Skip to content

Vitamins – Do ’em or Ditch ’em?

February 22, 2011

This morning as I was going through my normal wash face / brush teeth / take vitamins routine, I started to think more about the little pills I pop without thought. Each day I take a combination of Fish Oil, Women’s One-A-Day, and Calcium with Vitamin D.

I started taking the multi and the calcium during recovery when I was worried about bone density (mine is fine, though!) as well as getting other essential nutrients. Only about a year ago did I start taking the fish oil. Together they add up to 4 tablets each morning.

I know that as a vegetarian it is recommended that I take a Vitamin B-12 supplement because  it is only found in animal foods, and the Women’s One-A-Day contains 100% of my daily quota for that. As for the other vitamins, I question whether I need them. If I’m eating a healthy well-rounded diet full of fruits and veggies are the vitamins doing any good? Could I even be getting too much of certain nutrients? I’ve heard at at some point you just start to lose excess calcium in your urine.

  • Do you take Vitamins every day? Which ones?

**************************************

 

I had a doctor’s check-up this morning so my 8 mile run is getting pushed to tomorrow. I was able to fit in a quick 35 minute elliptical workout as well as some back strengthening exercises before the appointment, however. Feels good to move in the morning no matter what it is!

OUTFIT:

I threw on the jacket last minute because it is far too cold for this outfit. My exposed feet are regretting the new flats!

Without the jacket…

New Target shoes! With just a tiny wedge that makes a world of difference in arch support.

BREAKFAST:

AB & Banana sandwich on TJ’s sprouted grain. Eaten in the car after my doctor’s appointment.

And my stomach is SO ready for that black bean and sweet potato chili at lunch. Almost time!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:12 pm

    make sure you take your calcium and vitamin D separately from all other vitamins because, for some reason, calcium and vitamin D make all other vitamins void/worthless 🙂 i take all of the same supplements as you!

  2. February 22, 2011 12:12 pm

    GIRL you can ROCK jeans.. your legs are FAB- can we switch? kay thanks
    YES i take B12, calcium and multi vitamins- oops i need to go take them now actually!

  3. February 22, 2011 12:15 pm

    I love the shoes, Target rocks – especially for shoes! We do not have Target in Canada but I hear it’s coming! My favorite pair of flats were also bought at Target 🙂
    Vitamins, this is embarrassing – I take gummy vitamins! I cannot swallow vitamins so I take Vitafusion Multi Vites. I also take Vitamin D in the winter months.

  4. February 22, 2011 12:28 pm

    I was thinking the same thing about my vitamins. I take two glucosamine chondroitin tablets, 2 calcium tablets, one multivitamin, and 2 fish oil capsules. Oh yeah – and two biotin (hair, skin, nails) everyday. It seems like so much and I often wonder whether I need all of that AND if it is REALLY as good for you as they say it is. I recently switched my son to an all natural vitamin called VitaKids because I was concerned with all of the junk that is in the traditional children’s chewables. I also read somewhere that if you put a multivitamin in a glass of water, it should dissovle in 30 minutes. If it doesn’t dissolve, then you need a new multi. Not sure if that’s true or not, but I remember reading it and it stuck with me. I guess it’s something about how “natural” the ingredients are AND how easily it can (and should) be absorbed by your body. I was going to blog about this soon 🙂

  5. February 22, 2011 12:35 pm

    Cute outfit! I’ve been eying those flats at Target for a few weeks now…:)
    I don’t take any vitamins regularly, though I do have a women’s multi and fish oil at my house…I just can’t quite get into the habit of taking them daily.

  6. Joanna permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:43 pm

    I take pretty much the same vitamins! I actually spilt all of my one-a-days into 2 pills, and do one w/ breakfast (& fish oil) and one with dinner. I do my calcium & d mid day (always eat with a little bit of fat, I blame my chocolate addiction on vitamin D absorption). I’m really anal about schedules (I never used to be before I went thru recovery, which is when I added the vitamins), so it hasn’t been a problem for me. I do know your body can only handle a certain amount of vitamins (esp. calcium) at one time, so splitting it up makes them more available to your body. Just $0.02 of advice from a random lurker 😉

  7. February 22, 2011 12:45 pm

    When my hair started falling out I upped the vitamin regime a lot! I was lacking so many nutrients, now I just take B-12, Multi, & some calcium.

    (love the shoes! the creative director of j.crew says the red ballet flats are super in for this season)

  8. February 22, 2011 1:14 pm

    Adorable outfit! Love the Target shoes. I always get a new pair of shoes from Target for spring and summer. I take a Woman’s One A Day vitamin, but I’ve had those same thoughts about vitamin supplements. I think as long as you’re eating a balanced diet, you can get everything you need, but some people have deficiencies, so everyone varies.

  9. February 22, 2011 2:01 pm

    I have the same One A Day Women’s Vitamin sitting in the cupboard. I always forget to take it!

    I love those red flats!! They totally rock on you! I am a sucker for the Target shoe aisle and flats! I am in need of some new ones for spring, though!

  10. February 22, 2011 2:19 pm

    I’ve been recently asking myself the same question on the whole vitamin thing. I haven’t come to any conclusions yet. However, lately I’ve been looking into the whole GMO thing and have started realizing how wide spread it is. I’m guessing most vitamins are made from GMO’d crops so if you care about that I’d look into it and maybe find vitamins that aren’t. I just started looking so I don’t have any “safe” ones for myself yet but there are some on this website: http://www.nongmoproject.org/consumers/search-participating-products/browse-by-product-type/?catID=25.

    Also, a lot of vitamins contain gelatin in them. I noticed you were a pescatarian so that may not bother you (it comes from beef and pork typically).

    And that’s true what somebody said earlier about the calcium. It binds to the other vitamins I believe and they basically all get flushed out of your system. Take calcium at least 2 hours before or after your other vitamins.

    P.S. Cute outfit, reminds me of Audrey Hepburn.

  11. February 22, 2011 2:27 pm

    Cute cute cute red flats. I need some of those in my life…

    I used to take vitamins and probably still should. But right now the only thing I take is a pre-natal vitamin for my low iron levels…

    Your sweet potato black bean chili looked so good last night! I’ll have to make it soon : )

  12. February 22, 2011 3:17 pm

    mmm i’m totally craving a huge bowl of chili right now! mainly because it’s quite chilly in this classroom haha

    anyways i never take vitamins even though i know i should. i’m just so bad at remembering things like that!

  13. February 22, 2011 3:55 pm

    I take a multi, Vitamin B-12, Vitamin C, and Vitamin D every day. And an omega-3 when I remember. I’m always a little confused on the vitamin and supplement front, there are SO many different ones out there and so many different recommendations for what is needed. At the moment those are what I’m working with though and they seem to be just fine 🙂

    Those red shoes are too cute! I feel you on the holes though. I have a pair of black flats that have become my designed bar shoes for one of the bars I go to the most often (this bar is NOT clean, it needs a specific pair of shoes just for it cause it ruins nice shoes. ick.) and they have a pretty but holey pattern just like that. Trudging through snow to get inside with them on without socks…dumb idea haha.

  14. February 22, 2011 4:31 pm

    I take 2 childrens gummy vitamins a day! I could never force myself to take real ones but I like the children’s ones..I figure its better then nothing!

  15. February 22, 2011 4:43 pm

    I take a Women’s One-A-Day as well. I started taking it for the iron because I was iron-deficient and had the hardest time breathing while out running.

    There are toxic levels of vitamins and minerals, so you do need to be cautious, but one reason I take the Women’s One-A-Day is because it doesn’t contain 1000% of the recommended daily amount like other brands do.

  16. February 22, 2011 4:47 pm

    I also take the women’s one-a-day, and feel so much better for doing so. I’ve been taking it for about 8 months or so.

  17. February 22, 2011 5:08 pm

    I take Vitamin C, B-12 (because I don’t eat much meat), Calcium and Vitamin D (because I live in Chicago and there’s no sun 9 months of the year). I used to take a Centrum multivitamin but I hated the size of the pill so I stopped.

  18. February 22, 2011 6:47 pm

    I actually don’t take any vitamins, but I sometimes wonder if I should…I honestly wouldn’t even know where to begin. And I love Target!! I could live there!

  19. oatsandspice permalink
    February 22, 2011 7:12 pm

    Weird – I just posted above a vegetarian vitamin that I take: http://wp.me/p1hJ4d-bO

  20. February 22, 2011 8:46 pm

    haha…i have all those vitamins but always forget to take them. my mom wants to kill me for that, but i mean, i haven’t taken them in years, but always have them and rarely get sick! i don’t htink they’re necessary if you have a good and balanced diet.

  21. Colleen permalink
    February 22, 2011 8:51 pm

    I’m taking a Vitamins and Minerals class right now, so this is really interesting to me! We talked the other day about how we really don’t have the research yet to show the possible effects of long-term high intakes of many vitamins–particularly fat soluble vitamins (D,E,A,K). My professor recommended that if you feel your diet is not providing all your vitamins and you want to take a vitamin, consider taking it just once or twice a week.

  22. February 22, 2011 9:16 pm

    Thank you for this post- I had no idea about calcium. I also take a multi, fish oil, and calcium. Looks like I’ll be switching to calcium in the morning!

    P.S. your oufit is so cute.

  23. squigglefloey permalink
    February 22, 2011 9:21 pm

    Crap, I don’t take vitamins because I’m too lazy. I probably should? My dad gets some from Costco — I don’t know which ones though because I never bothered to look. Heh. I’m obviously very health oriented =/
    Btw, those shoes look like they would hurt! Well, for me at least. My feetsies are so sensitive

  24. Corbster permalink
    February 23, 2011 10:08 am

    1. I think you’re becoming a celebrity
    2. LOVE the top. Loving the colorful patterns of floral, butterflies, hearts, etc that are out there for spring

  25. February 23, 2011 8:38 pm

    such a CUTE OUTFIT! Im jealous, lovveee!
    I take a vegetarian multi vitamin that my mom actually picks me up at her local health food store
    i also take the same fish oil as you and some vitamin C 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Vitamins – Do ‘em or Ditch ‘em? « Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. Blogs Are For…Learning! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

