Skip to content

NEDA: How You Can Help

February 21, 2011

Hi guys! My usual morning post got pushed back today because I went shopping for papers and fabrics with my boss. Monday morning at the mall? My job’s not so bad:)

Before that I had a 5 mile speed-work run at the gym. Same intervals from 8-8.5mph but this time I recovered at 6.8 instead of 6.7. CRAZY I know. When complete I did some abs and arms and called it a day.

OUTFIT:

*Hoping* I wont be able to wear this winter-ish plaid skirt much longer!

FOOD:

Easy-to-eat AB & Banana sandwich since we were leaving immediately to shop.

 

Same salad as last night for lunch, but beefed up with some chickpeas and cucumber. Accompanied by an apple and the rest of my parsnip fries.

 

This week is National Eating Disorder Awareness Week.

“This year, NEDA asks everyone to do just one thing to help raise awareness and provide accurate information about eating disorders.” If you’re part of an organization or business that wants to get involved, the website has tons of activities, lectures, and videos to watch. If you’re just a regular old person looking to spread the word, here are some of my ideas of how to help:

  • Tell a friend something positive about themselves that doesn’t involve his or her body
  • Leave Operation Beautiful notes!
  • Donate to an organization like Girls On The Run that promotes healthy body image
  • Thank the people who helped you realize your own beauty or aided your ED recovery
  • Be GOOD to your body this week. Eat nourishing food, get adequate exercise, but also stretch and relax.

My favorite quote during recovery was “Life is too short to keep treating my body this way“. You are worth taking care of!

How will you participate in National Eating Disorders Awareness Week?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 4:15 pm

    YES YES YES NEDA is so so important- I’m not sure how i am going to go about it, but I am in full support and want people to spread the word

  2. February 21, 2011 6:13 pm

    Post it’s around my school (I go to fashion school, poor body image is everywhere)….and I’m writing a note to my roommate telling her how wonderful she is and leaving it in our mailbox. We have both suffered from horrible body image. I started talking to someone before I got to bad, but I don’t think she ever did. She has gained weight, so she isn’t too skinny anymore, but I still wonder if she is okay.

  3. February 21, 2011 7:43 pm

    I always try to make sure that I give compliments with “substance.” Obviously, if I love my friend’s new hair cut or think her legs look super toned, I’ll tell her – but I usually try not to sound superficial or shallow when I pay someone a compliment 🙂

  4. February 21, 2011 7:51 pm

    I love this post!

  5. February 21, 2011 9:39 pm

    Awesome post! If you don’t mind I am going to link your blog to mine tomorrow for everyone to read about NEDA!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention NEDA: How You Can Help « Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. Spread it, yo! « Moves 'N Munchies
  3. Beyond the obvious | G(r)eek Melie

Leave a Reply

