Skip to content

Bomelette

March 14, 2011

I had this huge plan to take on Alex in an omelette showdown tonight, Bobby Flay style.

I gchatted him and told him it was on.

See Alex is a pretty good omelette maker. He made me one when I visited in Florida and I was pretty impressed. Big and fluffy with cheese oozing out and stuffed with sauteed onion.

An Alex Omelette

I thought making the same thing for dinner would help eliminate some of the distance, not to mention be super tasty. But then Alex had some complications with students getting picked up (or rather not getting picked up) from their baseball game. And then the girls he works with were going to the beach.

Remember how it’s snowing here? And he is going to the beach?

I couldn’t blame him, so the omelette showdown turned into a competition against myself. No worries. I WON!

source

I combined 2 whole eggs and two egg whites into a bowl and scrambled them with a fork. They were poured into a pan on medium low heat to set. A few times I had to pull up edges and let more of the egg liquid seep down onto the pan to cook.

When it was about finished cooking I scooped on a mixture of previously sauteed green pepper, onion, and chopped spinach. The other half was sprinkled with cheeze before making a PERFECT flip:)

It was plated and topped with salsa because salsa + eggs is the best. On the side I had some roasted sweet potato to round out a perfect eggs & potatoes dinner.

THIS WAS BOMB DOT COM. I sent a picture to Alex and he told me it was a “bomelette”! Seriously I don’t know if I had just been thinking about it all day or what, but my dinner hit. the. spot. I don’t eat eggs all that much, but I want to more often now! Such a quick and nutritious dinner full of protein, veggies, and complex carbs. Win Win Win!

**********************************

 

I received a fun package in the mail tonight! I wont a supercharge me cookie giveaway from Astrid Eats a few weeks ago and they came in the mail today!!

Truthfully I was worried about receiving these. I gave up chocolate for Lent and didn’t want to receive a gift that I couldn’t even eat. How ungrateful! But check this out:

She knew I gave up chocolate and so made the cookies with pecans instead! HOW SWEET!! Seriously that is the nicest and most considerate thing. Totally made my day. Thanks Astrid!!

********************************

Bachelor time! I think it’s Emily…but there are always twists on this show.

  • What’s the nicest thing someone has done for you lately?
  • Favorite Omelette mix-ins?
  • Who do you want to win The Bachelor?

 

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 8:01 pm

    That omelette looks great! I love breakfast for dinner πŸ™‚ My perfect omelette is made with egg whites and stuffed with mushrooms, peppers, tomatoes and onions. Have a great night!!

  2. March 14, 2011 8:03 pm

    That looks like such a wonderful omelet! I love the addition of green onions. They are one of those things I like but NEVER think to buy at the store.

    Hope you had a great Monday.

  3. Abby permalink
    March 14, 2011 8:06 pm

    That omlette looks so tasty! I like egg white omlettes with bell pepper, mushroom, spinach, and onion. I would like Emily to win The Bachelor…but if she doens’t we all know who will be the next Bachelorette. lol!

  4. March 14, 2011 8:06 pm

    Omlettes are my favorite quick dinner! In fact, i had an omlette tonight, too! Mine had mushrooms, tomatoes, avocado (not so good-too ripe) and a slice of veggie american cheese. So good!
    Act of kindness: my coworker brought me some(more) specialty Jamaican bread! Its delicious!

  5. March 14, 2011 9:02 pm

    i loooooove making omelettes! my fiance usually takes the lead when we make them, but that’s ok with me because they’re so delicious! i always top mine with lots of salsa too. πŸ™‚

  6. Molly permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:23 pm

    I love the blog!

    This is random, but you look so familiar! I’m from St. Louis too, and I’m feeling like maybe we went to high school together? Like I said, random!

  7. March 14, 2011 9:49 pm

    Goat cheese!!!! So good!

  8. squigglefloey permalink
    March 14, 2011 10:29 pm

    Nicest thing is my BF coming to pick me up from school since I don’t have a car over here. So thoughtful! πŸ™‚
    I have yet to master flipping anything– besides ppl off!! (jk jk I never do that) πŸ™‚

  9. March 14, 2011 10:30 pm

    I am a cheese-omelet lover! I throw other veggies in too like tomatoes and peppers sometimes, but many times, it’s just the cheese! πŸ™‚

  10. March 15, 2011 12:17 am

    bomelette, so cute. that seriously is one spectacular looking omelette. sheesh.

  11. March 15, 2011 12:39 am

    That was sooo sweet and considerate of Astrid!!
    I’ll give the prize of best omelette to you, but I make the best frittata with 6 whole eggs, tons of onions, cooked chicken, dried figs, raspberry & walnut dressing, hoisin sauce, and chheeeeeese. I’ll totally make it for you but you have to visit me first.

  12. March 15, 2011 3:55 am

    Ahh I want an omelette now! With roasted sweet taters! I love the term Alex coined for it. πŸ™‚

  13. March 15, 2011 6:56 am

    You flipped it so perfectly! I can never manage to do that haha! My favorite add-ins are spinach and feta!

  14. Alex permalink
    March 15, 2011 7:13 am

    wow, what a creative title, bomelette!!

  15. March 15, 2011 7:28 am

    I really miss warm eggs–something about them is just so comforting!

  16. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:17 am

    I’m impressed with your flip! lol

  17. March 15, 2011 8:36 am

    YAY for the no chocolate! and AHAHAH A BOMELETTE- LOVE that name! go emily πŸ˜€

  18. March 15, 2011 9:09 am

    Bomelet, ha.

    My favorite omelet mixins are spinach, onion, jalapeno and mushrooms all topped with salsa and parmesan cheese.

  19. March 15, 2011 9:28 am

    That is so awesome that she made those cookies without chocolate! πŸ™‚ My favorite omelet is one with onions, spinach, mushrooms and feta or goat cheese

  20. March 15, 2011 10:00 am

    I LOVE eating breakfast for dinner πŸ™‚ So many variations with eggs and they are low cal and high protein which is perfect for din din. I once heard of this woman who tried a backwards diet. The whole philosophy behind it was that the majority of your calories should be in the morning and early afternoon, and the least amount should be in the evening. So, she ate dinner in the morning and breakfast in the early evening. Interesting, and I would be totally fine with eggs or waffles or an overflowing bowl of cereal for dinner every night. My husband? Not so much πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

