Skip to content

My Most Prized Possession

February 18, 2011

Yoga was a no-go this morning. Friday Yoga is one of my favorite workouts, but Bikram leaves my hamstrings pretty sore. I was still feeling Wednesday’s class today and didn’t want to make it worse before my long run tomorrow morning. Lately my whole life has revolved around this marathon, from what I eat to what exercises I do. It’s getting down to the wire and uninjured legs are my most prized possession.

Instead of yoga I opted for 4.5 miles on the elliptical (about 46 minutes) with one minute speed increases at the beginning of each new song on my ipod. Afterward I stretched and did some of my favorite yoga poses so I could still get some of the benefits of class.

  • What is your most prized possession?
  • 

Aside from my legs right now, I think it’s probably the letter my grandmother wrote me on my third birthday. I’m so glad my parents kept it for me.

OUTFIT:

Another springy color for another sunny 60 degree day! These gap skinnies are my most worn pair of jeans by far. They are perfect with boots in the winter or flats during nicer weather. I love skinny jeans, but my boyfriend has told me they aren’t his favorite style. I thought that was kind of strange, since for guys it’s usually the tighter the better. Do you guys like skinnies?

 

BREAKFAST:

Back to the whipped banana oats today! If you haven’t checked out how to make this awesome work-friendly breakfast, look here.

 

 

Of Interest:

I’ve heard from some of you that you’re trying to incorporate a few more meatless meals into your diet, and Self.com has a section on being a vegetarian right now with some fun info!

HAPPY FRIDAY!!  Keep entering the giveaway!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 10:44 am

    Love your top! Kudos for listening to your body–reallly smart.

  2. February 18, 2011 11:04 am

    I love skinny jeans! I think they are so comfy and look great with flats!
    The “4 Vegetarian Slip-ups” article is so true! I’m glad to have meat substitutes, but I agree that you have to be careful not to forget those VEGGIES!
    Happy weekend! Good luck with your run tomorrow!!!!

  3. Emilie permalink
    February 18, 2011 12:03 pm

    GAP Forever Skinny= changed my life.
    Ok thats a slight exagerration… but i have them in two washes and literally never wear any other type of jean. Great stretch, higher rise so as to avoid the muffin top, and they come in LONG length!
    I love.

  4. ericascime permalink
    February 18, 2011 12:12 pm

    Cute top! Also, thanks for posting the vegetarian links. 🙂

  5. February 18, 2011 12:14 pm

    My legs are also my most prized possesion rigth now with marathon training. I avoid anything that migth mess up long runs, will run inside not matter what the distance if it’s too icy outside 😉 The things we do for training!
    PS I love skinny jeans too!

  6. February 18, 2011 12:45 pm

    my most prized pocession is my lips! i LOVE MY lips.. random feature, i know.. but i love em! i love skinnies!! but i dont look good in them lke you do!

  7. February 18, 2011 2:17 pm

    i love how you post pictures of your outfits
    it makes your blog unique 🙂

  8. February 18, 2011 2:26 pm

    I cannot stand skinny jeans on me. I look horrible in them and I have refused to ever buy a pair. I think that other people look good in them, but you will most likely never see me catching on to the trend!! hehe! :p

  9. February 18, 2011 2:36 pm

    ok i love love love the skinny jeans look and want to get a pair, but my boyfriend also hates them. i think it’s a guy thing. i also think they do make my hips look a little wider…no boot cut or flare to balance them out. but so cute, especially tucked into jeans!

  10. squigglefloey permalink
    February 18, 2011 3:15 pm

    I think my health is my most prized possession right now. I’m probably learning that more and more the older I get.
    Btw, your shoes are adorable! What do you have planned for your friday night? Either way, have a great one girl 🙂

  11. Natalie permalink
    February 18, 2011 4:13 pm

    You always have the best suggestions on here. I love skinny jeans (mainly because of their versatility) and usually stick to Express or JCrew. I will have to try the Gap ones soon.

    Thanks for the vegetarian articles. I’ll be sure to read these to incorporate with the Kind Diet. Right now I’ve been working on cutting out white sugar which has been quite a challenge since it’s creeped into my diet everyday for the past month or so – and reaching for more veggies instead of meat.

    My most prized possession is my sweet little dog Ellie! She cheers me up no matter what!

  12. Brandi permalink
    February 18, 2011 6:03 pm

    I love skinnies! I have many pairs of jeans but seem to only wear skinnies, summer and winter. It feels weird to wear boot cut (never likes flare) now. Your skinnies are flattering on your figure. My hubs thinks mine are “too tight”. Im like “but thats the point of skinnies!”.

  13. February 18, 2011 6:55 pm

    I’d agree with legs. I’m totally paranoid about even walking outside in the snow. My boyfriend wanted to teach me to ski this winter and I said nothing until after the half is over! I love skinnies, since I’m so short though a good fit is really hard to find cause where they get skinny at the ankle my tailor usually cuts off, so my favorite pair are my American Eagle jeggings. I haven’t had to hem them and they look exactly like jeans

  14. February 18, 2011 7:22 pm

    I totally agree with you when you say that your uninjured legs are your most prized possessions. As a seasoned runner, I have”runners knee” and sometimes this causes me not to be able to run. I hate it because I love running! But sometimes people take things for granted until they can’t use them!

    I commend your marathon training! I just did my first half and am working up the courage to sign up for a full! Good luck on your long run tomorrow.

  15. February 18, 2011 7:29 pm

    my legs are def my most prized possession; no good legs = no training! that’s like death in my book! lol!

    hope tomorrow long run goes well; i’ll be doing mine at the gym too!

  16. February 20, 2011 12:48 am

    Skinny jeans are the BEST! I wear them more than any other style I own. The hubs likes them too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Leg, My Leg, My Leg is on FIRE! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

