Skip to content

The Biggest Apple EVER

February 28, 2011

I went to the grocery store after work today and please look what I found:

THE BIGGEST APPLE I HAVE EVER SEEN. This baby was a Gala (correction. I have been told it is a Fuji) and it was bigger than a grapefruit. It was seriously the size of a small melon.

next to a grapefruit

Next to my big Droid phone

I didn’t buy it. I wouldn’t have known what to do with it! That would be like a full meal. Plus I didn’t really want to know what they pumped into it to get it that big. Oversized fruits signal “not natural” to me. I have no idea if that is legitimate, but it makes sense in my head.

Anyway, before I spent a good 5 minutes taking pictures of apples I was at work having lunch! A Dr. Praeger’s with spinach, hummus, and some chipotle guac from last night. Broccoli and a regular sized Pink Lady on the side.

And since it was chilly today I decided I should use up some of my frozen soups before the weather gets too nice. That’s a bit optimistic of me, I know. But the Edamame, Mushroom & Kale soup sounded good tonight! I topped it with some red quinoa for extra protein.

Time to continue flipping between the Bachelor and the Notre Dame vs. Villanova game. It’s a family rivalry! My older brother went to Nova but the rest of us are Domers. I see a grapefruit and a pumpkin muffin in my future. Just sayin’.

  • Any fun rivalries in your family?


Of Interest:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 7:50 pm

    Haha, I get intimidated by big apples too! They seems to good in theory but then they are way too much when it comes down to it. The Honey Crisp Apples seemed to be GIGANTIC this year. Maybe it was just me.

  2. February 28, 2011 7:51 pm

    Are you SURE that’s a gala? I think thats a Fugi girl! …maybe I’m wrong but I eat fugi apples day in and day out! lol.

    Thats mine kind of apple foo shure! Big big big!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. February 28, 2011 7:57 pm

    This post is coincidental for so many reasons right now. I had the LARGEST banana for breakfast, it definitely was on steroids; it freaked me out. Also I had the same soup tonight (except I had the lima beans instead)….and lastely my boyfriend and I were just discussing changing up workouts. He’s a physical therapy major and has worked in the field for a couple of years specializing in sports so he’s really well informed on these topics. After the half, I want to train for another or possibly a marathon, but we were just discussing how important it is to change up your workout including what cardio you do and how often you weight train. Can’t remember the last time I’ve done that….

  4. February 28, 2011 8:14 pm

    I haven’t changed up my workout enough, lately. I thought about hopping on the Arc (machine? thing?) today, but did some miles on the treadmill instead…I hate straying from my comfort zone!
    That apple is HUGE. Maybe someone will buy it for apple crisp or pie?
    No family rivalries for me…but there are only 4 of us total, and my sister and I went to the same school so we all root for GREEN AND WHITE (Michigan State!)

  5. February 28, 2011 8:22 pm

    Haha I’m watching the Bachelor now! When I’m home, we usually agree because my Dad can get into silly shows like the Bachelor with me, my Mom and my sister. However if he gets a chance, the TV will go onto Fox news or the military channel. He loves war history!

  6. February 28, 2011 8:23 pm

    It’s scary to see how “perfect” some fruit looks, isn’t it? You see ginormous strawberries, oranges, and apples that are so bright and shiny with zero flaws. Genetically modified? Uh, yeah…definitely. Have you seen Food, Inc? If not, you should – everyone should. It really gives you a good picture as to where your food is coming from.

  7. February 28, 2011 9:58 pm

    reminds me of when we had an Alexander Apple Tree in our backyard- in fact they were about double this size! we called them “circus apples” hehe.. they truly were freaks of nature.
    xoxo

  8. squigglefloey permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:11 pm

    Kinda bummed Ashley went home ๐Ÿ˜ฆ No rivalries in my family…because so far, all of us have gone to UCs in california. But if someone ends up going to USC there will be! ( esp. during football season) ๐Ÿ˜›

  9. February 28, 2011 11:16 pm

    I would have bought that apple for the sheer novelty of it. It wouldn’t have been until I was halfway done eating it that it would hit me that something might be weird.

  10. March 1, 2011 6:25 am

    DANG! that is a MASSIVE APPLE! i just bought the BIGGEST bananas too the other day.. fruit is going all supersized on us! Im watching the BAchelor right now ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Momma B permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:28 am

    You know we don’t have any rivalries – we all love ND! Anyway – about apples – I’m having trouble finding organic apples. I heard it is one of the fruits you should def. eat organic. What’s your thought on that? Keep up the blog – love reading it! Love ya!

  12. March 1, 2011 9:41 am

    mmm that soup looks bomb!

  13. March 4, 2011 11:46 am

    WOW that apple is INSANE! Even though you didnt buy it im glad you had a photo shoot with it thats crazy HA
    Your soup looks so delicious as well!

  14. March 20, 2011 6:47 pm

    Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to express my thanks. I have been following your blog for a month or so and have picked up a heap of good information as well as enjoyed the way youโ€™ve structured your site.

Leave a Reply

