Skip to content

Life Comes First

March 4, 2011

I need to thank those of you that gave me such great advice about when and how to complete my run this weekend. I was way too caught up in my training to realize that my life comes first. I needed to make marathon training fit into my life, not the other way around. Isn’t this blog about finding ways to fit it all in anyway?

So yes, thank you for snapping me back into reality. I needed it!

source

Needless to say, I decided to get my long run for the week over with after work today so that I have the entire day free tomorrow to spend with my friends at Mardi Gras. And what’s even better is that I was able to complete the entire 13 mile run PAIN FREE! Right now my calf just feels like I ran 13 miles on it, no real pain. WOOOO! I ran at an easy, steady pace and finished in around 117 minutes.

Sometimes I wonder how I became a girl that runs half marathons after work. It boggles my mind.

*********************************

After my run I picked up my traditional Crazy Bowls and Wraps for dinner. I was going to introduce Alex to my favorite dinner spot, but he was with friends getting ready to go out in the city already so it would have been a little ridiculous to go pick him up just to let him try a rice bowl 🙂

They totally gypped me on veggies tonight so I added some of my own broccoli and edamame. But the rice was chewy and coated in the jalepeno cilantro sauce and it was just as delicious as ever. MMMM I wish you guys could try this place!

I’m not sure what my plans are for the night. It’s such an early morning tomorrow, but Alex and his friends still want to go out pretty hard tonight! Not a good idea for me but I may stop by to say hi. Or I may stay in and rest up, especially since there are torrential storms and tornado warnings outside. Who knows. All I know is tomorrow = FUN DAY and I’m so glad you guys helped me realize I should make my friendships and fun a priority!

 

  • Have you ever been so engrossed in something that you forgot about actually living?
  • Are you celebrating Mardi Gras?

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 9:04 pm

    I’m glad your run went well with no pain! So encouraging!

    Have fun celebrating tomorrow! 🙂

  2. March 4, 2011 9:23 pm

    So true about fitting training into life. I’m terrible with that, I feel like everything I do revolves around training recently great job on the run, especially after a full day at work

  3. March 4, 2011 10:29 pm

    Good for you for freeing up your weekend for fun! 🙂 I hope you had/have a great time!

  4. March 5, 2011 4:46 am

    um huge yes to forgetting about life. not because I was engrossed in mardi gras of course 🙂

  5. March 5, 2011 6:01 am

    100% yes to getting too engrossed in something to forget about life. I’m in grad school full time, working part time and planning a wedding all at once. I’ve just been so focused on what “needs to get done” that I haven’t been enjoying things the way I should be. Cory and I just talked about it last night! I think my head’s in the right place now 🙂 Thanks for posting this – it makes me feel more normal!

  6. March 5, 2011 6:16 am

    YES YES i totally understand how you can get sucked into something while life is just floating around you- so happy you have found that balance! and congrats on doing all 13!!!!!! that is seriously impressive! i wish i had the stamina to do that…..!

  7. March 5, 2011 8:50 am

    Oh man, I miss Mardi Gras! I grew up in Mississippi, so we went to some of the more family-friendly things…it’s a shame I never got to experience all the full-blown festivities. Some day, though 😉

  8. March 5, 2011 10:43 am

    yayyyy so glad you decided to do your life thang up! exercise should ALWAYS come second to fun haha because fun IS exercise in a really cool way 🙂 enjoy your weekend girl and have LOTS of fun!

  9. March 5, 2011 11:58 am

    so so glad to hear the run went well!! great news!!!

    and i always forget life comes first…i need to work on that!

  10. March 5, 2011 2:33 pm

    nice work braving this weather & celebrating Mardi Gras! Hope you’re having a blast!!

    & btw i love crazy bowls & wraps! there’s one close to my place in the cwe & you’re making me crave some!

Trackbacks

  1. The Marathon Experience: A Look Back « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

