Skip to content

Cherry Berry Green Monster

March 13, 2011

Hi Friends!

I ended up passing out around 9:45 last night and stayed in bed until 9am. Which was really 8 am. But it felt so great to sleep.

A waffle & egg sandwich was on my mind for breakfast, but I needed some veggies too since I got a total of zero vegetables that weren’t in french fry form yesterday. I toasted two Vans waffles and put microwaved egg whites and a drizzle of maple syrup in between. Since I gave up chocolate for Lent, my usual green monster made with chocolate Amazing Grass was a no-go. I remembered I still had a berry flavored sample packet the company sent me with my last order, so I decided to switch up my recipe a bit.

For my Cherry Berry Green Monster I used:

  • a bunch of raw spinach
  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 1 packet berry flavored Amazing Grass
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • a bunch of frozen cherries
  • ice & a wee bit of xantham gum for a creamy texture

Hit the spot!

On the agenda for the morning was a special Mass for the St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee at a church downtown. After Mass my dad showed me this beautiful cross. Turns out my parents’ names are on a plaque because he and many others donated to have this cross built. It is in honor of the Irish of St. Louis that helped build the city.

I didn’t have many plans for the afternoon but randomly went on a cleaning spree. So far my bedroom and bathroom have been wiped down and dusted and sheets are in the dryer. I broke for lunch, but have plans for vacuuming, mopping, and more laundry after this post is up.

Lunch was a wrap made with a combo of hummus and pasta sauce, sliced green pepper, chopped tomato, and two TJ’s meatless meatballs.


To go with it I had a whole sweet potato sliced, topped with cinnamon, and baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. I believe Kailey calls these “chu chu chu cheetahhhs”! I also had a few more green pepper slices and an apple for dessert.

Time to get back to work! I think my post-cleaning reward will be finally watching Shawshank Redemption and baking a new batch of healthy muffins. LOVE Sundays!

  • What did you do this weekend? Fill me in!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 3:13 pm

    Hey girl! That wrap looks great! I always forget about hummus on wraps.
    I went shopping and grilled out yesterday; today husb and I had brunch at Mimis and now I’m watching Criminal Minds and writing lesson plans!
    Good luck with your cleaning spree!

  2. March 13, 2011 4:10 pm

    I haven’t made a wafflewich in ages and seeing yours has me wanting one bad! I spent the entire weekend MOVING! Ugh, and now I’m exhausted but so happy. 🙂

  3. March 13, 2011 4:12 pm

    Yay for being Irish! That’s SUCH a beautiful Cross!

  4. March 13, 2011 4:21 pm

    love your GM! i havent had one in a solid month or two! not cool!!>. oh weird about the time change- our times changes at dif times of the year– its just so odd!

  5. March 13, 2011 4:49 pm

    I NEED a green monster ASAP! That is such a good idea! I really want to add cherries to mine! Yumm! Banana and cherry! Oh it just sounds amazing ! I am so excited!

  6. March 13, 2011 6:06 pm

    That’s such a beautiful cross! This weekend was filled with lots of wedding planning 🙂 Cupcake testing was by far the best part!

  7. March 13, 2011 7:37 pm

    i was so confused waking up this morning. i though it was an hour EARLIER than the alarm clock said, not later! so my fiance and i didn’t end up getting out of bed until noon, thinking it was 10am! lol. i guess we were tired!

  8. Natalie permalink
    March 14, 2011 8:27 am

    The cross is so beautiful. Also, your lunch looks soo delicious. I want to attempt to make the sweet potato chips. I drank with friends this weekend to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.. too much beer :-\

  9. March 14, 2011 8:05 pm

    Mmm egg whites between waffles?! Delicious!! I got Chi-rish this weekend!

Trackbacks

  1. 20 Miles & “Celebrity” Encounter! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

