Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: Men Should Get This Thursday OFF!

March 14, 2011

Hi Guys! Today’s Monday Man-Day is a guest post from that ever so mysterious Undercover Blogger. He’s got some serious plans for this Thursday. But before we get to that, I wanted to share a link to one amazing looking sandwich. Jenna posted a recipe for a “gaullois sandwich”  made with ham, brie, sundried tomatoes and pecans this week and I immediately thought it would be a great change from the usual turkey that many people bring for lunch. Hope you and your guy enjoy:)

****************************

Hello, I am here today to tell you about 2 things that are very near and dear to my heart: Beer and College Basketball. Now, I am sure all you ladies, and the 8 guys who read Clare’s blog, know that Thursday is St. Patrick’s day as well as the first day of March Madness (the play in game isn’t real). I am here to tell you that I have declared March 17, 2011 a national man day off, yes I had to use a vacation day but whatever it’s a national holiday in my heart.

First of all, I like to think of myself as a mini beer connoisseur. I try as many different beers as I can and have always liked a good beer over wine or hard liquor, or water most of the time. I have even stood in line for 30 minutes to try a cask beer by Hopsland, which was delicious. So, what is something that always makes beer better you ask? Well I will feed you baby birds. It’s making the beer green! And what do most bars do on St. Paddy’s day? That’s right all you little geniuses, they make their beer green and then charge more for it. YIPEE! Either way, it is a great day for people to go out, pretend they are pale and red headed, if they aren’t lucky enough to already be pale and red headed, and drink beer with friends and acquaintances (everyone else).

My March 17th hasn’t been very eventful recently; however my father helps out with the main St. Paddy’s day parade in downtown St. Louis every year so I always head down there with friends on the Saturday before actual St. Paddy’s day. It is also my father’s favorite time of year to tell me he thinks I’m an alcoholic and to be careful since I’m Irish. But this will be the first time in a long time that I will celebrate actual St. Paddy’s day all day. I plan on going to the Dog Town parade in St. Louis and drinking/watching my family’s “float” go by. Now I have high expectations for this day. It’s supposed to be sunny and warm, and awesome. While nothing could possibly live up to my expectations, everyone knows the best way too artificially lower your expectations is to drink a lot and not go to work. Done and Done.

Also, March might be the best month of the year for sports just because every Thursday through Sunday there are constant basketball games to watch. I’m pretty sure men’s production at work, and home, gets cut in half during these days. (Those statistics are from a study I once saw, on paper, while doing something once; it’s all very scientific.) Now, I will admit I am not as pumped about this years tourney as I usually am since Villanova is collapsing more and more while you are reading this, but the tourney is still the best way to crown a National Champion out of any sport. Also, everyone that even slightly cares about March Madness fills out a bracket, which makes everyone’s interest go up a couple of notches, and gives everyone something to talk about (even boring people).

So if you have gotten this far, you probably agree with everything I have said and are completely for all my ideas. In that case you should allow all men to do whatever they want on this great day of March 17th, which will probably mean watching basketball and drinking. Now, many of you are thinking, don’t men want to do that every day? And that answer is an undoubtedly no. Sometimes, we like to watch baseball or football or hockey while we drink. So, on this special day tell your man, or male employees, or a random guy on the street, that he is welcome to drink all day while watching basketball, then tell him to thank me and that I accept cash donations.

-Halfwombat

[edited by Clare:  Can’t get enough? Follow the undercover blogger’s antics @halfwombat on twitter.]

  • Are you going to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day? If so how?
  • Doyou follow March Madness? If so who do you think/want to win?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 10:03 am

    Sigh…le basketball is on our TV nonstop!!!

  2. Ryan permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:47 am

    I’m glad you still know how to artificially lower your expectations. Its nice to know some people never change. It should also be called “Manday” not Monday Man-Day, but I’m going to copyright that and make millions, so don’t steal it.

  3. March 14, 2011 1:18 pm

    my fiance already made me promise that when we’re married, he gets full remote privileges during march madness. lol. i agreed with one loophole – if i’m preggers, i get ultimate control for the full 9 months! 🙂

    • Halfwombat permalink
      March 14, 2011 1:43 pm

      Its a good agreement. But do you allow him to bring multiple TVs into the room so he can watch multiple games at the same time? Cause that is like the Green Beer phenomenon, it just makes it better for some reason!

      • March 15, 2011 2:05 pm

        Completely agree with the 2 tv theory, HalfWombat. Then you can play video games while watching sports.

Leave a Reply

