Skip to content

My First Breakfast Bake

February 27, 2011

I’ve been eying Ashley’s breakfast bakes for a while, and Sunday morning seemed like the best day to try the slightly labor-intensive dish. I was super curious about the texture of these and had never used buckwheat before, but after hearing so many wonderful reviews I had to give it a shot! Pumpkin has been noticeably absent from my life lately and the major craving I got for the two Libby’s cans sitting in the pantry made choosing the Pumpkin Buckwheat Bake pretty easy.

I bought the buckwheat groats from the bulk bin at Whole Foods and ground them up in our little coffee grinder. Worked perfectly!

Then I prepped the rest of the ingredients: raw buckwheat groats, pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, 1/2 banana, a flax egg, and a few more things that didn’t make the cutting board πŸ˜‰

First step was mashing the banana

Next I added in the pumpkin and soy milk (didn’t have almond milk…also ran out of vanilla)

Lastly I added in the buckwheat flour, groats, spices, chia seeds and flax egg. Just realized I didn’t use the baking powder. Oops! Still turned out okay!

I poured the mixture into a little pam-ed baking dish and popped it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

I wasn’t super hungry (all that cereal last night?) so I didn’t go crazy with the toppings. Just some sliced strawberries and eventually a drizzle of maple syrup.

I ADORED the texture of this! Ashley warned that this was a much more moist version since it had pumpkin and banana in it, but that’s what I wanted. It reminded me of a perfectly cooked brownie– a light crust on the outside but ooey gooey on the inside. The buckwheat flavor wasn’t all that noticeable to me, but I’m used to whole grain nutty goodness. The pumpkin spice totally satisfied my craving I can totally see why Ashley loves creating so many different combinations. It was such a great change for breakfast and super fun to eat!

 

I guess I didn’t hate it.

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 3:33 pm

    AHH THAT SOUNDS LIKE BLISS! ooey and gooey are my favorite words.

  2. February 27, 2011 3:41 pm

    I agree that all her bakes look SO incredible! And I looove anything with pumpkin so this would be a winner for me πŸ™‚

  3. February 27, 2011 3:42 pm

    “I have simple tastes. I am simply satisfied with the best.” – Oscar Wilde

  4. February 27, 2011 4:06 pm

    Aw, yay!! I’m so glad you liked it!!! πŸ™‚ Fun playing with new ingredients, huh? Have a great Sunday!

  5. February 27, 2011 4:37 pm

    Ooh! Sounds like something I need to try! I love baked breakfast goodies πŸ™‚

  6. February 27, 2011 7:43 pm

    That looks and sounds delicious! I love your bowl! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Craving Chipotle & Pumpkin Muffins « Fitting It All In
  2. Bloggie Trends You Just Aren’t Into « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

