Skip to content

Triple Sauce Failure

March 13, 2011

I polished off my batch of Anne P’s “Pumpkin Muffins of Deliciousness” last week and set out to find a new recipe today. The muffins became a nightly dessert for me along with a grapefruit and I couldn’t go without them much longer!

I found a recipe for Apple Cinnamon Oat Bran Muffins at the Women’s Health website and it seemed easy and healthy. Instead of oatbran I used quickoats. I also added the last of my can of pumpkin to half of the batter (about 1/2 cup?) just to use it up and a hefty dose of pumpkin pie spice went in those as well.

Fresh out of the oven! I could tell the ones with the pumpkin in the batter were much more moist so I’m curious to see how they compare to the regular recipe.

Pumpkin version on the right, regular on the left. Can’t wait to dig into these for dessert tonight!

**************************

I was a bit uninspired for dinner. I considered chana masala, but then decided on a version of Diana’s 3-2-1 Vegetarian Noodles. I really didn’t follow her recipe at all…just the cooking method!

I sauteed onion and garlic in a pan and then added cubed tofu to brown. In a pot I boiled whole wheat spaghetti noodles and then added a bunch of chopped green beans, snap peas, and edamame.

And then came the sauce.

Attempt 1:

I tried to made a simple soy sauce my combining Braggs Liquid Aminos, rice wine vinegar, lime juice, stevia, and peanut oil. I didn’t measure anything and kept adding bits at a time and it ended up tasting like crap.

Attempt 2:

I remembered when I tweeted asking for a stir fry sauce last week someone mentioned using peanut flour. So I scooped some of it into a bowl with some water, stevia, and a wee bit of Braggs. Didn’t taste right so I added balsamic. Tasted much worse. Into the sink.

Attempt 3:

I decided to keep it simple and just used Braggs liquid aminos, stevia, and vinegar and then added water until it wasn’t too salty. I also drizzled in some agave over the top of the dish. Nothing special but tasted alright.Ā  At least better than the first two.

My stomach is actually a little funky right now….I think I took in WAY too much Bragg’s during my sauce making saga. But dessert must go on so I’m about to chop up a juicy grapefruit and taste test one of those muffins.

 

  • Do you randomly make sauces or follow recipes?
  • Tell me your favorite asian-style sauces so I can look back when I need them!

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 8:11 pm

    haha, I LOVE having muffins as part of my nightly snack!! Whenever I’m running low I make sure I squeeze in making more šŸ˜› The ones you made look great!
    I swear, whenever I mess up something the first time, I can never get it right the second time, either. It’s always gotta take a third try! Sometimes I throw stuff together, and other times I follow recipes. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. You live and you learn, right?

  2. March 13, 2011 8:23 pm

    Haha I love “dessert must go on”!

  3. March 13, 2011 9:02 pm

    I’ve been eating pumpkin buckwheat muffins for a nighttime snack lately, too. I gave up added sweeteners (even stevia!) for Lent, though, so my muffins aren’t very sweet. Either way they make for a yummy treat! I’m currently stir-frying away. Braggs + fresh ginger is my sauce of choice :D.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  4. March 13, 2011 9:14 pm

    The muffins sound like such a great breakfast treat! I rarely make my own sauce (mostly b/c I’m too lazy haha!).

  5. March 14, 2011 12:53 am

    i usually randomly make sauces by throwing things together. my favorite asian inspired sauce is just soy sauce + rice vinegar + a tiny bit of sesame oil. so delicious and simple! šŸ™‚

  6. March 14, 2011 3:38 am

    I make Asian food all the time and I come up with amazing sauces. Problem is I never follow a recipe and just throw things in a blender as I go. I really need to write down exact measurements so I can post them I guess? Asian sauces revolve around a few key elements… Sweet, Sour, Salty, spicy, pungent and sometimes ( like with Thai food ) creamy. I find the best Asian sauces balance many of these elements!
    Sweet: honey, agave, sugar, mirin ( Japanese cooking wine )
    Salty: soy sauce, Braggs, nama shoyu, salt
    Pungent/strong herbs: garlic, cilantro, mint, lemongrass, keffir, Thai basil
    Spicy: Sriracha, chili peppers, chili oil
    Sour/acid: Lime, lemon, orange juice, rice wine, ume plum or brown rice vinegar
    Creamy: coconut, peanut butter
    These are pantry staples for me and make cooking Asian cuisine a snap! Asian is such a great way to eat vegan too! I’ll try and post more sauces in the future šŸ™‚ Thanks for the inspiration! Aloha!

  7. March 14, 2011 3:40 am

    Ahhhh! I left out sesame oil and seeds! Very important!

  8. March 14, 2011 9:38 am

    my favorite asian sauces is spicy peanut sauce and sweet and sour and sometime teriyaki šŸ™‚ I love making the peanut sauce!

  9. March 14, 2011 1:38 pm

    I’ve followed a recipe maybe twice with my asian sauces, just to get a feel for it. But have moved on to making my own. I love the amino acid stuff though, just starting trying it and it tastes almost the same and so much better for you!

Trackbacks

  1. A Snowy Pi Day « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

