Skip to content

Bloggie Trends You Just Aren’t Into

March 2, 2011

Hey-yo! I just finished up my lunch — just leftovers from last night and an apple.

I think I liked it more today than yesterday!

Anyway, all the new socca and chickpea flour recipes lately have got me thinking about how many new foods the blog world has exposed me to.

I mean I’ve gotten into Green Monsters…

Chia Seeds…

Peanut Flour…

Savoury Oats…

and even Buckwheat!

And while I love trying new foods, sometimes I feel silly for spending the money on expensive ingredients that I don’t need. I have a hard time deciding what to try and what to skip — the chickpea flour right now is one of those things!

  • Are there any food trends you just can’t get on board with?

For me it’s coconut oil and Kombucha. The coconut oil is because I got sick after drinking a virgin pina colada once and have avoided coconut ever since. The Kombucha just freaks me out and I have an aversion to drinking my calories (except in the form of smoothie or alcohol 😉 ). I’d probably like it though!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. lauravirginia permalink
    March 2, 2011 2:02 pm

    I am with you on Kombucha! I tried it after seeing it around the blogosphere but I was NOT a fan. It tasted like fruity vinegar. Blech!

  2. March 2, 2011 2:13 pm

    There are so many blog trends that are not for me. I definitely agree on the Kombucha but I also find no need for peanut flour and chia seeds. I don’t plan on buying anymore once I’ve used up my batch. I love green monsters though!

  3. March 2, 2011 2:46 pm

    I can’t get into chia seeds!

  4. March 2, 2011 2:52 pm

    I’d skip the Kombucha too. It’s gross. I mean, I want to like it (because it seem good for me, and the benefits yadda yadda) but it tastes too fermented to me. Like it’s spoiled. Blech.

    I don’t have any desire to get into the chickpea or socca flours. I have too much in my head as it is as far as ingredient substitutions and whatnot, and I don’t have the room (or time) to figure out how to sub those flours into my already favorite recipes. And if I buy it for just ONE recipe, that seems like a waste to me.

    Things I have gotten into, Flax seed, and flax seed meal, different nut butters, green monsters…
    Things I want to try, chia seeds, and peanut flour (there are tons more, but those are off teh top of my head)!!

  5. March 2, 2011 3:24 pm

    I know this might earn me a look of scorn from healthy bloggers, but I really can’t get into edamame. It’s not awful – but I’m not on board with all the hype. But there are SO many good foods/recipes I’ve learned about via the blog world!

  6. March 2, 2011 3:40 pm

    Interesting questions! Haha, I think I know what you mean 😛 I’ve never really been interested in drinks, so Kombucha would be one of them. All I drink is tea, coffee, and water! 😀

  7. March 2, 2011 4:00 pm

    ALL OF THE ABOVE! minus chia seeds- havent found those here yet!!!
    ALSO nut butters besides pb.. i never ever had had almond, cashew etc! agreed- drinking calories= pointless BESIDES alcohol becuz you get a warm fuzzy feeling

  8. March 2, 2011 5:28 pm

    Ive never had luck with chickpea flour!

  9. March 2, 2011 5:42 pm

    I like the taste of kombucha, but not the price! I probably have one every few months. One trends I can’t get on board with is coconut butter. I just don’t think I’d ever use it if I bought it!

  10. March 2, 2011 5:50 pm

    I feel the same way about kombucha. I hate drinking my calories, unless it’s at a night out at the bar haha!

  11. March 2, 2011 6:12 pm

    “The Kombucha just freaks me out and I have an aversion to drinking my calories (except in the form of smoothie or alcohol 😉 ).” <- I could not have said it better myself!

  12. March 2, 2011 6:19 pm

    I haven’t tried kombucha either but probably would if I came across some…

    Besides that, there haven’t been any other trendy blog foods I’ve tried that I haven’t liked!

    I’m glad you tried a buckwheat bake recently. I made one a few weeks back and really liked it :D. Ashley’s so smart for dreaming that recipe up.

  13. March 2, 2011 6:28 pm

    I don’t really try out a lot of blog trends because their blog trends. My sister is a med student vegan and usually brings these things into my life and she never reads blogs. So I find out about health benefits that way. I used chia seeds long before I ever even knew about the blog world and I’ve always been obsessed with nut butters. But other than that sometimes the amount of substitutes can really add up cost wise.

  14. March 2, 2011 11:48 pm

    I was once a raw vegan but it was sooooooo $$$$. Raw almond butter is easily over $20 a jar on Maui. Virgin coconut butter…same. Raw cocoa, mega doses of greens, any super food, dates, raw agave, you name it….insane! I read raw vegan blogs all the time and I’m always wondering how they afford to make these delicious looking treats. I tried to make a raw cake once and it cost me over $35 to do so. Anyway….I’m just saying. 🙂

  15. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    March 3, 2011 6:57 am

    Not a blog trend, but I can’t get into quinoa. Yuck. I do like chia seeds. They’re just fun. I put them in coconut water. I’m sure this is what a lot of people don’t like about them, but I like how they get slimy on the outside the longer they’re in there 🙂

  16. Victoria permalink
    March 3, 2011 10:56 am

    You silly people. Half a bottle of Kombucha is 30 calories… that’s all I drink. Versus the same amount of juice… is about 150 calories. I have an eating disorder so now I just feel bad about the “extra liquid calories.”

Trackbacks

  1. It Ain’t Chickpea Flour, But… « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

