Skip to content

What’s In My Big Ole Bag

March 8, 2011
tags:

Here’s a little insight into my life: I carry a bag that is way bigger and heavier than it should be. I feel like I need everything I keep in it though! If I don’t keep it in my purse it will just get stashed in my car or on my desk and then it won’t be there when I want it randomly throughout the day. Please let me know if you have ideas about to consolidate!

Without further ado, my purse:

This Coach bag is the only designer purse I own. My mom had a coupon and also went to an outlet, so it was something ridiculous like $80 instead of $300. It was a graduation gift since having a big girl leather purse was necessary for my new life in the real world.

Here is everything emptied out. It really doesn’t look like that much, and I think it’s the purse itself that is pretty heavy. Let’s take a closer look…

The big stuff is:

  • My planner (I really don’t use this that often because I keep everything on my phone…maybe I can get rid of that?).
  • A folder that I store design inspiration tear outs for work.
  • Magazine that is only in there because I didn’t have time to finish it on the elliptical one morning.
  • My wallet is massive but honestly completely full with credit card, gift cards, my check book, coupons, insurance cards and more
  • A mini umbrella. I ALWAYS have an umbrella with me…it’s a result of studying abroad in Dublin.

Little stuff that stays in the pockets:

  • Ipod which is in there in case I want to use it in the car or at work. Mostly just gets used during workouts though
  • My work ID – non negotiatble
  • Tissues
  • Biofreeze from last week
  • Chapstick
  • Hair ties / clips / headbands –usually the one I work during my workout that morning

And in the other side pocket:

  • Camera case. But my camera rarely actually goes in it
  • Post-it booklet for Operation Beautiful notes
  • Mini notebook – thought I would use it for blog notes, but now I just do them in drafts online. Guess I don’t need it.

Finally the zipper pocket:

  • Feminine necessities
  • Car Keys
  • Eye drops
  • Nail File
  • Shout pen
  • Regular Pens
  • Floss
  • Mini Toothbrush

So am I that overboard? Do you guys keep this much stuff in your purse? Help a sista out…sometimes my shoulder hurts!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    March 8, 2011 2:06 pm

    Ok this is getting weird… I have the same purse(s), one in white and one in brown. I love that purse style! Everything seems pretty necessary to me and similar to what I carry. But I also always seem to have about 4 pens???, hand lotion, and a granola bar. I dont carry magazines or notebooks that are bigger than my purse cuz im superweird and dont like things sticking out of my purse, but my calendar is just the perfect size to fit.

  2. March 8, 2011 2:26 pm

    WOW you got a lot of stuff in there!!! do you need a toothbrush when ur out? haha i defs dont bring one.. and just bring one pen.. you dont need a whole bunch! the planner would take a big weight off too!

  3. March 8, 2011 2:50 pm

    Quite a haul to carry each day! I’m trying to remember to clean out my purse lest it become a germ factory…

  4. March 8, 2011 3:17 pm

    I can justify almost everything in your bag. In fact I think I have more than that. If you can get rid of the notebook, and planner you’ll save weight there. I would also say if you can find a smaller solution to the folder it could be worth it. Maybe just an envelope?

    I have pretty much everything you have only more, including: my point and shoot + DSLR, an extra lens, snacks of some sort (i.e. bars, granola, clementines), a bifold envelope that houses all of my coupons, a change purse, somedays my apron and book for work, ibuprofen, Tums (I get the worst heartburn), antibacterial gel, gum, and travel deodorant. My life is in my purse.

  5. March 8, 2011 3:42 pm

    i keep to much freaking CRAP in my bag its DISGUSTING! I as well have a HUGE bag and when I try and downsize i just end up carrying stuff and it becomes annoying and i instantly move back into a bigger bag!
    I need to organize it, ever since my vacation i have way to much stuff i dont need in there like SHIRTS and a DOG LEASH im ridiculous 🙂
    I think im inspired to get a new bag 😀

  6. March 8, 2011 4:09 pm

    I want to say this without sounding like a major creep, but I’m totally convinced that we’d get along so well! I promise I’m not weird. I carry an umbrella in my purse every day, I have an oversized planner that I rarely use but can’t seem to let go of (I like things in writing), I always have tissues (because I’m 80?), I just took out a Self magazine out of my purse yesterday, and is that Burt’s Bee’s chap stick? Own it. So to make a long response short – no, I don’t think you’re that overboard!

  7. March 8, 2011 4:54 pm

    I stopped carrying a planner because it all gets stored in my phone! Maybe the blog notebook can go? Everything else is pretty comparable to my purse. Cute purse, btw. I love that you said a big girl, leather purse is necessary for the real world…too funny, and so true!

  8. March 8, 2011 5:33 pm

    I have a lot of stuff too. I love my planner. I have my blackberry but for some reason I like to write what I have to do out….call me old fashioned, haha.

  9. March 8, 2011 6:01 pm

    Omgosh, I totally did a post just like this recently! My work bag was getting so heavy I had to figure out why. Turns out there were things like 17 pens (how is that even possible?!) in there. I deserve my own episode of Hoarders after that one.

    Love your bag, by the way. If you have to carry that much stuff around, at least you can do it in style! 🙂

  10. March 8, 2011 6:02 pm

    I am the same way. My purse is HUGE! I have like 2 notebooks, makeup bag, planner, camera, snacks, wallet…..this can go on for a while.

  11. March 8, 2011 6:16 pm

    I have a ton of stuff too…keys, camera, wallet, phone, dog leash, planner, sunglasses, makeup bag…yeah I pretty much carry 80 pounds of crap on my shoulders too. A crossbody might help lighten the load, though, or so I’ve heard?

  12. March 8, 2011 6:41 pm

    Haha, I’ve tried to kid myself into thinking I could do a small purse. Yeah Right!! That lasted about an hour. Big purses are needed. But I’m kind of worried how many bags I’ll end up carrying when I have a baby. A diaper bag sized purse and an actual diaper bag and a baby. I’ll be ripped in no time!

  13. March 8, 2011 7:33 pm

    haha i keep an ABSURD amount of stuff in my handbag, so much so that when it doesn’t have everything in there i get super worried. haha i also have a worn out zippy that has my emergency snack stash haha

  14. March 8, 2011 7:34 pm

    Soooo I’m stealing your coach bag…..nbd…..

  15. Natalie permalink
    March 9, 2011 6:29 am

    My bag for work is huge too! I carry: my wallet, planner, mini umbrella, cosmetic case, deodorant, small journal, whatever book I’m reading during my commute, keys, tissues, etc. It gets to be way too much sometimes. I lose simple things in it like my keys or my metro pass on a day-to-day basis, but there is no way I could downgrade to a smaller tote haha.

Leave a Reply

