Skip to content

Little Balls Of Goodness

February 25, 2011

So when Kristin from IowaGirlEats when she said that just 4 of her No-bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls would be satisfying I scoffed. Four little balls satisfies who? But I was mistaken…those babies are INCREDIBLE and so satisfying.

I’ll get to them in a bit πŸ˜‰

Lunch today was leftovers of my Lemon-Agave Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts over Quinoa from last night. I had a cup of natural applesauce for dessert and then fruit and Oikos 0% plain for a snack.

Friends were busy after work, so I took myself on a movie date and saw Gnomeo and Juliet with a bunch of 5-year-olds and their parents. The adorable little kid giggles were probably more entertaining than the movie. Unfortunately it wasn’t my favorite, but hopefully seeing Just Go With It with my brother later this weekend will make up for it!

Post-movie I picked up my traditional Crazy Bowls and Wraps dinner and brought it over to a friends house to chat with the girls before they went out. Fridays are my nights in since my long runs are Saturday morning, but it’s nice to at least hang out for a bit before my bedtime.

When I got home I had a grapefruit and got to work prepping my late night snack: no-bake chocolate peanut butter balls (which were actually almond butter balls for me) . Mmhmm I had high hopes for these babies!

First up was 1/4 cup regular oats (not quick cooking)

Next in was 2 teaspoons of chopped peanuts and 2 teaspoons of dark chocolate (I chopped up some of my TJ’s triangles)

Finally I added 1 Tablespoon almond butter and 1 teaspoon pure maple syrup (didn’t have any honey) and mashed it all together with a spoon.


I then took the very sticky mixture and attempted to form it into balls. This was kinda tricky and I almost gave in and just ate it right then with a spoon, but I wanted to eat it the way Kristin intended me to! My little nuggets went into the fridge for about 30 minutes before they were together enough to dig into.

These are insane! The perfect combination of nutty and chocolate, and a decadent dessert without the “I’m going to be sick” sugary feeling. And with the natural, healthy ingredient list there is no guilt involved!

Three cheers for another awesome, easy dessert for one! Hope this is good 19 mile run fuel…but if not I’m sure the rest of the snacks I plow through tonight will fit the bill. Happy Weekend!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    February 25, 2011 11:05 pm

    Good luck tmrw girl! You always seem to commit to workouts on saturday! Good for you? I guess? haha. So the movie wasn’t that great? =/

  2. February 26, 2011 12:05 am

    mmmmm those sound really really good! Too bad I’m out of peanut butter or I’d make some right now!!

  3. February 26, 2011 6:34 am

    I make those no-bake pb balls for my hubby and he loves them! I need to make some more this weekend πŸ™‚ Good luck on the 19 miles!

  4. February 26, 2011 6:45 am

    I totally want to see Just Go With It- let us know what you think! And thats awesome that you are still able to hang with you friends but skip the crazy party scene on Fridays. I’d much rather make no bake cookies than party πŸ˜‰ Hope the long run goes well

  5. February 26, 2011 7:14 am

    i LOVE these balls!! and i love how it makes one serving!! PERFECt.. i always tend to make a big batch of something and then.. eat it all..

  6. February 26, 2011 8:35 am

    Ohh those almond butter balls looks amazing! I may be making those tonight…

  7. February 26, 2011 8:59 am

    So glad you liked the no-bake peanut butter balls! You wouldn’t think that four balls would do it – but they really satisfy! Good luck on your run – you are AMAZING!

  8. February 26, 2011 9:29 am

    Peanut butter in anything = heaven πŸ™‚ I love sweet yummy snacky treats like that. So quick and easy to make when you really want something sweet and satisfying πŸ™‚

  9. March 2, 2011 8:09 pm

    oohhhh i need to make these balls this weekend!

Leave a Reply

