Skip to content

OOIASSBJ!

March 7, 2011

That would be “Overnight Oats In A Sunflower Seed Butter Jar!”

Since I just about finished my Trader Joe’s Sunflower Seed Butter jar last week, it was time to make this happen. Traditionally Oats In A Jar is made with hot oatmeal poured into a waning jar to melt remaining contents, but I really prefer the cold chewy thickness of overnight oats in this situation.

Last night I combined 1 container of Oikos 0% plain with 1 teaspoon chia seeds, and a little bit of water, stevia, and vanilla. I mixed in 1/3 cup raw oats, poured it in the jar, and sliced half a banana on top. This morning it was chilled and creamy, perfect to be scooped out with the remaining sunflower seed butter on the sides of the jar. SUCH a fun breakfast to eat! Have you tried this yet?

Prior to breakfast I hit the gym for a 5 mile speed work run, some abs, and some arms. Let me tell you that Monday mornings are WAY easier when you have had a restful weekend. I still don’t feel all that great –my stomach just can’t handle that kind of stuff anymore! But I’m glad you all liked the recap and video 🙂

OUTFIT:

Goal for today was nothing tight around my stomach. It just hurts 😦

 

But the show must go on! Time to get back on track and leave last weekend in the memory books. (Ha, or lack of memory books). Hope you guys have a great start to the week!

  • Have you had Oats In A Jar?
21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 10:18 am

    i like the pictures you take of yourself in front of the mirror

    cheers

  2. March 7, 2011 10:23 am

    OIAJ are the bomb dig. So easy…get up and go!! I really like your boots, to where did you purchase those babies?

  3. March 7, 2011 10:26 am

    I’ve never had them, but I do have a practically empty PB jar in my cabinet waiting for me. Feel better!!

  4. March 7, 2011 10:36 am

    I absolutely LOVE OIAJ! One of my favorites 🙂

  5. March 7, 2011 10:55 am

    I’ve sadly only made OIAJ once, it was amazing, but I have a special ability to practically lick my peanut butter jar clean so the jar would basically just be like a clean bowl 🙂

  6. Kate permalink
    March 7, 2011 11:09 am

    Love, love, love OIAJ! Had them for breakfast this morning, actually 🙂

  7. March 7, 2011 11:21 am

    I am obsessed with OIAJ. It’s bittersweet – it means the end of my peanut butter, but I get one of my favorite breakfasts 🙂 Good thing I always make sure to have enough PB on hand! Have a fantastic Monday!

  8. March 7, 2011 11:40 am

    I haven’t tried overnight oats in a jar…as soon as I almost-finish a jar of nut butter, I will have to try it!

    I hate those days when you need elastic-waisted pants/skirt to survive the day. Ugh! Hope you’re feeling better!

  9. March 7, 2011 1:34 pm

    I have a slight problem with the OIAJ idea… when I eat pb, I go down the sides of the jar little by little, leaving the walls of the jar clean. haaa… maybe I just need a pb intervention? 😉

  10. March 7, 2011 1:50 pm

    ah hah! i guessed right- dang im proud!
    ahah i have never had oats in a jar! my jars are too small for my big batch of oats!! and secretly i like saving the big glob of pb for last. .hehe

  11. March 7, 2011 2:48 pm

    Too funny- I JUST finished eating OIAJ! I prefer cold overnight oats too. Tried it with hot once and it just was not the same!

  12. March 7, 2011 4:06 pm

    oats in a jar = so good.
    I’m so glad to find someone else who eats Sunflower Seed butter!! Mostly people don’t eat it but I think it just might be my favorite. Have you tried soy nut butter?

  13. March 7, 2011 4:44 pm

    I have never tried OIAJ before..sounds yummy!

  14. Lettuce Choose Healthy permalink
    March 7, 2011 5:52 pm

    i’ve had OOIAJ but never OOIASSBJ! love your outfit!

  15. March 7, 2011 6:06 pm

    I love OIAJ! I didn’t expect to like the overnight oats in a jar as much as hot oats, but the doughiness makes it so much better.

  16. March 7, 2011 6:14 pm

    always love your outfits!! (i accidentally typed “oat” fits first haha) and LOVE OIAJ!!! glad you are doing well my love!

  17. March 7, 2011 6:48 pm

    I LOVE oats in a jar. I just did that with a jar of Naturally More and the Sunflower Seed Butter. It’s just fun to scrape all of the yummy nut butter off of the sides. Mmmmm….

  18. March 7, 2011 7:29 pm

    I did 5 miles of speedwork too! And I havent done tr overnight oats thing yet because I only have instant oatmeal and I heard it doesnt work well?! Have you tried it?

  19. March 7, 2011 7:49 pm

    i’m actually not a fan of the cold oats! i guess i just like the hot ones! warms up the body!

  20. March 7, 2011 9:03 pm

    I was definitely staring at the title trying to figure out exactly what it was before i read on.. i failed hahah 🙂

Leave a Reply

