Skip to content

Eat Right Away!

February 26, 2011

I was in a totally weird mindset going into today’s long run. Usually I have a whole week to pump myself up for the distance, but since I just decided yesterday to make a big switcharoo and run 19 instead of 13 today, my head wasn’t totally in it.

Even though I held back a little in Yoga yesterday, my hamstrings were still a little sore when I woke up. I took some advice from Tina and foamrolled before my run and it helped a ton! I also had a pre-run breakfast of almond butter and banana on a toasted English muffin (restocked my Whole Food’s favs!).

I drove to Forest Park planning on doing the same three 6-mile loops I did last week with a little extra tacked on. Today I used my Camelbak for hydration since I didn’t like carrying a water bottle last week. The Camelbak bothered me a lot in the summer because it rubbed against my shoulders and armpits, but since I had on long-sleeves today it worked perfectly. It was great to be able to take little sips so easily throughout the run.

It was a cold, gray day and that mid-day warm up I was expected didn’t quite happen. It stayed around 40 degrees with a bit of a wind chill. I wore gloves the whole time but my low-blood pressure still caused my fingers to get pretty dang cold. I didn’t realize how frozen they were til I tried to open a Gu Gel—>So hard! But it wasn’t bad enough to bring on tears so I was okay.

I took GUs at mile 7 and mile 13 and took a bathroom break at mile 11.5. My pace was quicker than last week at 9:36 instead of 9:42 but my legs didn’t feel quite as good. My calves were screaming at me by the end. But the part that matters is that I got the 19 miles in successfully and feel great about it!

hot.

 

 

Here are my splits:

  • Mile 1: 9:44
  • Mile 2: 9:53
  • Mile 3: 9:25
  • Mile 4: 9:22
  • Mile 5: 9:20
  • Mile 6: 9:29
  • Mile 7: 9:34 (GU 1)
  • Mile 8: 9:40
  • Mile 9: 9:30
  • Mile 10: 9:32
  • Mile 11: 9:28
  • Mile 12: 9:35
  • Mile 13: 9:43
  • Mile 14: 10:14 –>stoplight and GU 2
  • Mile 15: 9:37
  • Mile 16: 9:34
  • Mile 17: 9:33
  • Mile 18: 9:31
  • Mile 19: 9:42

Final: 3:02:25. Pretty consistent!

I did some online research this past week on why I was getting SO FAMISHED the day after my long runs. I mean I know I’m going to be extra hungry, but I was literally insatiable and eating every hour. I determined that I was waiting too long to eat after my runs and instead needed to eat something right away to replace my glycogen stores. So even though I’m usually not hungry until about an hour after my runs, I made myself a Green Monster right when I got home and shivered my way through it while icing my legs. Green Monster + Icing legs = bad idea.

In today’s mix was:

  • blender full of raw spinach
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Meal
  • 1/2 scoop Vanilla Jay Robb Whey Protein
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 teaspoon ground flax seed
  • teeny bit of xantham gum
  • a few ice cubes.

I just showered and readied myself for Church and have a bigger meal cooking in the oven. I’m making a TJ’s Meatless Balls sub with some sweet potato rounds…can’t wait!

I have to babysit for a few hours tonight and am going to bring another meal with me, and hopefully will be able to go hang out with friends for a bit afterward. Not quite as big of a weekend as the two coming up (Mardi Gras & St. Patrick’s Day back-to-back!) but still fun. I’m really glad I got my 19-miler out of the way so I feel more relaxed about the next two weeks. Thanks again for the advice!

  • What is your post-work out meal of choice?

I don’t want to eat a full meal right after, but need something in my system. I love the smoothie idea, but on cold days like this it is painful! I’d love to hear some of your ideas!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 4:41 pm

    AWESOME job on the run girl!! 19 miles seems sooooo long to me, but you absolutely killed it. I’m so impressed with how you kept your pace up the whole time!! Definitely something to be proud of 🙂

  2. February 26, 2011 4:41 pm

    holy mother of pearl. 19 miles. I think you deserve dessert today…or 2…or 3!

    Also, I think I need to invest in a camelback.

  3. February 26, 2011 4:47 pm

    WOW girl, great job on the run! It’s awesome that you were able to make a change in your training schedule and stick with it…I know a lot of people really pump themselves up during the week for those long weekend runs, so it’s great that you kept yourself positive about the change and INCREASE in mileage!
    I don’t have any go-to after-workout foods…sometimes a smoothie, sometimes a peanut butter and banana sandwich, sometimes a granola bar!

  4. February 26, 2011 5:19 pm

    Wow! Congrats, 19 is absolutely amazing!! I’ve been having the same problem as you, not so hungry after the run, but really hungry the day after. I always eat something right away, even if I’m not hungry, but it can be hard cause sometimes it makes me nauseous to eat so soon after a workout. I try to just have something with protein, like a greek yogurt to tide me over until my body is ready for more. My heart rate monitor has been great in realizing exactly how many calories I need to make up.

  5. Kate permalink
    February 26, 2011 5:46 pm

    Wow way to go! I ran half that yesterday and can’t imagine doubling it. For me, I always do cheerios or shredded wheat and milk. I’m never really starving but I feel like the immediate protein and carb combo really helps with recovery and I’m not AS starving as I could be.

  6. Brandi permalink
    February 26, 2011 5:49 pm

    WOW! Good run girl! After long runs, I have a banana and cup of chocolate milk. Then sometimes I will have a couple bites of chips and salsa…weird, I know, but it works for me.

    When is the marathon you are training for?

  7. caitlinoco permalink
    February 26, 2011 6:41 pm

    Great job! My favorite post run meal is always eggs! Unless I get out really early and then it’s peanut butter oats. Very smart to get something in you right after your runs, have a great weekend!

  8. February 26, 2011 7:44 pm

    Wow you are amazing! 19 miles is so long! Hopefully you get to go out tonight – you deserve it!

  9. February 26, 2011 7:58 pm

    19 miles- what a rockstar! Seriously! And I looove GMs after a sweaty workout. I usually plan my workouts so that I can eat lunch right after though! =P

  10. oatsandspice permalink
    February 26, 2011 9:46 pm

    Wow 19 miles!? Nice work – I wish I could do that!

  11. February 26, 2011 11:42 pm

    I’ve had a “wonderful” history of being injured these past couple of years since I’ve really started running, so smoothies or chocolate milk have worked wonderfully for me in warm weather.

    Awesome stats: It’s been scientifically proven that chocolate milk is the BEST way to refuel. It apparently has the best combo of protein and carb.

    One of my really close friends and running enthusiast has been known to go out in 10 degree weather to run, and she LOVES soy hot chocolate after cold weather runs. It’s a reward to such a great run, and can be consumed while icing to keep your soul warm! THEN smoothie it up.

    Most important part is to keep eating, even if you aren’t super hungry!! Muscles are going to need lots of repairing after such a spectacular pace you just posted! Congrats!

  12. irene permalink
    February 27, 2011 1:11 am

    Clare congrats on your 19 miles, that is amazing! My current goal is to run one mile :/

  13. February 27, 2011 10:44 am

    Great times! 🙂 Your breakfast looks so good! I want to have that for lunch today! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  14. March 3, 2011 8:18 pm

    congrats on that run! Your a speedy one! I think if i ever ran that distance I would be running 12 min miles haha 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Craving Chipotle & Pumpkin Muffins « Fitting It All In
  2. What I Ate After 20 Miles « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

