Skip to content

Edamame, Mushroom & Kale Soup

February 15, 2011

Hi again!

Lunch today was some roasted sweet potato topped with leftover white beans and salsa. On the side I had the last of my frozen snap peas and edamame, and dessert was apple sauce.

When I was carrying this to the microwave, another girl goes “WOAH that is quite the work lunch!” I don’t know if she was referring to it’s size or the fact that it didn’t come frozen, but I’ll take it as a compliment.

Since I was out of Oikos, I picked up a Chobani 0% plain during my lunch break to have with some fruit as my snack. The Chobani was really light and creamy, but I think I’ll stick to my organic Oikos most of the time.

After work I made a big shopping trip to stock up on food and while I was at it I picked up the ingredient for tonight’s dinner: Edamame, Mushroom & Kale soup. Yesterday when I asked for soup suggestions, Gabriella suggested the Mushroom and Lima Bean Stew from Whole Living magazine (I got a subscription for Christmas!). It sounded incredible, but I wanted a little protein in the meal. And so my Edamame, Mushroom & Kale soup was born.

Here’s the original recipe, with my changes noted:

Whole Living’s Mushroom & Lima Bean Stew

Serves 6-8; Makes 10 cups This will probably be about 3 to 4 servings for moi.

  • 1 cup dried lima beans 1 cup frozen edamame
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more as needed
  • 1 large onion, diced (2 cups)
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 8 ounces shiitake mushrooms, trimmed and thinly sliced (I used about two cups)
  • 8 ounces portobello mushrooms, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 pounds butternut squash, peeled, seeded, cut into 1-inch pieces (I just used one medium butternut squash)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 8 cups low-sodium chicken stock I used 1 1/2 quarts of low sodium vegetable broth
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 bunch kale (8 oz.), stems removed and leaves thinly sliced (6 cups)
  • Kosher salt
First I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil until it was translucent.
Then I transferred the garlic and onions to a bowl while I cooked the mushrooms in some more olive oil. This took about 5 minutes.
Next I added back in the onions and garlic along with the chopped butternut squash, frozen edamame, vegetable broth and ground pepper.
I brought this mixture to a boil, then let it simmer for about 15 minutes before tearing in the kale.
After about five more minutes, the soup was ready! I had a huge buddha bowl full and burned my tongue because I couldn’t wait to dig in! My favorite part was definitely the nutty sauteed mushrooms which was complimented beautifully by the slightly sweet butternut and salty broth. And anything with kale in it is good in my book.  And so many nutrients!
  • kale: beta carotene, vitamin K, vitamin C, and calcium
  • butternut squash: fiber, magnesium and potassium
  • mushrooms: iron and protein
  • edamame: protein and omega 3s

Can’t beat that!

On the side I had slice of toast topped with Whole Food’s spinach hummus. Did you hear me? Spinach Hummus. It’s like they made the product for me specifically. And it was delicious.
Awesome dinner. Thanks for the suggestion Gabriella! I can’t wait for leftovers. And ummm, Glee is a Justin Bieber episode, so my butt is parked on the couch to watch it.
  • What magazines do you have subscriptions to?

I never know, because I get those “about to be cancelled” things in the mail all the time. I think I get US Weekly and Whole Living, and at some point I got Self and Glamour.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:20 pm

    Looks so delish! I get subscriptions to Cosmo and Glamour and Fitness…Fitness actually has a lot of great recipes! I love Real Simple recipes too, but usually just get those online 🙂

  2. February 15, 2011 8:26 pm

    Real Simple and Fitness. I like Self and Women’s Health, too, but reading four magazines monthly would be a bit overboard for me.

    Yummy soup!

  3. February 15, 2011 8:40 pm

    Spinah hummus?! I’m running to Whole Foods ASAP! I didn’t even know that such gloriousness existed 🙂
    I have a subscription to Shape magazine, and I love when I get it in the mail each month!

  4. Paige permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:56 pm

    I feel ya on the Justin Bieber episode on Glee; I def have “Bieber Fever”!

    And I subscribe to Glamour, Real Simple, US Weekly, and Women’s Health.

  5. February 15, 2011 8:59 pm

    That soup looks outstanding. I added it to my recipes to try page!

  6. February 15, 2011 9:06 pm

    Spinach hummus? Mmm that sounds so good!
    IM SO EXCITED FOR GLEE!
    Sadly I don’t have a television, but I’ve subscribed to the season on iTunes so tomorrow morning I get to watch!

    This is embarrassing because it’s kinda a lot…My excuse is I go to fashion school and I need to research, haha.

    -Harpers Bazaar
    -Teen Vogue
    -Nylon
    -Elle
    -Seventeen (I’ve been getting this forever, I honestly think my grandmother bought me a lifetime subscription.)

    Then I’ll always buy Real Simple and the Nest.

    I basically flip through them, read what sounds interesting, tear out pages I love, then toss them (into the recycling of course, haha.)

  7. February 15, 2011 9:42 pm

    Ooh! That soups looks delish and I HAVE to get some of that hummus. Whole Foods makes the best hummus so I know that must have been good 🙂

  8. February 15, 2011 10:35 pm

    Yum!! The soup looks delish! I’m subscribed to too many magazines! I get Self, Fitness, Cosmo and a local woman’s mag. I read them all on the elliptical 🙂

  9. February 15, 2011 10:50 pm

    I love sweet potatoes! I like mine with Justin’s Maple almond butter or with salsa and greek yogurt. My current favorite magazine is Vanity Fair. Last issue they actually had a really interesting interview with J. Biebs.

  10. February 16, 2011 5:22 am

    Spinach hummus?! I need to get to Whole Foods ASAP. I didn’t know such deliciousness existed! I have a subscription to Self, and I get so excited when it comes in the mail every month 🙂

  11. February 16, 2011 6:56 am

    AHH i LOVE me some Soup!!!! i have only tried kale once.. it kind of spooks me!
    i dont subscribe to any but i like Fitness, Shape, Vegan ones and Glamour! oh and People and all those celeb ones!

  12. February 16, 2011 7:24 am

    I bet she was referring to the fact that you were eating REAL food!! 90% of the people I see in our break room are heatin up Lean Cuisines.

    I don’t subscribe to any mags but I tend to buy Real Simple every month 🙂

  13. February 16, 2011 8:10 am

    I get spinach hummus in these huge tubs…my husband and I LOVE IT!
    Mmmm that soup looks easy and tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. The China Study: Frustrations & Realizations « Fitting It All In
  2. New Food: Collard Greens! « Fitting It All In
  3. Treat Myself Like I Treat My Kids | Merf In Progress
  4. God, It Feels Great To Eat Good Food Again! | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

