Skip to content

New Food: Collard Greens!

March 1, 2011

Hi Guys!

I got a haircut after work.

About two inches off and trimmed up the side-sweep bangs. I never do anything crazy when I get my haircut. I’m too much of a wimp! One day I’d love to walk in and just say “If you could do anything to my hair to make it look its best, what would it be?” and let them do it. One day…

***************************

Lunch today was the exact same as last night’s dinner – my last Edamame, Mushroom & Kale soup with some added red quinoa. Apple for dessert!

And for dinner I experimented with a new veggie: collard greens! I picked them up at the store yesterday as a break from the usual spinach, but I had no idea how to make them. I decided to just do a rough chop and steam them with some salt and pepper.

Did you know collard greens are one of the best cholesterol-lowering and cancer preventing foods? They are also super high in Vitamins A, C, K, manganese, folate, and calcium. Whole Foods says so.

To go with the collards, I baked some tofu cubs in the same lemon-agave sauce I used last week. I also made a little batch of 1/2 bulgar 1/2 brown rice and tossed in some almonds for healthy fats.

The collards were good! Definitely more on the kale spectrum than the spinach spectrum, but I love all greens and the slight bitterness and little bit of crunch left in these really appealed to me. I’d buy them again in a heartbeat and can’t wait to find more fun ways to prepare them!

I’m icing my calf right now and will probably do some more biofreeze before bed. I think I’m going to try to go to Bikram Yoga tomorrow morning and just not do any postures that aggravate it. I wonder if I need to stay off of it completely though? It’s not that bad, but if a few days of no activity means it heals faster I’d want to do that instead of just easy exercise for a longer period of time.

  • Have you ever had a calf injury? How did you heal it?
  • Have you ever tried collard greens? Any good preparation tips?
13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 7:45 pm

    I used to get the worst charlie horses in my calves during soccer. SO PAINFUL! I got them not matter how much I stretched. I heard that the reason your muscles tense up is due to lack of salt AKA dehydration. When you are dehydrated, it is better to drink liquid that has added salt (gatorade, powerade, etc) in it to replenish you electrolytes.

    Ps. love the haircut, you are gorgeous.

  2. March 1, 2011 8:09 pm

    Collard greens are a huge staple here in NC; however they are almost always prepared with butter and meat = not so healthy. I like to saute them and mix them with barbeque baked beans (or you can use plain beans and add your fave bbq sauce). First, wash and chop the collards into long strips; then saute them with a little oil and some chopped onion. Add your beans and cook until the collards are wilted. It’s yummy 🙂 I also had this recipe bookmarked as an “I need to make this someday” recipe 🙂 http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/cooking-for-real/vegetarian-southern-style-collard-greens-recipe/index.html

  3. March 1, 2011 8:12 pm

    Yes! After moving to NC and everyone raving about collard greens, I had to try them! I sautee mine in olive oil and salt and pepper! I love how dark and flavorful they are, such a powerhouse food!

  4. Emily permalink
    March 1, 2011 8:49 pm

    As much as I hate taking days off and I always resist it when I feel pain, a couple days off really make all the difference! Especially when you have the marathon coming up, a couple days off could make you that much stronger for the marathon. I ran and did yoga on a stretched tendon for a week and all of a sudden it got to the point that I couldn’t even walk without excruciating pain. Take a day off and see how it feels!

    PS- I never comment but I love your blog!

  5. March 1, 2011 8:52 pm

    Ah your haircut is very cute! I always get the same hair cut too, just a trim haha and highlight if need be. My hairs super long too so no one can even tell when I get a trim hahah I am too afraid to try new things with it!

    Bummer about the calf injury, try to not stretch it too much, you might want to try using heat before exercise to loosen up the muscles, and def ice after!

  6. March 1, 2011 9:01 pm

    collard greens are just the most delicious things!! I love them just about any way I can get’em but a favorite way is def steamed!! they get to be such a pretty green toO!

  7. March 1, 2011 11:20 pm

    ah i like the haircut! i’m kinda nuts when it comes to my hair…but i only cut it once every two years since i grow it out all the time for locks of love. everytime it goes short though (like, below the ear!) i let the stylist do whatever they want! i mean hey, it grows back, right? hehe…i remember when i had blue hair too…oh to be young again…

    and i haven’t had collard greens yet. i should try them. i’m sure i’ll get them in my produce box, then i’ll be forced to! yay!

  8. March 2, 2011 1:41 am

    Come on, girl, you are gorgeous, so you’ll pretty much rock any haircut! Next time, just try something a bit bolder if you want…now is the age to do it! You can’t do that when you’re 40! Haha! But that said, love the haircut! 😀

  9. Natalie permalink
    March 2, 2011 7:08 am

    Your hair looks cute! I’ve hurt my calf muscles before. I usually ice, stretch and use ben-gay or some kind of pain-reliever cream. I also find that taking a day or two off of any physical activity helps the injury heal faster too.

  10. mel permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:24 am

    Love you hair! I too am so lame and can’t seem to do much different when I get my hair cut except to trim it up. I used to cut it super short in the summer and I remember always missing my long hair, so now I keep it long! I have never had collard greens and I’m from KY! I just like fresh greens and I’m not a fan of cooked.

  11. mel permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:25 am

    Love your hair*

  12. March 2, 2011 9:42 am

    Recently my calf has been getting REALLY tight when I run. I talked to my old physical therapist about it and he thought it might be tendonitis. I rested for a few days and it’s felt much better lately. He suggested lots of calf & hamstring stretching (I’m bad about stretching!) as well as calf strengthening exercises. Hope you feel better soon!

  13. March 3, 2011 10:12 am

    You could totally rock some fashionable hair. I think trendy haircuts is one of the easiest ways to look super cool. You could pull off the Victoria Beckham, it would be so cute.

Leave a Reply

