Skip to content

Lemon-Agave Sweet Potato & Brussel Sprouts over Quinoa

February 24, 2011

I had sweet potatoes and Brussel sprouts to use for dinner, but wasn’t in the mood for a super heavy dish. I decided to lighten it up by serving it over a bed of fluffy quinoa and glaze in a homemade lemon-agave dressing.

The sweet potatoes had already been roasted and chopped, but I sliced the brussel sprouts and roasted those for about 30 minutes at 400 before getting started. While the quinoa was cooking I made the dressing:

I combined:

  • 1 teaspoon Agave
  • 4 teaspoon vegetable broth
  • juice of 1/2  a lemon
  • a sprinkle of dried basil

and stirred it together in a separate bowl. Then I put the brussel sprouts and sweet potato in a sauce pan to warm and poured the dressing on top. Once the quinoa was finished and the vegetables were nicely coated, I plated…

I loved how unassuming this dressing was! It was enough sweetness to kick the vegetables up a notch, but the fresh lemon added the perfect amount of balancing acidity. I will definitely use this dressing again, and imagine it would be fantastic over a light piece of fish.

Two things:

First, you’ve probably heard from others that Women’s Health is compiling a list of their favorite blogs. I know it’s a long shot, but if you like visiting my site I would love for you to click on this link:  Women’s Health Blogroll and vote for me! I have been putting myself in the “health” category, but I guess you can do whatever you choose!

Second, I have a question about my marathon training. I’m supposed to have a 19 mile run on the Saturday that St. Louis celebrates Mardi Gras. We have the second biggest celebration in the country and I really want to be able to enjoy the whole day for the first time. I even have two girlfriends from highschool flying in for it AND Alex is going to come in from Florida!

source

I’m really stressed out about the weekend in general. Between high school friends, Alex, and this important run I feel like I’m getting pulled in too many directions. I don’t want to miss out on the morning because of my run, but know I need to get it in.

I suppose I have some options though. I could reverse this weekend and Mardi Gras weekend so that I only have a 13 mile run that day. But then the next couple of long run weeks will look like this:

  • 19 miles
  • 13 miles
  • 12 miles
  • 20 miles
  • 12 miles
  • 8 miles
  • MARATHON!

I know the drop back weeks are planned for a purpose – to give my legs and body a break. I feel like changing the order of my run kind of ruins that system and leaves me with too long of a break between really long runs. The difference between running 13 miles and 19 miles is only an hour, but I know that will seem like an enternity on that day.

I could also see about taking that Friday off of work and trying to get the run in then. But honestly I think it might be a little drastic to use a vacation day because of one run.

  • So what should I do? Keep the training as is and suck it up because I’ve been working really hard on this marathon? Or use an alternative option like a shorter run or taking a vacation day?
  • 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 8:32 pm

    Can you split the run up? Our coaches with TEAM told us that if we did the runs within a certain time frame, totally blocking me now, that it benefited your body as much…Just a thought. 🙂

  2. February 25, 2011 5:46 am

    Hmm would if you did 13 19 12 20

  3. February 25, 2011 6:11 am

    I think it would be fine to switch it up a tad! in the end you are running the same amounts and will be jsut as fit and ready!..

  4. February 25, 2011 6:13 am

    this sounds delicious!!

  5. February 25, 2011 7:36 am

    I agree with Ashley. Run 19 this weekend, then switch your 12 and 20. Running 2 12’s in a row then won’t be a big deal…could bump the 2nd 12 up to 15 if you really wanted, but definitely not necessary. I ran my last 20 four weeks before the Chicago and that ended up being fine!

  6. February 25, 2011 7:36 am

    Girl, I have zero advice about marathon training…just a big old YOU ROCK! I’m slowly training for a 10k and can’t imagine running 19 miles. 🙂
    Your dinner looks delicious!

  7. Natalie permalink
    February 25, 2011 11:33 am

    I think if I were you, I would switch your runs and do the 19 miler this weekend. It would alleviate a lot of stress the morning of mardi gras. Plus, the sunday after your body will be completely exhausted from a super long run, celebrating, etc. I just know from my own experience training for a half.. I can’t imagine training for the full! More power to you. That would be my best advice. Good luck to you 🙂

  8. Jillian permalink
    February 25, 2011 12:05 pm

    DO THE 19 THIS WEEKEND SO YOU CAN HANG OUT WITH ME WHILE I’M HOME FOR MARDI GRAS!!!!!! And Alex of course.

  9. March 2, 2011 6:22 am

    i dont know if im really late on responding to this but i would say switch the runs! No need to stress over it 🙂
    Dinner sounds yummy I ALWAYS love sweet potatoes!

Trackbacks

  1. Little Balls Of Goodness « Fitting It All In
  2. New Food: Collard Greens! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

