Skip to content

Diving In Head First (& Giveaway Winner!)

February 19, 2011

There is something to be said for easing into things, but apparently I wont be the one saying it. Today I dove head first back into outdoor running by completing the 18 miler on my training plan. The last time I ran outside I wound up in tears, but I knew I needed the mental and physical challenge. I don’t think running the marathon on a treadmill is an option!

Around 6am I realized I needed to charge my Garmin, and by 9 am I was eating my pre-run breakfast with a side of twitter encouragement.

I got out all of the necessary outdoor run accessories: handheld water bottle, 3 gels, Road ID with emergency contact information, and my Garmin 405.

 

And then I hopped in the car to drive to Forest Park. Did you know that at 1,293 acres St. Louis’ Forest Park is approximately 500 acres larger than Central Park? See, the Midwest has some cool stuff! The perimeter of the park is a 6 mile loop so I planned on running it 3 times. When I got there Team in Training was finishing their run and the park was packed with people.

I made a little pit stop at my car after each 6 mile loop. The first time I got rid of my ear warmer and my water bottle. It was like carrying a weight with me during my run and I hated it! I don’t get as thirsty during outdoor runs, anyway. The second time I got rid of my jacket as it had warmed up to about 50 degrees. I ate a gel at miles 6 (Mint Chocolate, loved) and 13 (Vanilla, GU brand is better).

I wasn’t concerned about my pace at all since it was my first outdoor run in a while, and I did end up a bit slower than I usually run on a treadmill. I finished the 18 miles in 2:54:42 which is an average pace of 9:42.

Here are the splits:

  • Mile 1: 9:37
  • Mile 2: 10:01
  • Mile 3: 9:44
  • Mile 4: 9:58
  • Mile 5: 9:46
  • Mile 6: 9:52
  • Mile 7: 10:07
  • Mile 8: 10:04
  • Mile 9: 9:42
  • Mile 10: 9:32
  • Mile 11: 9:33
  • Mile 12: 9:33 (weird!)
  • Mile 13: 9:43
  • Mile 14: 9:45
  • Mile 15: 9:29
  • Mile 16: 9:23
  • Mile 17: 9:29
  • Mile 18: 9:28

I finished strong, and my legs don’t feel too bad at all. The run was not nearly as hard mentally as I thought it would be which is encouraging. I had a missed call from Alex when I got back to my car because I told him that if I hadn’t contacted him in about 3 hours I might be dead. He was just checking on me 🙂

Now I’m icing and blogging, and next up is shower and FOOD! 2 more long runs until taper and marathon time!!

GIVEAWAY WINNERS!

The moment you’ve all been waiting for! I had 89 entries, and based on random number generator the winners are:

# 8 – Michelle who said her favorite things are oats, apple, pumpkin and cookies & cream protein powder

#18 – Nicole (a first time commenter!) who said her favorite things are aquaphor, cookie dough protein luna bars, TJ’s tomato basil hummus & gum

Congratulations girls!! Email me your address (cbrady3@alumni.nd.edu) and I’ll get your packages out to you.

 

Hope everyone is having a great weekend! If you’re looking for something to do, make some SUPER easy and fast supercharge me cookies. They are “healthy” and the batter tastes like heaven on a spoon. Not that I ate any.


13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 2:56 pm

    Have you tried any Hammer gels? They’re my favorite.
    http://www.hammernutrition.com/products/hammer-gel.hg.html?navcat=fuels-energy-drinks

    Just throwing it out there since you seem to be experimenting.

    I’m glad you had a great run! 🙂

  2. February 19, 2011 3:03 pm

    18 miles?! Wow! That’s just amazing to me. I feel like it’s a good day when I get 3 or 4 miles in 🙂 But then again, I’m SO not a runner. Enjoy your weekend! 😀

  3. February 19, 2011 3:20 pm

    Congrats on the awesome run! You’re totally inspiring me to run a marathon…maybe after this half is under my belt 🙂

  4. February 19, 2011 4:10 pm

    IM SO SO IMPRessed you must feel INVINCIBLE today!!!

  5. February 19, 2011 6:11 pm

    Wow, great run! Makes me itch to run outside!!!!

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    February 19, 2011 7:34 pm

    So PROUD of you girlie! 🙂 Congrats on the wonderful run!!! Have a nice rest of the wknd

  7. Mamma B permalink
    February 19, 2011 8:12 pm

    Way to go Clare!!!!!!

  8. February 19, 2011 8:15 pm

    Goodness, I went to the gym today and could barely get through 2 miles in 30 minutes. Please tell me it gets easier.

  9. February 19, 2011 9:42 pm

    wow girl, congrats on the outdoor run! i took mine outdoors too since there was no snow on the ground!! we might have been running at the same time (i was at 0830pst!)

  10. February 20, 2011 9:08 am

    wow that’s quite the run!! i love running in forest park tho…its such a pretty park!!

  11. February 20, 2011 10:03 pm

    awesome awesome run! And ill have to try out the mint chocolate gel flavor!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Diving In Head First (& Giveaway Winner!) « Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. Eat Right Away! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

