Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: The REAL Reason To Celebrate Today

February 14, 2011

Happy Valentines Day! I hope everyone is getting spoiled by loved ones today. I got  a cute e-card from my mom and the surprise of a clean car from my dad, not to mention my great weekend with Alex.

WORKOUT:

My last weekly mileage jump was today. I’ll be doing  5 miles – 8 miles – 5 miles during the week now until I start to taper. The marathon feels so close yet so far away. I finally broke out my new Brook’s Adrenaline for my 5 mile run this morning and felt so light from the thick cushioning. I love them!  My 5 mile speed work run:

  • 1 mile warm up at 6.6 mph
  • 1 minute speed intervals from 8.0 to 8.5 with 1 minute recovery at 6.7 (repeated twice)
  • 1 mile cool down at 6.6 mph

After some stretching and abs I hit the showers. Planning on doing arm weights while watching The Bachelor tonight.

OUTFIT:

This is another new dress from Urban that I got when I got the red one I wore this weekend.  My favorite dresses are the comfortable “belt and go” type. They are so versitile and can be styled for any season, including today’s 50 degree temps!

Excuse the girl changing in the background.

FOOD:

TJ’s Sunflower Seed Butter now smells like icing to me. I made a cute little heart with it and then ruined the design with my regular blob.

Lunch was made from what I luckily had left in the fridge – my last Dr. Praeger’s on sprouted grain bread with the last of the hummus and some spinach. Sides were some sugar snap peas on their last leg and an all natural apple sauce since we’re out of apples.

***********************************************

And so that you can impress your Man, I give you

The Real Reason To Celebrate Today:

SPRING TRAINING STARTS!! Pitchers & catchers are reporting to training today with the rest of the team joining them shortly. For an avid baseball fan like me, this means the dreadful 4 months without baseball is over and the start of the season is coming soon. The best Valentine’s Day gift ever.

Do you know where your team goes for Spring Training?

source

source

 

Here’s to hoping this guy can stay in his Cardinals Jersey.

source

 

  • Are you a baseball fan? What’s your team?
30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 1:30 pm

    woohoo! my Angels are going to ARIZONA !!! i LOVE baseball!!!!!!!
    LOVE YOUR outfit too– what CAN’T you pull offf???

  2. February 14, 2011 1:36 pm

    That dress is my favorite color–I love it!

  3. February 14, 2011 2:22 pm

    We have partial season’s tickets to the Washington Nationals, one of the worst teams in the League. Woo hoo!

    BTW, I’m LOL that your picture has a chick in her bra behind you.

  4. February 14, 2011 2:44 pm

    Fun post. Happy V-Day!

    I’m not really a baseball fun, but my brother-in-law is a pitcher in the Red Sox organization (working his way up to the pros right now), so I guess that makes me a Sox fan : )

  5. February 14, 2011 3:32 pm

    totally not where i thought you were going with the monday man day! haha.

  6. Kim permalink
    February 14, 2011 4:30 pm

    yay for spring training!!! I’m happy to be so much closer to the Yankees BUT I think that when you make your next trip down we should drive over to Palm Beach because the Cardinals stadium is 10 min from my house =) I’m pretty sure dr. daubs has access to tix too!

  7. February 14, 2011 4:53 pm

    I’m not a baseball fan, but I am a fan of that cute blue dress 🙂

  8. Katie permalink
    February 14, 2011 5:29 pm

    Huge baseball fan of the Cincinnati Reds! Yay for Spring training!

    That dress is adorable, you look so great 🙂

  9. Sonia Berkowitz permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:30 pm

    Posting everything you eat is actually not that inspiring, its kind of sad. Reaching a point where you have truly achieved a healthy lifestyle does not involve obsessing over everything you put in your body. Furthermore, small details with your boyfriend should be sacred and not be made so public. True acts of love stand between you and your significant other and public declarations and posts cheapen what you share and quite frankly, attempting to show off appears quite pathetic. True love is not a show for the world to see, it rests between your boyfriend. I am sorry that the normal person is willing to feed you rainbows and butterflies, but rather than be a mark of recovery, this blog is incredibly alarming. It is about time someone has fed you a glimpse of the truth. Feel free to contact me at my email.

    • GoodOl'WENDY permalink
      February 14, 2011 8:02 pm

      For starters, Sonia–you sound like you’re single.

      Now everybody hold on a gosh darn minute! God said don’t hide your light under a bushel. Why are you trying to make Clare treat her relationship any differently? Love isn’t shameful. Who says you can’t share it with the world?!

      And calling someone pathetic? I’d hate to be the pot calling the kettle telling you what THAT is!

      Clare, you’re darling.

      Take Care & God Bless,
      Good Ol’ Wendy

    • Caitlin permalink
      February 15, 2011 1:05 pm

      Alright, well i am not one to comment or post, but i feel it is needed. I am NO expert, but I believe that clare has found a healthy and balanced life that has provided her with alot of freedom. I do not believe she is posting what she eats to be “obsessive” I believe she does it to inspire and encourage. I gained alot of knowlegde about healthy eating and living from this blog.

      I believe that women are often caught in the bondage of food and image. This is not the way God intended us to live, but the world has forced it upon us. Finding freedom in body image, like i believe clare has, means finding the joy and balance in food and exercise. Food is meant to be enjoyed and our bodies were made to move! I think that Clare is just embraces who God has created her to be…healthy, beautiful, and joyful…that is what I wish all girls to find! So there is a glimpes of truth for you!

      As far as has her relationship goes….its her blog, don’t like it? don’t read it.

  10. Maria permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:42 pm

    I agree. How does showing what you wear everyday inspire others to succeed in a healthy lifestyle? Furthermore, if you actually checked the demographics of our country, the majority of the country does not have access to the foods you eat. It is sad that you speak of these meals as such commonplace items. If you intend to help others recover from their eating disorders (and do not say that I am ignorant, my younger sister suffered from an eating disorder for almost five years) you should present realistic evidence to prove your point. Furthermore, as a strong piece of advice to you, you seem to be a person who is vegan for show (as you post about yourself being vegan everyday). It seems that you are a vegan for health purposes and not your actual lifestyle. You should stop considering what you think is “trendy” and learn the facts. For example, eggs are the best and most absorbable form of protein for the human body. This is why God made them.Failure to acknowledge the use of such a healthy dietary essential, especially when not morally opposed to animal products, is mere idiocracy. Grow up and become your own woman.

    • Danielle permalink
      February 14, 2011 7:04 pm

      Wow, the comments have taken a seriously negative turn and I’m not sure why. I started reading this blog a few months ago and love it. I like that it mixes things I can relate to (training for a race, healthy eats, working and fashion). What works for one person doesn’t work for another and quite honestly, I don’t think that Clare has to justify her choices to be or not be vegan on her blog. It’s ludicrous to say she is doing it for “vanity” purposes and the statement about eggs is kind of ridiculous. Just because something is full of protein does not mean you HAVE to eat it. If some study said that kittens were the best source of protein EVER, would I eat kittens? Probably not. I know people who eat paleo and are healthy, likewise I know people that are vegetarians that are healthy. Also, I like the daily outfit pictures! I have a boring office job and sometimes struggle to come up with fun/different outfits to wear so seeing what other people are wearing is inspirational and interesting.

      For what it’s worth, I don’t think you mean idiocracy (a government of idiots? the 2006 Mike Judge film?). If I find a blog I don’t like I don’t leave comments ripping on it … I just don’t read it. That is the glory of the internet.

    • GoodOl'WENDY permalink
      February 14, 2011 8:03 pm

      God doesn’t make eggs, Maria. Chickens do.

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:53 pm

    Umm…a little confused about the above comments. This is YOUR blog after all………..
    Is Valentine’s Day getting people’s panties up in a bunch? =/
    Moving on…
    LOL’ed at the girl changing in the background.
    Take care m’dear 🙂

  12. February 14, 2011 6:56 pm

    well, happy valentine’s day! love the dress, love spring training, loved the warmer weather here in boston today too! i appreciate a glimpse into your life, as i think that’s the reason that people read blogs, there not the be all, end all way for people to live their life. love reading yours everyday!

  13. Katie permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:16 pm

    Oh Claire, I am so sorry about the negative comments that were written above. I just wanted to take a moment to let you know how wonderful your blog is. I look forward to being able to see your cute outfits and healthy lifestyle. You are an inspiration and I am sorry that individuals are being critical. You certainly do not deserve any of this. Also, my best friend is struggling with an eating disorder and your post about being a friend not a doctor.. came at the perfect time. Thank you. Continue doing what you do girl 🙂

    • Katie permalink
      February 14, 2011 8:17 pm

      Opps typo… Clare. Sorry!

  14. February 14, 2011 8:52 pm

    Don’t change a thing about your blog! It’s one of my faves. And I love that blue dress. I may have to track one down! And the girl in the background in the mirror made me seriously laugh!!

  15. Elise permalink
    February 14, 2011 9:26 pm

    I read your blog everyday and I love everything about it! I enjoy looking at what people choose to wear (your outfits are so stinkin cute) and your breakfast(s) look delicious. Keep on blogging the way you do!

  16. February 14, 2011 9:53 pm

    Don’t stop being you! This is YOUR blog. You write about what YOU want to write about. It’s their choice whether or not they want to read it. And I for one LOVE reading your blog 😀 It’s easy to say hateful things behind a computer screen. Happy Valentines Day from a reader who genuinely loves your blog!

    • February 14, 2011 9:53 pm

      P.S. I love love love the outfit pictures!! Like Elise said, I love looking at what outfits others throw together!

  17. Alison permalink
    February 14, 2011 10:17 pm

    Clare, you know I think you’re great and I call you my “blentor” (blog mentor) for a reason! I think you are inspiring and relatable at the same time – quite a feat. At the end of the day, blogging is just about sharing your experience with others and that is exactly what you are doing. To those with the (ahem) feedback – if you don’t like this blog or any other, don’t read it!

  18. February 15, 2011 6:45 am

    UM WTF is up with these rude comments. CLARE I freakin’ LOVE your blog and LOVE learning about you and your blog posts always make me smile! DO not listen to these people – im SO disgusted!

  19. February 15, 2011 7:47 am

    wow, i didnt see this post leading to such negativity either!
    Clare, You know I LOVE YOUR BLOG as do many other people. I dont even know what to say. Its not like your the only person out there to POST THIER FOOD and share their life online, as I DO TOO! I find it inspiring to see what other people eat because it gives me ideas for my own meals!
    Please don’t change because of the negativity!

  20. February 15, 2011 7:48 am

    OH and i forgot to mention I LOVE LOVE YOUR DRESS and the pb heart on your oats is so cute 😀

  21. Courtney permalink
    February 15, 2011 12:54 pm

    I just wanted to tell you that I absolutely love your blog and find it so inspiring and to be truly one of my favorites. Don’t let those haters get to you…you are beautiful and so is your blog!

  22. February 15, 2011 4:16 pm

    Ok, so I’m catching up on posts and came across the few debbie-downers on this one…good grief, do people have nothing better to do with their time than tear others down?? I go back to the old saying, “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” That being said, I think you’re wonderful:-)

    We went to a Cards Spring Training in Jupiter last year and it was the coolest thing ever! It was seriously awesome, if you ever get a chance to go DO IT! Duh, like you’d ever turn that down!

    And please, please, please, please let Albert stay in Cardinal Red FOREVER!!!

    (hugs) to you my friend, keep smiling;-)

Trackbacks

  1. Spreading The Love « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

