Skip to content

Wheels Are Spinning Again…

March 3, 2011

Are you guys sick of hearing the crazy decision making processes that go on in my mind? I hope not.

Today I tried out running on my bum calf with an easy 3 miles. I felt fantastic throughout the whole run, but am just very very slightly sore right now. After the run I did 15 minutes on the elliptical and some light abs, arms, and legs machines.

But while I was getting ready I started thinking more about my scheduled 13 miler this weekend. All of my girlfriends are planning their get together for Saturday morning (Mardi Gras) and it sounds SO FUN. I really don’t want to miss out (even though it’s supposed to be 40 and raining. Yuck.)

Anyway, I was thinking that I could maybe try to do my run tomorrow after work instead of Saturday morning. That way I would still be able to hang out with Alex Friday night and get up early for all the fun on Saturday! Problem is I don’t want to run on my leg too soon.  Not that waiting another 14 hours will make a huge different, but I know it would be best to wait until Saturday morning. I’m thinking I’m going to have to just start out and see how far I can get without pain anyway and so might not make it the whole 13. Or I could just skip the run completely if I’m still a little sore.

GAH decisions decisions! My wheels are constantly spinning.

OUTFIT:

Contrary to Saturday’s forecast, today is supposed to be a springy 60 degrees. I decided to pull out one of my favorite springy tunic dresses for the occassion. It’s seriously cruel to have it be nice when I’m sitting inside and freezing cold when I’m supposed to be at an outdoor party all day.

 

 

Left a quick Operation Beautiful note at the gym!

BREAKFAST:

I have just enough sunflower seed butter left for tomorrow’s oats, then it’ll be OAIJ time!

  • What’s one topic that always keeps your brain occupied?

Aside from the running, I’m always thinking about what I want to make for dinner!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Her Brother permalink
    March 3, 2011 11:10 am

    2 topics that always keeps my brain occupied are baseball and Charlie Sheen. I got a 15 out of 18 on the quiz. I am a vatican assassin warlock.

    http://www.aggrogate.com/2011/02/charlie-sheen-ultimate-warrior/

  2. March 3, 2011 11:14 am

    My mind is always pretty much on school and what I wanna bake/cook next, haha.

  3. Brandi permalink
    March 3, 2011 11:45 am

    I have the same exact tunic from Forever 21!!! Looooooooove! I have that blue one and the same one in black. Im curious to know how you wear it in the spring/summer without the tights?

  4. March 3, 2011 12:05 pm

    Love your new haircut, I just got mine cut too on Tuesday and for sure had that moment of “where did it all go?!” when i woke up the next morning.

    As someone who frequently has injuries and still trains, I would say go for it! If you are hurting through the run, then stop. But I think you should give it a go that way you can still have fun over the weekend. You’ll feel much better if you attempt it rather than not at all.

    Some things that always keep my brain occupied is what I want to bake again and how I can do it without making a mess and angering my mom haha.

  5. March 3, 2011 12:13 pm

    Sadly, one thing that is always on my mind is cancer. I know, depressing, right? But it’s always on my mind…I think it’s pretty normal for a cancer patient though. I am constantly thinking about making sure I’m getting the right amount of exercise, and eating the things I should in order to decrease my chances of a recurrence. I’m young and I’ve got a lot of years left to live and a lot to live FOR, so beating breast cancer forever has become my new passion; helping other young women [as we are so rare to find] get through a breast cancer diagnosis is also a passion of mine.

    That tunic is so cute! The first thing I thought of when I saw your picture was, “Cinderella!” I guess because of the pretty blue color;-)

  6. March 3, 2011 12:29 pm

    FOOD! I constantly am thinking about the next meal I’m going to fix. =)

    Oh, and I saw an article that made me think of you and the anti-banana person you had a run in with:
    http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/bananas-the-ultimate-hunger-buster-2456998/

  7. Kate permalink
    March 3, 2011 12:44 pm

    What doesn’t occupy my mind? I think about EVERYTHING…food takes up quite a big chunk of it though!

    Love your dress 🙂

  8. March 3, 2011 1:26 pm

    Since I’m still in school, I’m constantly thinking about my schedule — when I’ll workout/see my bf/see friends/do homework,blah,blah. And cupcakes, of course!

  9. March 3, 2011 1:34 pm

    I am constantly thinking about TIME! Like: what time I need to leave to get to _____, what time I need to go to bed in order to get ___ hours of sleep, how many minutes until _____ happens! I’m a little OCD about using my time efficiently!

    I vote for do your run tomorrow, but BE CAREFUL! Like you said, if it hurts, stop! You’re not bound to this training plan; make it work for you, like you’ve done already by moving week’s runs around to work with YOUR schedule!! I hope your calf feels better. 😦

  10. March 3, 2011 2:40 pm

    That is such a great colour on you!!

  11. Lindsey permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:28 pm

    Can you do the 13 miles on Monday after work? If I were you I would NOT risk running it tomorrow. If you are slightly sore after just 3 miles, imagine how you are going to feel after 13!! I would just hate to see all your hard training down the drain for this tiny injury that could become a major injury. No, waiting 14 hours won’t make a difference but waiting until Monday will. I don’t know, just something to consider…

  12. March 3, 2011 3:37 pm

    I’m assuming your 13 mi is a “step back” week long run? Now is the time to recover and let your muscles recover from all the micro-tears and stuff from high mileage weeks.

    What I would do: If sore at all, skip it. Elliptical lightly and/or walk to get some time on your legs, but don’t run. If not sore at all and raring to go (body, not mind, my mind always wants to run!), run easy 7-10, providing there’s no pain the entire time.

    Err on the side of caution, friend! Most of the marathon challenge is getting to the start line in one piece!

    Wise advice from a friend that I try to take to heart: Make your training fit into your life. Don’t make your life fit into your training.

  13. March 3, 2011 3:37 pm

    I would try tomorrow or Monday if I was you..training is important but you dont want to miss out on such a big weekend with your friends and boyfriend! Im switching my long runs to friday this week and possibly next week too

  14. March 3, 2011 3:38 pm

    PS. My “nagging calf soreness” turned into tendinopathy and two stress fractures which left me out of two marathons and 6 months of training for recovery and then physical therapy. Sad times being injured…

  15. March 3, 2011 3:51 pm

    Don’t let running get in the way of your real life. I spent a few years completely obsessed with training & working out, and my relationships suffered dearly. If this Mardi Gras get together is as big a deal to you as it sounds like it is, I vote do what you can Friday night – maybe your calf will surprise you!

    I know when it starts getting down to the wire in training, I get overly paranoid of all small little pains. You’re putting your body through a lot, but I bet it’s tougher than you think it is!

  16. March 3, 2011 3:53 pm

    LOVE that outfit so much! And my wheels are constantly spinning too… makes it hard to sleep at night! I think about everything from food to people that I keep meaning to email/write letters to to what classes I should register for next semester.
    I hope you get to enjoy Mardi Gras!

  17. March 3, 2011 4:05 pm

    i think you should go out and see what feels right! if you dnt do the whole 13- its OKAY!! a few miles wont make a difference, but at leas you got some running in, right?

    hmm I am ALWAYS thinking about peanut butter- ahhh so blissful

  18. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    March 3, 2011 6:38 pm

    So glad your calf is getting better!

  19. March 3, 2011 7:10 pm

    ah, i think that if the run isn’t absolutely necessary (you won’t lose your endurance because your’e doing other things) you might want to skip it so you can fully heal. better to wait than to push through the pain is my motto!

    and i’m always thinking about breakfast for the next morning…even as i’m eating breakfast. haha!

  20. March 3, 2011 7:28 pm

    girl don’t stress about your run! in 5 years you’ll remember a great night out with the girls not a run 🙂 so give your calf a rest and get in some good old fun!

  21. squigglefloey permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:01 pm

    I’m constantly thinking about articles I can write and people I can interview — and interesting concepts that I can be creative with. Being a journalist is annoying! (sometimes) 😛
    I love those tights on you btw!

  22. Natalie permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:41 am

    Might be a little late on this post, but if you still feel sore, is there any way you can push the run back? (Or just do like 8 miles instead of pushing it to 13?) I don’t think skipping ONE training run is going to hurt you, especially since you are already so active. You don’t want to risk getting hurt even more. Anyway – cute tunic!! Also I’m constantly thinking about what I’m going to eat for dinner, and I’m thinking about how I’m going to plan my workouts, etc.

Leave a Reply

