Skip to content

I Know My Cookies

February 24, 2011

My family used to get out a box of Entemnann’s mini cookies and polish it off after dinner.

source

We always had cookie cakes on our birthday instead of regular cake.

My older brother, John, wants to start his own Food Network TV show where he travels the country to search for the best chocolate chip cookie.

My Dad’s favorite roadtrip cookie is Grandma’s, while John is partial to the Grant’s General Store minis that come in little plastic cups.

source

I’m telling you this because I consider myself pretty well-versed when it comes to cookies, and last night’s “3-minute oatmeal raisin cookie” was not much of a cookie. It was delicious, yes, and it still amazes me that I could whip up something like that with just a bowl and a microwave. But the only thing that made it a cookie was it’s shape.

The texture was more of a muffin-top or chewy piece of cake. It wasn’t soft enough to eat with a spoon, but also didn’t have any crunch to it. It was something you pulled apart with your teeth to enjoy. It definitely fulfilled my desire for a lightly sweetened, carb-o-licious dessert though, and I’m creating variations in my head now!

All I had to do was put my ingredients in a microwave safe bowl:

Mix them up with a spoon and flatten into a cookie shape:

Then microwave for 45 seconds and slide onto a plate!

I will totally make this again, but also now have tons of great ideas and recipes from you guys! Thanks!

  • Are you a cookie monster? What’s your all-time favorite cookie?

 

********************************************

This morning I ran an easy 5 miles, did some abs, and finished with some arms utilizing the assisted pull up “gravitron”.

OUTFIT:

Then I got dressed.

BREAKFAST: 

 Then I was rushing to get to a meeting and spilled my oatmeal all over the sink. So I had to run up to the cafeteria and buy some pre-made oatmeal from them.

Ohh that’s just how things go sometimes. I have a fun lunch date with my brother today and am planning on posting about my feelings on this week’s Glee later today. Hope you’re having a great day!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 10:44 am

    love the dress!

  2. Danielle permalink
    February 24, 2011 10:45 am

    My favorite cookie is the chocolate chip one from the New York Times article on their quest for the best chocolate chip cookie. It’s sweet and salty and delicious, but you have to plan ahead because the dough needs to be refrigerated for 24 hrs. http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/09/dining/09chip.html

  3. February 24, 2011 10:52 am

    In NY we have Freihoffers cookies that look just like those Entenmanns but I swear taste 100X better. I’m not sure why I can never find them anywhere else!

  4. February 24, 2011 11:07 am

    I love cookies. Snickerdoodles are my fav.

  5. February 24, 2011 11:27 am

    Mm! Love me Some Peanut Butter Cookies!

    I can’t tell if ya liked it or not?
    Is it worth trying?

  6. McKena permalink
    February 24, 2011 11:46 am

    I saw this link keep popping up on my fb every day so a couple of weeks ago I started reading it. Just wanted you to know I think it’s pretty cool and I’m digging some of your recipe ideas; they work well for the modified paleo diet that I do. Keep it up! Also, if you haven’t tried them, sweet potato pancakes are a tasty thing to make.

  7. February 24, 2011 12:41 pm

    You’re watching Glee! Yes! I can’t wait to read what you thought about the episode 🙂 My family cookie of all time is white macadamia nut. YUM!

  8. February 24, 2011 12:41 pm

    you look SO CUTE as always!… i LOVE cookies– who doesn’t?.. it has GOT to have something in it though.. you know, something chunky like choc chips, raisins, any other dried fruit!

  9. February 24, 2011 1:12 pm

    I’m curious to hear your thoughts on this week’s Glee episode 🙂

  10. February 24, 2011 1:39 pm

    I got to try that 3-minute oatmeal cookie recipe! Another cute fit….where di you get those boots?

  11. February 24, 2011 1:40 pm

    another cute fit girl!!! Where did you get those boots?

  12. February 24, 2011 3:51 pm

    love your sweater dress! been looking for one. where’d you get it?

  13. February 24, 2011 6:16 pm

    I tried the microwave cookie, it was pretty good, but nothing like a REAL cookie! (well, duh) 🙂 Still delicious, though!

    I love your boots!

  14. squigglefloey permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:27 pm

    No worries, my oatmeal has spilled over in the microwave more times than I can count. Lucky your cafeteria had some! I wouldn’t have known it wasn’t yours 🙂 Have fun tonight!

Trackbacks

  1. Big Plans for Chocolate « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

