Skip to content

A Snowy Pi Day

March 14, 2011

I woke up to this:

SERIOUSLY St. Louis? I mean I know that it can snow in March here, it’s just that no one knew it was going to today! The roads were pretty bad and it’s actually supposed to keep snowing until 4pm. Don’t worry though. Look at the rest of the week:

Yep. 75 degrees by Thursday. I don’t get it, but I’m okay with it.

********************************************

It took a little longer to get to the gym but I was still able to get in my 5-mile speed work run. I’m running only 5 milers this week to gear up for my longest 20 mile run this weekend. After my run I did some abs and arms like usual.

OUTFIT:

So I found this scarf in the back of my closet. After questioning why I own a purple and pink polka-dot fake-silk scarf something in my crazy head told me to wear it. What do you think?

 

FOOD:

I was pretty full from an impromtu session of “let’s finish the bag of dried apricots” last night, and so didn’t eat breakfast until 10am. My oats and PB were good though. Soupier than usual, but good.

 And lunch was leftovers from last night. Tasted pretty good today!

OF NOTE:

  • I taste-tested both muffins last night. The regular recipe came out really dry, but the ones I put pumpkin in are delicious! Pumpkin makes everything better. Some mashed ripe banana might have helped too though.
  • It’s PI DAY! (And my friend Claire’s birthday! Happy birthday midg!) Anyway, in highschool we always celebrated 3.14 in math class by eating some pie. If you feel so inclined to celebrate, check out these recipes for chocolate chip cookie pie and chocolate marshmellow pie.

Did you ever celebrate PI Day?

What’s your favorite type of pie?
I dont eat a lot of pie, but I love the pumpkin and apple on Thanksgiving.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 2:52 pm

    You totally made the scarf work! We celebrated “Pi Day” in high school, too! My geometry teacher brought in a big chocolate pie for the class. So much fun! 🙂

  2. March 14, 2011 4:09 pm

    love the scarf! your outfit is adorable!

    also, i hear you on the barf-tastic weather here today. my fiance and i have a day full of errands and my boots + socks have been soaking wet since i stepped outside at 8:30 this morning. not cool.

  3. March 14, 2011 4:55 pm

    Mmmmm…. pie….. healthy, homemade pie…. I’m hungry now.
    Your outfit is super cute! Love the long sweater.

    …That is the oddest weather! FREEZING then hot? I think Mother Nature is seriously confused.

  4. Jenni permalink
    March 14, 2011 5:21 pm

    I was late to work because of this darn snow 🙂 I’m forcing myself to go to Zumba, but all I wanna do is curl up!

    The scarf is cute–it almost looks like part of the sweater the way you have it belted!

  5. oatsandspice permalink
    March 14, 2011 5:28 pm

    No WAY! I cannot believe you guys got snow down there… I mean I live in Michigan and it was almost 50 today!! Strange weather!

  6. March 14, 2011 5:44 pm

    WHAT ! snow?!?! it was sunny here! and hot today!
    i love that sweater- it makes everything POP with color!!
    ive actually never really liked pie.. WEIRD much?

  7. March 14, 2011 5:53 pm

    Does apple crisp count as pie? Haha, I love it.

  8. March 14, 2011 6:22 pm

    Pi day is a big deal at WPI where I went to undergrad. There are a lot of nerdy kids there lol

  9. March 14, 2011 6:29 pm

    Do you look good in everything you wear naturally???

  10. March 14, 2011 7:30 pm

    I know a high school math teacher friend ha her kids make pi shirts to wear today! Nothing crazy in elementary school….our lil babies are still learning basic math. 🙂
    I like the scarf as a cardigan add-on! Neat idea.

  11. March 14, 2011 7:36 pm

    dried apricots = so addicting.
    and you guys are gettting some craaazy weather. snowing today and 75 later this week?! insane! haha. i wouldn’t complain, though. i’d love 75 right now…although i better be careful what i wish for. the would feel like the desert compared to the winter we had :X

  12. March 14, 2011 7:52 pm

    SNOW! haha not cool. it was gorgeous here today! love your sweater mama you look adorable!

  13. March 15, 2011 12:02 pm

    Ok, so I was in STL yesterday and could NOT BELIEVE the snow y’all had!! It was raining when we left home, remember we live about 2 1/2 hrs south of you, and around farmington everything started turning white! I was floored…and confused! Isn’t this supposed to be March RAIN, not March SNOW?! Our crazy midwest weather…;-) But we made it with no incidents and back home to the rain safe and sound. But YAY for our warmer weather. It makes gloomy days like today easier to stick it out knowing it’s going to be GREAT the next week or so!

Leave a Reply

