Skip to content

It Ain’t Chickpea Flour, But…

March 2, 2011

It is a chickpea burger! I mentioned in my last post that I’m undecided on whether or not to try the chickpea flour that’s so popular right now, and I guess it got me craving chickpeas. I saw that Angela raved about her Falafel burgers the other day, so onto the menu they went!

Luckily I had everything I needed, with the exception of kamut flour (used whole wheat) and paprika (omitted).

 

chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, carrots, onion, garlic, lemon juice, flour, cumin, salt & pepper

 

The process was super easy because everything went into the food processor. The only other things I needed were a 375 preheated oven and a baking sheet.

First I chopped the carrots, onion, and garlic:

Next I dumped in a can of rinsed chickpeas along with the olive oil, tahini, lemon juice, cumin, and salt and gave it a whirl:

(ps: realized I love the taste of tahini on it’s own! I’d been wondering ever since I saw Heather use it as a condiment!)

Last to mix in was the flour, and then I dug in with my hands to form the mixture into 6 patties. It was pretty goopy.

These went into the oven for 20 minutes, were flipped, then baked for another 10 minutes. They came out perfectly and were much more firm than I had expected.

I topped mine with a little natural ketchup and put it on a sandwich thin. To round out the meal I had some steamed sugar snap peas and a sliced red pepper.

The spice factor of the burgers wasn’t extremely intense, which is probably why Angela added paprika, but these were really really good. I was excited to get a break from the black beans normally used in veggie burgers. They totally had that Greek flavor I was looking for — if you like falafel you’ll love these! And with all the protein, veggies, and healthy fat it is a great burger to have on hand in the freezer for last minute meals.

If any actually make it to the freezer. I ate a second patty by itself after dinner.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 7:55 pm

    Yum! Those look great! I need to buy a food processor like yesterday. Making my own bean burgers sounds like so much fun!

  2. March 2, 2011 8:22 pm

    Haha – nothing like a falafel patty for dessert…hope you dipped it in some tahini. 😉

    Aren’t food processors the best?!? Not sure what I’d do without mine.

  3. March 2, 2011 10:23 pm

    These sound great! Anything with a Greek flavor and I’m down!

  4. March 3, 2011 12:26 am

    Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

  5. March 3, 2011 12:33 am

    The minute I saw that post I started craving some falafel! Haha they look delicious!!

  6. March 3, 2011 7:46 am

    Those look great! I think adding paprika would be good too – I love anything with lots of spice 🙂

  7. March 3, 2011 8:05 am

    Those look delish! Good to know that they hold together well. You should try tahini on oats maybe with some honey or chocolate like HEAB does. Sounds strange, but it’s one of my favorites.

Trackbacks

  1. Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

