Skip to content

Laissez Le Bon Temps Rouler!

March 8, 2011

Let The Good Times Roll!

Did you know that in Ireland, England, Australia, and Canada Mardi Gras is actually called “Pancake Tuesday” or “Pancake Day”? Prince William and Kate Middleton flipped pancakes on their visit to Northern Ireland this morning.

source

 

In Iceland the day is known as “Sprengidagur” (Bursting day) and is celebrated by eating salt meat and peas.

In Estonia it is called Vastlapäev. Families go sledding and eat split pea and ham soup. A toy is made from the ham bone by tying the bone to a string and spinning it around to make a whistling noise. There is a tale told that if you cut your hair on this day, it will grow fast and thick for the next year!

And of course here in the U.S.A people celebrate Fat Tuesday with beignets and King Cake. Did you get the baby today?

source

source

 

I on the other hand indulged my sweet tooth today by having Annie’s Chocolate Chip Bunny Grams as a snack. Something about these will not be allowed in my Lenten diet. Can you guess?

source

 

And dinner was a psuedo-stir fry. I had a frozen asparagus stir fry mix that I added cubed tofu and a couple leftover white beans too. The sauce was made out of Braggs Liquid Aminos, ginger/garlic stir fry mince, a curry paste, olive oil, and vinegar. It was completely random but ended up being pretty good!

Served over brown rice. This definitely had zero New Orleans influence, but I think I celebrated enough on Saturday to last me a while.

 

  • Did you enjoy any sweets today for Mardi Gras?

 

*Source of Mardi Gras info

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 7:59 pm

    Wow, “fat tuesday” is so interesting around the world!

    I had two dum dum suckers (both root beer, my fav), and a piece of hershey’s dark chocolate with almonds! No donuts for me…I overdid fat Tuesday in college with years of countless paczkis, and I’m not much of a donut girl, now!

  2. March 8, 2011 8:01 pm

    Yes! A large softserve frozen yogurt with rainbow sprinkles and chocolate chips after surfing 🙂 Not a usual for me but it was awesome!

  3. March 8, 2011 9:41 pm

    I love your stir fry! I actually have a full bottle of Bragg’s but haven’t used it yet!

  4. March 8, 2011 9:43 pm

    I completely forgot it was Fat Tuesday! I didn’t realize until tonight! I’m behind the times haha. I may or may not have snuck a couple of Thin Mints after dinner 🙂

  5. March 8, 2011 10:33 pm

    I actually did know that because yesterday (today is Wednesday here in Sydney) I proclaimed, “It’s Fat Tuesday!” and everyone just stared at me blankly. Ha!

  6. March 9, 2011 6:30 am

    omg i dont even know what any of this sutff is.. yesss we had pancake day yesterday!! but i didnt know it had to do with mardi gras or related to fat tuesday haha im SO CONfused!!

  7. March 9, 2011 6:33 am

    I’m obsessed with Kate Middleton and Prince William! I’m glad to know they enjoyed their Pancake Day 🙂 I actually didn’t have any sweets! Rookie mistake 😉

  8. Laura permalink
    March 9, 2011 7:34 am

    haha! I am in Canada and when I was reading your post I was confused about Mardi Gras.. lol, it was definitely pancake Tuesday here yesterday, although I didn’t eat any! Hmmm.. are you giving up chocolate for lent, or sugar? If it’s chocolate I am right there with you! :0

  9. March 9, 2011 9:10 am

    wow! i love the info about mardi gras! i can’t believe i didn’t know about pancake day when i was in aussie…maybe i celebrated, i don’t remember!

  10. March 9, 2011 9:26 am

    I had a blizzard from DQ. It was DELISHHHHH.

  11. March 9, 2011 9:43 am

    I LOVE mardi gras!!!

Leave a Reply

