Skip to content

I Love My Mass-ahhh-ges

February 20, 2011

I feel like I’ve done so much today!

I started my Sunday with a delicious breakfast of Van’s Whole Wheat waffles topped with Greek yogurt, banana, peanut flour sauce, and raspberries.

And then it was time for some errands. I treated myself to a deep tissue massage which ended up being SO PAINFUL on my legs! I knew they needed the work though, so I cringed through it. Thankfully the back and neck part felt wonderful. I tend to get massages more than most people, but I don’t feel guilty about it.  I get them for pain relief more than just relaxation because I get extremely bad knots in my neck and shoulders. I know massages have also been shown to improve the immune system and decrease stress too, so I like to think they are actually good for me!

  • Do you get massages? Do you feel guilty about them?

After the massage I did a little shopping. I got a few new dishes at Homegoods (weee!) as well as some fun spring clothes.

Red flats from Target, rest from Old Navy

And then ran to the grocery store to stock up on fresh produce before making myself lunch. I made myself a pizza on a whole wheat tortilla that I topped with jarred pasta sauce, spinach, orange pepper, mushroom, and vegan cheese. It went into a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes.

On the side I had some curry roasted broccoli, and dessert was an apple.

Post-lunch I went to my friend Taylor’s house for some gossip and night re-capping with the girls, and then stopped by my friend Alex’s new house! He actually has lived next door to me since we were five but recently moved into a house his family owns in an area called The Hill. It’s such a cool house, but I miss having him in the neighborhood 😦

By the time I got home I was FAMISHED and knew I couldn’t wait until dinner to eat again. I immediately made myself a wrap filled with almond butter and some carrot sticks. Then I had two dates and some chocolate chips.

I’m planning on making Black Bean & Sweet Potato Chili for dinner, but with my parents almost home from Notre Dame I’m not sure if plans will change. I also need to practice the harp, prep some meals & blog posts, and unload the dishwasher. But that will have to wait because the current episode of Restaurant: Impossible features an Italian place in St. Louis.

I love busy but productive days! I just wish I had a three day weekend like the rest of the world. Hope you are having a fantastic weekend!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 5:53 pm

    I was just trying to decide what to make for dinner and your pita pizza inspired me! I love fun new spring clothes. I almost went into Old Navy when I was home this weekend and now I wish I had. Your things look cute. And at least Old Navy doesn’t “card” shoppers 🙂

  2. February 20, 2011 5:54 pm

    Oh and massages- yes, I get them about every 6 weeks and yes, I do feel guilty, since no one else in my family gets them, but I just try not to eat out as much that week and save in other ways. I think the benefits are worth the cost!

  3. February 20, 2011 6:03 pm

    Ahh, I adore getting massages. Although it really makes a difference between a good massage and a bad one. I’ve had some amazing massages and ones that left me feeling like it was a waste of money. I bet this did such good things for your body before your marathon though. Now you’ll just need to be sure to line one up for afterwards too!

  4. February 20, 2011 6:07 pm

    I love massages, but I know what you mean about the feeling of guilt after! That’s how I felt about my last one. The pita pizza looks so good!! My sis just made a similar pizza today, and I’ve been devouring it!

  5. February 20, 2011 8:50 pm

    I get a massage once a week. It’s free for me though 🙂

  6. February 20, 2011 9:03 pm

    Ooo what restaurant is being featured?!

  7. February 20, 2011 9:12 pm

    Super cute clothes! Love the color choices – very ‘springy’ – and especially love the scarf. That color is going to be HUGE this Spring/Summer. I need more massages!! I have knots in my neck all the time these days – so go for it! I think they’re great!

  8. February 20, 2011 9:36 pm

    Ooo i love everything springy you bought!! Your day sounds extremely busy but productive. I love Sundays like that!!

  9. February 20, 2011 9:53 pm

    I never feel guilty about getting a massage….I have a really stressful job so I get one about every 2 weeks 🙂

  10. February 20, 2011 10:14 pm

    I get massages and NO! I do not feel guilty! 🙂 My insurance pays for it. Partly why i DON’T feel guilty. But I agree, I get super bad knots too. DON’T feel bad girl.

    I love roasted broccoli. But to be honest I hate it with curry. Blech.

  11. February 20, 2011 10:21 pm

    i don’t have three days either! wish i had more! and good on ya for the massage! after that run i’d tell you to get one anyhow!!!

    happy sunday!

  12. squigglefloey permalink
    February 20, 2011 10:23 pm

    Gah! Your beautiful new clothes make me want to go shopping! But then I remember why I never do — not a working woman like you yet 🙂

  13. February 21, 2011 6:15 am

    i LOVE massages and I ALSO hold a ton of stress in my neck and shoulders. My shoulders blades are usually lined in knots everytime i get a massage. i dont feel guilty about getting them because they help me feel relaxed and that is something i need to work on!
    Glad you had such a productive day.
    The new outfit is adorable and so springy i love it 🙂

  14. February 21, 2011 6:37 am

    so jealous of your massage! i do love them but they HURt.. it sure aint pleasure sometimes! i get knots all up in my neck and shoulders too! usually i make my mom give me one hehe 😀

  15. February 21, 2011 6:38 am

    oh and me and my friends actually do massage trains all the time ahah

  16. February 21, 2011 8:46 am

    Oh my gosh, the last time I had a deep tissue massage I had to ask the masseuse to stop going so deep because it was painful! She lightened up and it was fine – but my goodness, it hurt for a while! And I don’t feel guilty after a little indulgence for myself – it’s necessary!

  17. February 21, 2011 3:14 pm

    Massages are the best stress relief!!
    I love your clothes buys:)

Trackbacks

  1. Bloggie Trends You Just Aren’t Into « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

