Skip to content

What I Recall of Mardi Gras 2011

March 6, 2011

Alternate title for this post: what happens when a girl that rarely drinks decides to run 13 miles and then start drinking at 9am the next day.

***********************************

It’s really hard to write a post about a day that you only vaguely recall. Yesterday was a bit of a mess. I’ll start from the beginning.

I arrived at my friend Maddie’s house around 9, egg muffins in tow, and the rest of the girls slowly trickled in.

My own breakfast actually looked like this:

except add one more egg muffin, tortilla chips, a teeny slice of pecan cake and some beer. Because yes, we started drinking at 9 am. It happened to be Maddie’s birthday and I remembered to bring a candle for her! I just forgot to get it out until she was halfway done with her breakfast.

Luckily she has some better friends that brought her a real cake, so her birthday celebration looked more like this:

Anywho, it was so fun hanging out with the girls all morning. Apparently someone has said about us “when those girls get together they act like alcohol was just invented”. A compliment? I think yes.

We took our traditional picture in front of Maddie’s fireplace (ignore Molly in the green πŸ˜‰ ) before heading to our first stop – a private party at a bar thrown by a high school friend.

We hung out at the party for a bit, but were itching to get to Soulard and so took the first shuttle downtown to where the action is. Unfortunately it was freezing cold outside, so hanging out in the streets wasn’t a good option. We choose a bar called The Great Grizzly that only had a $10 cover (woo!) and continued our celebration there…

Unfortunately way too much alcohol mixed with massive crowds and terrible cell phone service meant that a few hours later I ended up alone. My cell phone was almost dead because trying to get service used up so much battery, and I was kind of frantic and upset. I couldn’t find my girlfriends anywhere, had no idea where Alex was, and just wanted to go home. I called my dad and tried to explain to him where I was, but then my phone died and I decided my best bet was just to hop in a cab.

I was in tears at this point because I knew my dad was driving around looking for me and because I hated that my day got cut short. The cab driver proved to be a great listener πŸ™‚ When I got home I just vented to my mom and dad as I sat on the counter crying my eyes out. I charged my phone and called my girlfriend who explained a few of them had left to go to another bar and had no idea I was alone. It was by no means intentional, I just wish it hadn’t happened!

When my parents suggested going out to dinner I took them up on it. We went to a really cool place called Milagro Modern Mexican where I had half of a huge vegetarian burrito and proceeded to order two rounds of margaritas for my dad and I. Because when you’re in drunken hysterics the solution is tequila. I have absolutely no idea what I talked to my parents about during dinner, but I do recall getting shushed for talking too loudly. I am so embarrassing. I also made my parents to take me to get frozen yogurt afterward. And I was loovingg the brownie bite toppings.

The next thing I knew it was 12:30am and my mom woke me up telling me I needed to go up to my room instead of sleeping on the couch all night. So yeah. It was quite a day.

*******************************************

This morning began with eating the second half of my burrito in my bed at 7am, and food hasn’t really stopped entering my body since. I’m insatiable the day after I drink. Alex and I did get to spend the day together which was nice, but he’s headed back to Florida and I miss him already.

I’ll leave you with a little video I made yesterday. Just my girlfriends, being crazy and reppin’ the blog.

What’s the craziest party you’ve ever been to? Any Vegas, New Orleans, 21st Birthday or Bachelorette stories?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 7:17 pm

    Haha sounds like a blast!!

  2. March 6, 2011 7:24 pm

    Sounds like an awesome day!! These crazy days, and drunkenly ordering more rounds of drinks, are so necessary once in a while. I love the video “We’re fitting it all in!!!!” HAhah, so good!

  3. March 6, 2011 7:32 pm

    Haha I love this post! I’ve definitely had those dinners with my parents too and those days that just end in a mess for no reason.

  4. March 6, 2011 7:39 pm

    haha that video is cute. Your friends look fun πŸ™‚ Also, I want that recipe for those eggie muffins! They look delishie.

  5. March 6, 2011 7:55 pm

    Haha sounds like a typical day drinking celebration! I posted about missing out on unofficial on Friday which has alwayd been my version of mardi gras..next weekend we have having a big post mardi gras party and Saturday is the big Chicago St Patricks day celebration so Im sure my post next weekend will be similar to this!

  6. March 6, 2011 8:32 pm

    Oh gosh, I’ve definitely had nights like that! You’re so lucky your parents were cool about it. Mine go crazy when I’m even a little bit drunk haha!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    March 6, 2011 9:18 pm

    Aww I’m sorry you had a poopy experience there. Luckily, it seemed to turn itself around, right?! Hope you’re feelin’ better girl πŸ™‚

  8. March 6, 2011 9:42 pm

    I have had the exact same thing happen to me with getting lost in big crowds and not knowing where your friends are. That and your phone dying? Terrible combination. But at least you had fun and it sounds like overall it was a good day. So funny that you continued drinking with your parents and got shushed for talking too loudly. I always feel like I talk too loudly and too much when I’ve had a drink or two!

  9. March 6, 2011 9:51 pm

    Awe! I hate that you were “lost”! That’s happened to me before and it’s the worst! But it sounds like you had fun with the parents πŸ™‚ I rarely drink and I swear, it’s so embarrassing when I have one drink and start to feel tipsy. Oh well – guess I’m a cheaper date than I used to be πŸ™‚

  10. March 6, 2011 11:34 pm

    oh man, what a weekend! glad you got home safe!

  11. March 7, 2011 12:43 am

    BAHAHAHA! Best story ever. Period. Loved every detail. How come it never fails that once you get separated from the group your phone won’t work, you can’t get reception, the battery dies, or you lose it. And you spend the rest of the night in a drunken hysteria trying to figure out exactly where you are, how the hell you’re gonna get home, and why the bartender won’t give you another drink! Glad you had fun, and made it home safe! Time to hydrate!

  12. March 7, 2011 2:59 am

    Haha love the video! And that sucks you got separated from your friends, I would have been soo panicked! I was in a mardi gras crowd Saturday night too and was SO scared even with my friends! Hey at least you got some awesome mexican food out of it. Glad you survived!! πŸ™‚

  13. March 7, 2011 7:02 am

    WOAH crazy day!! sorry it didnt go quite as planned but it stil looks fun from the video!!.. im so INSATIABLE after i drink… that happened to me last weekend and i was eating nonstop.!!!!!! the house parties here are pretty darn crazy.. id say those are the winners!

  14. March 7, 2011 7:37 am

    Ahaha! Love that video. That totally sucks that your day got ruined like that 😦 I laughed when I read “I got sushed for talking too loudly.” Whenever I drink, Cory says “You’re using your Vodka voice, Colleen..”

  15. Jillian permalink
    March 7, 2011 10:33 am

    Who is that awesome person in the background of your video having a dance off??

  16. March 7, 2011 7:54 pm

    Sounds like a great day, even though it might have been a little rough when you were left at the bar!! Days like that make for really great stories after the fact, though…I have plenty of them myself πŸ™‚ haha

  17. March 7, 2011 8:50 pm

    Haha, you guys are awesome. Glad you made the time to enjoy the day πŸ™‚

    My BFF’s bachelorette last May was ridiculously crazy…i’ll never know why she held it on a Thursday night though. I still have yet to forgive her for that horribly hung over Friday at work!

Trackbacks

  1. OOINSSBJ! « Fitting It All In
  2. Laissez Le Bon Temps Rouler! « Fitting It All In
  3. The Best Day Of The Year « Fitting It All In
  4. I Swear I’m Not A Stalker « Fitting It All In
  5. Dinner With Dad « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

