:35 am

    soo cute!!! my bf loves green monsters too! didn’t realize u went to ND…that’s where he went too!

  8. Cory permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:56 am

    I love this story Clare! And yes- I was curious how you two met considering you don’t live near each other! I recently taught the boy I’m dating some yoga poses since he hears me go on and on about my love affair with it and asked me to show him some for his very manish inflexible body- and this week he texted me saying “I’m craving some yoga”. I just about died.

  9. February 11, 2011 12:02 pm

    Aww I loved this! Sounds like you’ve found a good one. 🙂
    Hope you and Alex have a fun Valentine’s day!!

  10. February 11, 2011 12:26 pm

    Such a fun story! Thanks for sharing.

  11. February 11, 2011 12:57 pm

    This is so cute!! Love hearing how couples met!!

  12. squigglefloey permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:48 pm

    Omg this is such a beautiful story!
    One small step…great way to describe it!
    Alex, if you’re reading this — you have a GREAT girl ! 🙂

  13. February 11, 2011 3:33 pm

    you two are BEAUTIFUL!!! i love all these wonderful, happy pictures!

  14. Brandi permalink
    February 11, 2011 4:58 pm

    Riveting! Such a great story! Everyone always asks how a couple met and started dating and you guys have a cute one. My hubs and I met at a bar while playing pool next to each other so not terribly romantic 😉

  15. February 11, 2011 6:14 pm

    Such a cute and fun story!

  16. February 11, 2011 7:40 pm

    Oh I love “how we met” stories!! Thanks so much for sharing! I hope you guys have a great visit! 🙂

  17. February 11, 2011 8:56 pm

    awwwww! Too cute! Great story 🙂

  18. Christina Horan permalink
    February 11, 2011 9:43 pm

    Hi Clare! I’ve been reading your blog and I can relate to everthing! I’m training for the Go STL Half and I’m always looking for healthy recipes, etc so thanks for all the tips! I’m also working in Clayton and my boyfriend is from Cinci as well! So much in common…gosh must be because we’re related and all…hahh…keep up the good work!

  19. February 12, 2011 7:56 am

    How about that was the cutest story ever? Seriously, that was amazing:)

  20. Danielle permalink
    February 12, 2011 1:20 pm

    What a great story! Long distance relationships aren’t easy – my boyfriend is near Nashville and I’m in DC, but it really makes me appreciate the time we have together! Between us we’ve racked up three free Southwest flights just visiting each other 🙂 Skype also helps a lot!

  21. February 12, 2011 10:46 pm

    such an adorable story i love it.

    Im also POSITIVE my new favorite picture is the one of you dancing HAHAH!! amazing i LOVE IT

  22. February 16, 2011 11:02 pm

    ahh! i just melted. adorable. p.s. i love the green monster comment!! 🙂

  23. April 20, 2011 4:05 pm

    So I randomly stumbled across your blog a few days ago after work, which I LOVE by the way!! I especially enjoy the outfit pictures because they inspiring me to mix up my rather dull work wardrobe a bit. Anyways, I feel EXTREMELY creepy for mentioning this, but I noticed that your boyfriend was wearing a xavier bombers sweatshirt. I’m from Cincinnati as well and went to Seton High School–one of the many single-sex Catholic high schools in the area. Small world! I’ll def. be keeping up with your posts regularly!

  24. April 22, 2011 10:08 am

    Haha yes, they ALL are! Most of my friends went to Elder, and I bet your bf will agree that they are the worst!.

Leave a Reply

