Skip to content

My Leg, My Leg, My Leg is on FIRE!

March 1, 2011

So during the last mile of my run yesterday, my left calf started to hurt. I finished the run and foam rolled pretty intensely, but last night the pain was still there. I knew my eight mile training run this morning was a bad idea, so I opted for 45 minutes on the elliptical and 15 on the stairstepper instead.

I was talking to one of the guys that works at my gym while I was stretching and he was giving me tips on how to get my calf back to normal. Among rest, ice, elevation, and compression, he suggested Biofreeze. I’ve never used the stuff before…it seemed really intense and kinda hokey to me. But he brought me a free wipe to try and I just put it on my leg.

And now my leg feels like it is ON FIRE. I mean I know that is the point, but it’s a totally strange sensation! I hope this helps, because it makes me nervous to skip training runs. But I know any running would just make it worse, and uninjured legs are my most prized possession right now.

  • Have you ever used Biofreeze? Does it work?

 

OUTFIT:

This is what I was going to wear yesterday before I found out it was going to be a gross, cold day. But today the high is 60! I’m mixing patterns here, which is something I LOVE but is hard to pull off correctly. Do the stripes on the shirt work with this skirt?

BREAKFAST:

I was soo ready for breakfast when I got to work today. The sunflower seed butter jar is getting low, which means two things:

  1. oats in a jar!
  2. I can open the Sunbutter Jar that the company so nicely sent me:)

 

Back to work! Job right now is compiling the press kits I’ve received fashion bloggers into a spread sheet to help out our social media team. If you have a favorite fashion blog, please pass the URL onto me so I can see if we might be able to work with them!

I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE MY BOYFRIEND THIS WEEKEND! Just had to get that out.

Adios!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 11:10 am

    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE BioFreeze. in fact, some nights, I can’t sleep without it. My massueuse recommended it. A-MA-ZING! And yay for OIAJ! They’re the best!

  2. March 1, 2011 11:44 am

    I just used Biofreeze during my first half marathon on Sunday. My neck and upper back felt sooo tight and uncomfortable that I grabbed some as an after thought at like mile 9 or 10. Boy did it do the trick…it made the pain go away! That was only my neck. I probably would have put it on my calves if I didn’t have long crops on. Hope it works for you!

  3. March 1, 2011 12:41 pm

    I want that wipe! I could use it to wipe across my shoulders right now. Ouch!

  4. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    March 1, 2011 1:06 pm

    Biofreeze is great for relieving pain on the spot. It’s not going to heal an injury, but it will get you through a workout pain-free. Good luck!

  5. March 1, 2011 1:22 pm

    Eeek hope your leg feels better asap! Love the outfit as usual

  6. March 1, 2011 1:29 pm

    My dad uses biofreeze after running, and he swears by it! I’ve used it off and on, when at home…and it’s always a little tingly, but helps ease pain!

  7. Jenny Drake permalink
    March 1, 2011 1:36 pm

    Watch the legs, I got derailed not once but twice at the end of marathon training for shin splints 😦

    fashion blogs I love are LoveMeagan and TheChloeConspiracy/SeeChloeShop. Hope that helps.

  8. March 1, 2011 5:44 pm

    Never used biofreeze before. I hope it works for you though!

  9. squigglefloey permalink
    March 1, 2011 6:30 pm

    Yay! So excited for you and the boy 🙂 What do ya’ll have planned for the wknd? I think I’m going home too before my finals to hang out with my family and boyfriend a bit before super studying begins. should be refreshing 🙂

  10. March 1, 2011 7:25 pm

    I’ve used biofreeze for a few years now, for different issues! LOVEEEEE IT! I’ve had some achilles inflammation for the last few months, and i’ve used the biofreeze and bodyglide’s anti-pain balm! amaaazing stuff!

  11. March 18, 2011 7:59 pm

    Man if i ever saw two racoons fighting over a blogs itd be this one, nicely done my friend. Keep it up.

Trackbacks

  1. Avoiding Burn Out « Fitting It All In
  2. The Marathon Experience: A Look Back « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

