Skip to content

Alcohol On Glee

February 24, 2011

I found a new favorite lunch spot! It’s always a good sign when you can’t decide to order off of the menu…it just means I have to go back!

Nadoz Euro Bakery & Cafe is a little known Gem in St. Louis with two locations and a wine bar soon to open. They serve everything from coffee and smoothies to salads and paninis to specialty chocolates and artisan bread. You really can’t go wrong.

source

I suggested the spot to my brother originally wanting a breakfast sandwich (served all day), but I started to waver when I saw an Asian veggie wrap on special. Then I spied the “fit” menu and couldn’t pass up the “Crepe ‘n’ Cluck”: egg whites, spinach, tomato, onion, bell pepper, & low fat cheddar served in a buckwheat crepe”. Buckwheat crepes! Awesome!

I knew I needed something more so I got a side of fruit. The crepe was pretty big though so it might do a better job of holding me over than I think. I have plenty of snacks just in case 😉

MMM I immediately made my brother try the buckwheat crepe. I couldn’t get enough of the nutty flavor and started tearing off pieces to eat alone. The inside was full of veggies and it made for an extremely delicious lunch. The side of fruit even came with a piece of kale 🙂 My brother loved his turkey & brie sandwich as well, and both of us can’t wait to go back and try more things off their menu.

Nadoz = A+.

Alcohol On Glee:

When I found out this week’s episode of Glee was about alcohol I was immediately curious as to how they would handle it. The characters are supposed to be in high school so I assumed the final moral would be that underage drinking is bad.

source

But I was wrong. There was absolutely no mention of them being underage at all! Sure they explained that it is important to be responsible when you drink by not driving and not getting that crazy. They showed how embarrassing it can be to be drunk and how awful it feels to be hungover. But not one single mention of the fact that these kids shouldn’t be drinking in the first place. In fact, in the end they were actually kind of rewarded for their drinking by inadvertently helping to put an end to the problem at McKinley High.

I’m really wondering what the producers were thinking when they made this episode, and I surely hope there aren’t any negative repercussions for avoiding the underage issue in a TV show promoted to kids and teens. Truthfully I’m not bothered and furious about it considering I drank in high school too. I really loved the episode in general (especially the Kesha song!!), I just was surprised at how the alcohol episode played out.

  • What do you think about how Glee handled teenage drinking?
  • Did you even notice that their age wasn’t mentioned?

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 2:26 pm

    I agree 100% – I wasn’t a fan of how they handled it. I enjoy adult beverages often 😉 but I don’t think the episode was done in a classy manner. The show shouldn’t glorify underaged drinking. But I understand it – the entire basis of the show is to poke fun of (and magnify) stereotypes. From that perspective, I get it.

  2. February 24, 2011 2:30 pm

    I don’t watch glee, but I do think they should have treated it in a better manner- especially since so many young people watch it.

  3. lauravirginia permalink
    February 24, 2011 2:41 pm

    Your lunch looks so good! I have family that lives in St. L, so next time I am there I am going to have to hit that up! I always wonder that about Glee… They have talked about the “kids” drinking alcohol before and I never really understood. Same with Gossip Girl, but what can you expect? 😉

  4. February 24, 2011 3:50 pm

    hmm our Glee is behind in the UK. (we get shows and movies muc later than ppl in the US) so I have not seen it, but it is very interesting that they would do that.. ESP cuz the drinking age is 21, which is much higher for HS kids.. here, it wouldnt be an issue because you can drink so young. .but im sure there will be some controversy over this!

  5. February 24, 2011 5:35 pm

    That crepe looks ridiculous gurrl!

    I still need to make my own crepes since I’m GF and all I can’t just go grab one whenever I want I have to make one! So I have yet to try them! Only heard good things though! My sis went to Europe so she got the real deal there! 🙂

  6. Lauren permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:14 pm

    While I’m a huuuuge fan of glee (and thought this episode was hilarious!) I thought they kinda crossed a line with this one. As someone who’s doing an internship in schools, I kept thinking “oh my gosh! I hope my downs kids arent watching this!” because I was worried they would start to think it was okay if the kids on Glee were doing it. I do think, however, that it showed, at least with Rachel, that people are willing to break their own boundaries for the sake of being “cool”

  7. February 24, 2011 7:07 pm

    duuuude my mom was just talking about how it was controversial and how she was very conflicted about it! damn retard deleted it off our dvr! but we’ll prob watch it on the computer later! i’m exciiited haha

  8. February 24, 2011 7:20 pm

    i watch glee with one of my friends and the whole time we were just waiting for them to mention that!
    i wasn’t offended by it or anything either, but i know parents are gonna be pissed!

  9. February 24, 2011 9:41 pm

    I thought this episode of Glee was a little racy. Honestly, I was surprised they didn’t try to turn it into a lesson on the hazards of drinking underage. However, there were some good points. For example, Kurt and Finn were designated drivers and didn’t drink and drive, but safety was never really emphasized. Although I understand this might be realistic for high schoolers, I think Glee glorified underage drinking. It didn’t really offend me (I actually loved the songs), but it didn’t sit well with me either.

  10. February 25, 2011 10:02 am

    I love Nadoz! I don’t watch Glee, so I can’t really comment, but just to say–it IS a bit ridiculous that the drinking age is 21, as many folks are through college by then, but I do think high school is really young to drink–but I’m conflicted as I think part of the issue is that drinking is treated as a “no-no” rather than teaching young adults (which 13 and ups really are) to drink and do other things (eat, sex, spend money) responsibly, moderately, and with concern for consequences (i.e. don’t drink and drive but a few beers on a Friday night to relax is no problem). But like I said, I didn’t see the show–

  11. March 2, 2011 11:51 am

    I get your point about Glee not emphasizing enough that they were underage (although it was mentioned that it is illegal Mr. Schu said it, I believe so did the principal) was a step in the wrong direction. I also agree that it glorified it a bit because they were not reprimanded for their choices.

    But personally I appreciate the fact that they really emphasized the safety aspect of it. Having designated drivers, and they kept talking about being responsible with alcohol use. The reality is that kids in high school will drink. Not all, not even most, but it will happen. And I think giving kids the tools, and knowledge to approach a situation responsibly is much more effective than telling them not to do it at all.

  12. March 24, 2011 3:08 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Trackbacks

  1. My Morning Off « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

