Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: Mr. Fashionista?

February 21, 2011

It’s the start of another week. If you’re off today, I’m jealous!

Turns out I wasn’t in the mood for a heavy meal after my late afternoon snacks yesterday, so instead of Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili I decided on a salad using a new ingredient: Beets!

I bought the pre-cooked kind on a whim and then this recipe on Caroline’s blog inspired me to use them. I sliced the beets and baked them for about 20 minutes at 350 before adding them to a bed of mixed greens. Also on the salad was sliced orange pepper, wedges of grapefruit and balsamic vinegar.

It was perfectly light and I loved the flavor of the beets! If you’re scared of them just buy them pre-cooked like I did.

On the side I baked some parsnip fries and had them with some barbeque sauce.

And then I finished off the bag of chocolate chips. Yep, I managed to finish the whole thing after opening them for some Supercharge Mes on Friday. No shame.

Monday  Man-Day: Mr. Fashionista?

Since I’m getting super excited about new spring clothes, I thought I’d talk a little bit about clothes for guys. I definitely like when a guy looks put together, but how far is too far when it comes to guys’ clothing?

source

 

There are so many different levels of caring when it comes to guys and their clothes. My boyfriend, for instance, isn’t very into shopping. Most of his clothes are from thrift stores and his closet is, well, sparce compared to mine. Since he hasn’t had a corporate job yet he doesn’t have much of a reason to own lots of nice things. But I have my favorite shirts and think he looks pretty dang cute most of the time.

dressed up for something!

 

My brothers put a little bit more effort into what they wear. My little brother Kevin love his J.Crew t-shirts and buttondowns as well as colorful shorts. Very preppy which is my favorite look! My older brother has started to pick out more nice clothes as he has gotten older. Recently he has been more into nice sweaters, pea-coats, and getting more suits for work.

Kevin & Me

John & Me

 

 

But I’m not sure how I feel about guys that get really involved in their fashion choices. I think there might be a fine line between trying to look nice and starting to care more than girls.  Guys and designer jeans is still something I’m getting used to.

  • What is your favorite thing for guys to wear?
  • Do you think guys can go too far with fashion choices?

  

Here’s one cool meat recipe I saw this week. I think the caramel was calling to me!

Cooking Light’s Caramel Pork

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 12:21 pm

    i’ve seen a PLENTY man fashion fails here in new york haha. i love a guy who looks great in a pair of mesh shorts but equally as sexy in a pair of dockers and boat shoes 😉 i’m a sucker for casual man wear

  2. February 21, 2011 12:40 pm

    im so scared to eat beets! what do they taste like??
    ahh no i need my guy in basic tees and shorts… nothing fancy and def not anything that those guys are wearing in those pics!

  3. February 21, 2011 12:47 pm

    i like the preppy look too but my boyfriend definitely isn’t fashionable per se… I’m pretty sure he has never bought anything that wasn’t on sale. It kind of drives me crazyyy.

  4. February 21, 2011 1:28 pm

    The kid in the bottom left corner of those kids in the weird outfits is RJ King. Im friends with his sister Julie who went to Nerinx. But ya, I dont know where you got those pics but hes from St. Louis and went to De Smet but I think he works full time as a model now.

  5. February 21, 2011 1:50 pm

    He’s a cutie! I think the styled looks you show look a little ridiculous, personally. I love khakis/shorts and a button down or polo–simple and crisp!

  6. February 21, 2011 2:11 pm

    I like the preppy look, but it would probably be a huge turn-off if Cory took more than 5 minutes to decide what he was going to wear everyday. I wish I could get ready that fast a still look cute!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    February 21, 2011 6:32 pm

    What an interesting post. My BF isn’t really into fashion at all. He dresses nice though — clean, neat, simple. My brother, however, is actually much more into fashion than I am! He’s into those jeans that you never wash for yrs and some other clothing brands that I don’t know much about (zooyork, etc). Your BF looks so preppy! Cute!

Leave a Reply

