Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: Are Girls Better Than Guys?

February 28, 2011

So did anyone make bets on how many muffins I would eat last night?

Because the answer is three. I had one with a grapefruit for dessert, but then went back to mindlessly snack on two more while talking to my boyfriend. They are just so good! Thankfully I put half in the freezer so I will have to work a little harder to get to them. As if that will stop me.

************************************************

Woke up pretty tired due to the torrential winds and storms we got here last night. My mom said she almost got us up to go down to the basement! Power outages and lines down all over the city, but thankfully nothing but a little lost sleep at my house.

The extra muffins last night gave me all the energy I needed for my 5 mile speed-work run though! And I finished with some stretching, abs, and arms. Just a typical Monday.

OUTFIT:

I had a skirt picked out, but then I realized it was supposed to be cold and stormy so I switched.

Speaking of clothes, I actually really liked Cate Blanchett’s dress last night. Is that weird? It was just one of the only really risky and different silhouettes and I kinda dug it!

source

BREAKFAST:

An unspilled oatmeal bowl.

 

 

 

Monday Man-Day: Are Girls Better Than Guys?

So I came across this article in Glamour magazine called “Women Are Better Than Men!” and knew I had to feature it. They list 6 different areas in which women do better than men, and I’m curious to hear your thoughts! Here they are:

  1. Women Handle Rocky Relationships Better: Sociologists found that a strained romance had a greater impact on men’s feelings of self-worth than womens because men don’t turn to people for support the way women do.
  2. Women are Better Drivers: My boyfriend will argue this one ;). It says male drivers have a 77% higher risk of dying in a car accident than women because women are more careful.
  3. Women Tolerate Pain Better (And Men Bitch About It More): Women experience more pain throughout their life and so have come to handle it better.
  4. Women Are Better Cops: Women cops are more trustworthy, less corruptible, and less likely to rely on physical force making them better at defusing violent situations.
  5. Women Are Better World Leaders: In seven out of eight attributes deemed very important to leadership, respondents described women as equal or better than men.
  6. Women Are Better At Gathering Mushrooms in a Remote Part Of Mexico: Random. When tracked by GPS, men exerted 56% more energy to collect the same amount of mushrooms, making women far more efficient.

 

Any other areas where you think women are better than men? Multitasking  and asking for directions are probably obvious ones…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 10:18 am

    go women! love the mushroom stat.

  2. February 28, 2011 10:41 am

    I liked Cate’s dress, too. In a weird way. Everyone raved about Reese’s dress during the E! Pre-show and I just thought it was boring. She’s not boring, but the dress was – in my opinion. I mean, we all know she’d be gorgeous in a paper bag.

    And I don’t think all women are bad drivers either – even though the boyfriend thinks differently. Must be a “man” thing…

  3. February 28, 2011 10:48 am

    Definitely true about the handling pain one. And about handling being sick. My husband can’t stand the smallest little sore throat- you’d think he was dying!

    And I would have eaten three muffins too 🙂

  4. February 28, 2011 10:48 am

    Muffin’s look good. Mmmmm

  5. February 28, 2011 10:54 am

    I think girls take constructive criticism better. Guys get too defensive too fast.

  6. irene permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:17 am

    I completely agree with you on Cate Blanchett’s dress, her dress along with Mila Kunis’s were my favorite

  7. February 28, 2011 11:38 am

    Love your green scarf! Boots, too. Definitely the scarf! So bright and cheery!

    I thought Cate Blanchett pulled off her dress AMAZINGLY. Not sure I would pick it out for myself, but she wore it better than anyone I could see wearing it. Anne Hathaway’s wardrobe was great, and I loved Gwenyth Paltrow’s dress (not her singing so much).

    Muffins look delicious! Speedwork needs lots o’ carbs. I’m always surprised!

    Ooooh, and I agree that women take constructive criticism better than men. Men do get defensive, especially if they’re in positions of authority!

  8. February 28, 2011 1:39 pm

    Those muffins look fabulous! And the storm sounds scary! Glad y’all are ok. Cute outfit (as per). I unfortunately can’t agree with you on Cate’s outfit… but there were so many fabulous dresses. Women are definitely better multitaskers than men! That is for sure!

  9. February 28, 2011 1:55 pm

    HAHAHA number 6 is hilarious!! wow that storm sounds FREAKY! you know its meant to snow tonight.. IN LONDON. in practically MARCH.. double yew tee eff much?!
    woman are also better at empathizing than MEN!! and just better all around 😀

  10. February 28, 2011 2:17 pm

    hahaha omg I love all of those! lol

  11. February 28, 2011 3:05 pm

    I was just talking about Cate Blanchett’s dress to a coworker! I almost loved it.. I thought the color and shape and material were all awesome.

    Unfortunately those florescent yellow tiger stripes on the top totally ruined it for me. It reminded me of cat pee.

  12. February 28, 2011 4:32 pm

    I like Cate Blanchett’s dress. And I think the only person who could pull it off would be Cate Blanchett.

    My “best dressed” for the evening was Scarlett Johannson though!

  13. February 28, 2011 8:40 pm

    I strangely liked Cate’s dress as well. She was stunning. There were so many classic dresses this year.

  14. John Buckley permalink
    February 28, 2011 9:01 pm

    I’ll give you all of them except the driving one. Every time I drive with a woman, I cannot believe how much they try to multitask. Attaching seat belts, answering phones, etc. etc.. That goes for all the girls in my family–and there are a whole bunch, spouse, nieces, cousins, in laws, etc. I have so often had to say, “Please, give me the damn phone, you’re driving.”
    BUT, I remember that about a year ago when Kevin was driving in my old stick shift 92 Camry on the way to the mall, he decided to text his older brother to ask about the precise color of a tux for his brother’s wedding. I could not believe it. I actually grabbed the phone from him, and said, “not with me in the shotgun seat, without an airbag. ” So, 50-50, I guess. Jack

  15. February 28, 2011 10:02 pm

    oh how i love your blog so much!!
    umm how freaking gorgeous are you btw!! 🙂

  16. Her Brother permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:32 am

    Also, studies show that women get into more accidents than men, they are just not as serious.

Leave a Reply

