Skip to content

The Best Day Of The Year

March 12, 2011

The St. Patrick’s Day Parade & Run is a huge day for my family. My dad is on the parade committee and I was always dancing in the parade, so the day has been incredibly busy and exciting for as long as I can remember. Now that I am no longer part of my dance group, the parade is day that my family and our family friends celebrate by attending the parade and then going to a great bar, Humphrey’s, afterwards.

This year was the first year I ran in the 5 mile parade run. (I haven’t been a runner for very long!). Since I needed to get in 12 miles for training today, I woke up early and ran 7 miles on a treadmill. Before starting I had a banana with almond butter.

 

x2

 

Between my 7 miles and the 5 mile parade race I had a vanilla GU. The race was so fun and it was a beautiful day – 50s and sunny! I ran the five miles in about 43 minutes and luckily my parents were able to meet me at the finish line.

My real breakfast was oatmeal with a banana and the rest of my Justin’s Maple Almond Butter. I made it in the hotel (we stay at a hotel in downtown St. Louis for convenience). Using the coffee maker to get hot water for oatmeal is my go-to travel breakfast.

 

The parade started at noon and since my dad is on the committee we get special passes to the Grand Stand viewing area. That means free drinks and I enjoyed a Guinness while watching. I even got to hop on the Notre Dame Club of St. Louis float as it drove by!

Family minus lil bro, Kev.

It was bittersweet to see my Irish Dance group go by…I spent 13 years of parades on that float!

 

When the parade ended we headed to Humphrey’s for some food and more drinks. Thinks tend to get rowdy and this year was actually tame in comparison. It tends to be the only day of the year when the parents are drinking heavily too!

When we got there we put in an order for 14 double cheese burgers, 12 fries, and 18 Irish Car Bombs. I stuck with a spicy black bean burger (housemade and delicious!) and a disappointing iceberg salad.

I did partake in the Irish Car Bombs (tastes like chocolate milk) and plenty of green beer. Thankfully after last week I had the common sense to drink lots of water in between and managed to stay composed 😉

Tons more fries and Hunt’s *no high fructose corn syrup*(!!!) ketchup were eaten, but when I got home just now I was pretty hungry. I had two tortillas with the rest of my butternut cashew cheese spread and a bowl of pumpkin ice cream. Gotta find a way to satisfy my sweet tooth when I can’t have chocolate.

I’m pretty exhausted but am thinking of renting a movie to watch with the rents. Such a fun day!!! Hope you had a great Saturday as well!

  • What’s the biggest day of the year for your family??
  • Any fun Holiday traditions?
10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2011 8:21 pm

    What a fun day for your family! We usually get the most excited about the first Ohio State football game of the season. 😉
    My little family of my hubby and doggie get most excited about Christmas. We love making cookies and going to midnight mass.

  2. March 12, 2011 8:42 pm

    i just stumbled on your blog, but it caught my eye. and then i saw that you live in st. louis! i went to wash u for undergrad and my friends and i would hop the metro to go to humphrey’s on wednesday nights for penny pitchers! 🙂 so much fun. and after seeing your pictures from the festivities, my fiance just asked me if we could go downtown now! (he still lives in ballwin and i’m here this weekend!).

  3. March 12, 2011 8:42 pm

    Ah!! How fun!!! 🙂 You look so cute decked out in green.

  4. March 12, 2011 9:34 pm

    Looks like such a fun day, your parents are too cute. Ah, I can’t believe you think car bombs taste like chocolate milk, too, no one believes me!

  5. March 12, 2011 11:24 pm

    What a fun way to celebrate! I love celebrating St. Patty’s day because then the next day is my birthday and the day after that is a 5k! 🙂

    In my family, I think the usual Christmas is a big time to celebrate.

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    March 13, 2011 1:26 am

    Hhaha omg your dad looks too cute with his green stash! 🙂 Adorable family! Love your running head gear!

  7. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    March 13, 2011 4:30 am

    Looks like so much fun! Love your race outfit!

  8. March 13, 2011 8:06 am

    Looks like a super fun day! Cute running headband!
    My family gets excited on the 4th of july…we get dressed up and go to parades and fireworks!

  9. March 13, 2011 1:11 pm

    Ah! That looks sooo fun!! MY family doesn’t really go too crazy on any holidays but we usually have a decently sized Thanksgiving celebration 🙂

  10. March 13, 2011 2:31 pm

    Looks like such a fun celebration! I love that you were with your family too.
    And congrats on your run! That’s impressive… I don’t know if I would be able to split mine like that.

Leave a Reply

