Skip to content

Simple Dinner

March 9, 2011

Hi all!

Seems like giving up sweets or chocolate is pretty popular among then Lent observers. Glad to know I’ll have some people battling with me!

***************************

Lunch today was leftovers of last night’s stir fry with an apple for dessert.

And for dinner I went with Amy’s Low Sodium Minestrone soup and a cheeze sandwich. The Catholic Church encourages fasting on Ash Wednesday (which according to them can also mean having just one large meal, two smaller meals and no snacks in between). Since I didn’t fast today I thought I should at least keep my dinner simple.

To me you can’t get much more simple than a can of soup and a cheese sandwich. I know that on Fridays in Lent when Catholics aren’t supposed to eat meat, people often times end up eating extravagant meals of lobster or crab. Totally not the point!

On a side note, I heard of a Church in St. Louis that is doing a vegetarian pot luck dinner one Friday in Lent instead of a Fish Fry. It is marketed towards the vegetarians that give up meat daily as a way for them to experience the community that goes along with the Friday cook-outs. COOL!

 

I’m working on a final review of The China Study now! And I just picked up Born To Run for some pre-marathon inspiration. Goodnight!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 8:03 pm

    I have Born to Run sitting on my shelf just waiting to be read. Might be a while yet though, I’m terrible at leisure reading novels during school. My leisure reading = blogs and mags!
    Cheese sandwich + soup = ultimate comfort meal. SO good.

  2. March 9, 2011 9:22 pm

    That pot luck sounds so cool! Growing up, we obviously didn’t eat meat on Fridays during Lent – but we had fish sticks. Oh my God, I could vomit just thinking about them! haha:)

  3. March 9, 2011 10:31 pm

    Love the shape of your soup bowl. Super cute!

  4. March 10, 2011 6:46 am

    yay cnt wait for the review!!i LOVE simple dinners!! cheeze and soup is perf!

  5. Natalie permalink
    March 10, 2011 6:57 am

    The potluck sounds like an awesome idea. I am Catholic as well and pretty much every church in my area just has a fish fry. Luckily my mom will cooked us some nice tilapia last night 🙂 I plan on giving up chocolate/sweets for lent as well, and trying to have just a TAD more patience.

  6. March 10, 2011 7:01 am

    The potluck sounds so cool! I’m giving up meat on Wednesdays and Fridays. Not too tough at all. I feel kind of guilty haha!

  7. March 10, 2011 7:40 am

    I m Ortodox so we have a 48 days feast with some fish allowed days. I think you re doing a good job by eating the right things but we all have to focus more on the deeper meaning of Lent or Easter Fast in my case.

    It s really about “cleaning up” our souls, doing the best not judging others, beeing more kind. Jesus was the ALL time Row Model and we all have to strike to be like HIm. I m very bad at doing His will but I really try.

    What other changes you dou beside food?

  8. March 10, 2011 8:27 am

    Your comment about extravagant lobster dinners is so right on. It amuses me when people try to do something sacrificial but completely miss the point.

Leave a Reply

