Skip to content

Calling All Dessert Recipes!

February 23, 2011

I’m finally watching GLEE! I didn’t get to last night since I had a bunch of things to do after work, but now I’m cuddled on the couch with my post-dinner grapefruit and Finn on the TV.

 

Lunch today was one of my go-tos when I don’t have leftovers: Dr. Praeger’s with a side of veggies and an apple.

Today’s Dr. Praeger’s was topped with hummus, avocado, tomato and spinach. Veggies were sugar snap peas and the apple was a very crisp Pink Lady. Surprisingly this held me over all the way to dinner without a snack. My appetite can be wacky during that time. But by the time I got home I was ready to cook.

I had canned diced tomatoes, broccoli, and portabellos to use up and decided on a layered Italian dish. I put 1/4 cup barley and 1 cup of water on the stovetop to start cooking and let some broccoli and sliced squash steam in a strainer on top of it. Then I sauteed some sliced mushrooms in olive oil before adding the diced tomatoes, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, dried basil and black pepper.

For a cheezy protein drizzle I mixed 1.5 T of nutritional yeast with and equal amount of soy milk.

I layered it all on a plate, tomato sauce first followed by barley, veggies and cheeze sauce. It was delicious and I loved that the veggies still had a slight crunch. I have just recently started using my strainer over a pot of water as a steamer and it is one of my new favorite cooking methods!

 

I want to try to make a healthy dessert instead of my crazy plain tortilla snacks I’ve been having. I swear the fact that I’m out of tortillas is not affecting my decision. But right now I’m thinking about Tina’s 3-Minute Oatmeal Raisin cookie, but I could be swayed if one of you has another recipe I should make. I’m trying to avoid something overly chocolate because I get so addicted to the stuff.

  • Whats your favorite dessert or post-dinner snack?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 7:16 pm

    one of my fav desserts is rice cakes with peanut flour and jelly! or popcorrrrrn with cinnamon/stevia sprinkled on top! damn i wish my popcorn machine wasn’t broken haha

  2. February 23, 2011 7:21 pm

    Courtney at The Granola Chronicles posted these delicious FAST no-bake oatmeal almod balls…theyre easy and yummy! http://www.thegranolachronicles.com/2011/02/recipe-no-bake-almond-butter-balls.html

  3. February 23, 2011 8:41 pm

    What about frozen banana soft serve? I feel like people forgot about that awesome healthy dessert!

  4. February 23, 2011 9:22 pm

    It’s so funny to me how I’ll crave something and someone will make it! hehe I’ve been wanting this dish for a few days, but I need to get groceries to make it! Thanks for making it/eating it for me!

    Love youuuuu!

  5. briana permalink
    February 23, 2011 9:34 pm

    I mix greek yogurt with a scoop of frozen yogurt and dip in annies graham bunnies !

  6. February 23, 2011 10:30 pm

    I usually keep a bar of dark chocolate and have a couple squares after dinner, or sometimes I’ll keep a small thing of ice cream of frozen yogurt in the freezer and have a few spoonfuls, kind of boring, but it usually does the trick.

    I have been really wanting to try Tina’s microwave cookie, but I never have all the ingredients at the same time!

  7. February 23, 2011 10:43 pm

    i find fruit sweetened based stuff works the best, maybe like banana walnut muffins/ bread! i’ll send you a recipe if you want it! mines’ low in sugar too!

  8. February 23, 2011 11:23 pm

    I love cereal after dinner! Haha! I’m such a dork, I’d rather have that than something super sweet!

  9. February 24, 2011 7:27 am

    I LOVE steamed veggies!!! i definitely love having apples and pb or peanut flour pancakes… or banana with pb and chocolate.. or a larabar with pb!

  10. February 24, 2011 7:58 am

    I like anything sweet – but it’s not usually healthy!

  11. February 24, 2011 9:07 am

    Well I guess this is KIND of dessert, but it’s pretty darn healthy. It’s what I called a chocolate chip peanut butter oat bowl. I don’t know, you may like it….I sure did : )

    http://www.mylittlecelebration.com/?p=4195

  12. February 25, 2011 2:14 pm

    BROWNIEEESSS!

    I’m a brownie monster. I even eat the batter with water.

    try hard not to judge me.

Leave a Reply

