Skip to content

TGIM [Thank God It’s March!]

March 1, 2011

March is such a fantastic month, don’t you agree? We’ve got Mardi Gras and St. Patrick’s Day, the first real signs of spring, and what used to be an awesome spring break when I was still in school. Everything is just so much happier!

In college February was the dreaded month. At Notre Dame it is the only month of the year with absolutely no breaks, not to mention that it is usually the snowiest and coldest month that South Bend, IN sees. Lots of themed partyweeks were scheduled for February just to break up the monotony. Yes, day-drinking is the solution to everything.

source

My February, while full of snow storms and long work days, didn’t see an ounce of alcohol before dark 😉 Lots of other fun things happened though!

See, February wasn’t so bad? But I’m super excited for everything March has in store. AND I just found out my boyfriend gets a free flight to St. Louis at the end of the month due to law school scholarship interviews. The month keeps looking better and better!

But the end of a month also means I need to revisit my 2011 goals, and I have this little inkling that I didn’t do too hot. Let’s see…

  1. Eat dinner with my family more: My parents were out of town a lot during February so I feel like I didn’t eat with them much at all. January was definitely better for this goal. Gotta get back on track.
  2. Tell my dad I love him more: For some reason I just can’t bring myself to do this. I think that it seems like it would be changing who I am. Saying “I Love You” has never been something that I do, and it’s so strange to kind of reinvent myself in that way. Any tips?
  3. Visit at least one out of town friend this year: Still planning on seeing Mary Cecilia in Savannah in April!
  4. Successfully complete my first marathon: If I can clear up this nasty calf injury I am right on track for the marathon. Only one really long run left!
  5. Focus more on strength training: I’ve been doing some different arm exercises via assisted pull-up machine and can tell my arms are looking a little more buff 🙂
  6. Pray every day: Still need to work on the days I’m not at  yoga. It’s so easy at yoga during savasana, but I forget on other days.
  7. be the best where I am RIGHT NOW at work: I think I’m doing much better at work, and have even started my own social media project!
  8. Own who I am: Yep. I’m Clare. I really like health and nutrition. And I have a blog.

 

So yeah, things aren’t bad but I didn’t make tons of progress either. Good thing it’s only been 2 months.

  • What’s your favorite thing about March?
  • Are you celebrating Mardi Gras or St. Patrick’s Day?
12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 3:19 pm

    number 8 is my fav!! AGREED! on the telling your dad i love you thing.. it might help to like slide it in with a joke kind of thing.. like if he makes a joke be like ‘hahahah omg dad i love you’ and then he will hear it and then you can be like.. ‘no i rly do- you rock!’ something causal but that gets the message across. and thenitll be easier to tell him since you would have already!- okay maybe that was bad advice? idk it works for me!!

  2. March 1, 2011 3:48 pm

    march is looking good for you girl! i’m excited for you for the boyfriend to come visit! and you’ll kill it on your marathon! make sure you find time for fuuuuuuuuuuuuun!

  3. March 1, 2011 4:00 pm

    Whoa girl, just wrote a blog about March and goals, too! Great minds!!
    My fav thing about March is that the weather warms up and the days “get longer”, with more daylight!

  4. March 1, 2011 5:02 pm

    I love March, too! I also love your goals for the year – especially 6, 7 and 8. I pray throughout the day – but definitely on runs and when I get in bed at night. Just remember – prayer doesn’t have to be formal! I just talk to God. 🙂

  5. March 1, 2011 5:07 pm

    i’m gonna set some goals for this month and i’m gonna stick to them! i neeeeed to!!! hopefully i’ll have them up tonight!

    i love the one about visiting friends. def gonna be on mine too!

  6. March 1, 2011 5:53 pm

    March is one of my favorite months! Mainly because my family is super Irish and we don’t joke about St. Patrick’s Day 🙂 I feel weird saying “I love you” to my Dad, too. But that changed when my best friends lost their dad about a month ago. I don’t say “I love you” but I say “Love ya, Dad” – it rolls off the tongue much easier 😉

  7. March 1, 2011 6:13 pm

    my favorite thing about march is it’s the month I got married in. Can’t wait til the 13th! It’s my 1-year anniversary! This has definitely been the happiest year of my life :D.

  8. March 1, 2011 6:41 pm

    I’m taking the whole month off….looking forward to that! Aloha:)

  9. March 1, 2011 7:09 pm

    Amen girl! Thank goodness for March. I love your goals too. Great things to focus on always but especially at the beginning of a new month.

  10. mel permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:18 pm

    hey claire! Try telling your dad you love him through a little note, like a post it. My dad and I do it all the time. I always write “I love you dad. have a good day!!”. Simple and sweet. I think its so important to tell the ones you love how much you love and care for them b/c you never know how long you will you have and you want no regrets! I’m a sap! xoxo

    • squigglefloey permalink
      March 1, 2011 8:50 pm

      this is a good idea! for me it was easier to start saying it to my dad through e-mails. hahaha. lame, but it’s a start.

  11. March 3, 2011 10:13 am

    You don’t have to say the words “I love you” to really let someone know what they mean to you. It’s corny to say, but actions speak louder than words. Plus you can say other things that mean just as much, like “thanks for being such a great dad” and “I don’t know what I’d do without you”.

Leave a Reply

