Skip to content

Hoops for Hearts

March 15, 2011

Good EARLY morning! I had to get up a bit earlier today so I could run before my dentist appointment.

I completed a 5 mile tempo run – 1 mile warm up and cool down at a 9 minute mile pace and 3 miles tempo at an 8:30 pace – before stretching and hitting the showers.

OUTFIT:

I have all these springy outfits I want to wear but today was one last chilly day before the warm temps come.

and good news on the dentist front: NO CAVITIES! All clear for my pearly whites.

that is a LOT of me. Sorry.

BREAKFAST:

I made sure not to add too much water to my oats today so they were nice and thick instead of soupy like yesterday. I’m still sticking to the TJ’s Valencia PB for now. OH! And my microwaved ripe banana smelled like Sweet Tarts today. I swear!

 

HOOPS FOR HEARTS:

My boyfriend, Alex, is currently volunteer teaching for AmeriCorps in St. Petersburg, FL. The school he teaches at is a private middle school for underprivilegeed kids. They have to apply and meet academic standards, but generally their parents can’t afford to pay for the quality education they receive there.

These kids LOVE basketball and Alex just finished up coaching their season. They do have one last tournament left that is fundraiser for Hoops For Hearts. Hoops for Hearts is a program within the American Heart Association that has students raise money for kids with “special hearts”.

Each kid at the school has a fundraising goal, but Alex is raising money too! As an incentive, Alex has told the kids that whomever raises the most money can give him a mohawk and a makeover. YAY I’ve always wanted a transvestite biker boyfriend.

In the barber's chair ...ready for his mohawk?

If you’d like to contribute to their fundraising goal, you can click on this link and donate. Even a small $5 or $10 dollars would help! 

THANK YOU in advance!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 10:37 am

    Love your outfit today! Sweet of your bf to offer the mohawk!!

  2. March 15, 2011 10:44 am

    Goodluck to your boyfriend! And your oatmeal looks delicioussss! Yum 🙂 I’m jealous that you still have some cool weather! Down here in Florida we’ve been dealing with the spring weather. It’s been shorts, tank tops, and flip flops for me this past week!

  3. March 15, 2011 10:54 am

    I went to viz too! I graduated in 09,but I knew you looked familiar!

  4. March 15, 2011 11:08 am

    OHH so is that what a tempo run is?? a warm up, then a 3 mile run and then a cool down?? i never really knew what ppl were talking about when they said tempo!

  5. March 15, 2011 1:43 pm

    I love tempo runs 🙂 they are so nice and relaxing!!

  6. March 15, 2011 2:59 pm

    I ran four miles today – which I know is NOTHING compared to your 18 milers – but I thought of your blog when I was feeling tried! Thanks for the extra push! 🙂

  7. March 15, 2011 3:32 pm

    Ahhh I am LOVING your outfit!!! And congrats on the zippo cavities! Always a good prognosis 🙂

  8. March 15, 2011 3:48 pm

    YAY–no cavities! And that outfit is adorable. Hoops for Hearts sounds awesome.

  9. March 15, 2011 4:38 pm

    Are those locker rooms?! Where is that haha it’s so nice! P.S. Cute outfit!

  10. March 15, 2011 5:02 pm

    Run, then dentist! What a morning!!! Good job on the tempo run…

    The western look works well for you… The dentist must have been proud of those teeth! They Shine!

    Thats awesome what your boyfriend does… It’s great to be able to give back!

    cheers

  11. March 15, 2011 5:48 pm

    Love your top today!!

    PS – I just sent you an email. 🙂

  12. March 15, 2011 7:14 pm

    Love the outfit! Super cute! What a great cause! Thanks for the link! 🙂

  13. March 15, 2011 7:36 pm

    aww, that is so sweet of Alex!! He is doing such a great thing and I especially can’t wait to see him with a mohawk. 🙂

  14. squigglefloey permalink
    March 15, 2011 7:54 pm

    Oh how awesome of Alex. A girlfriend of mine did teaching for Americorps in Korea and Germany, I believe. Such a wonderful experience from what I hear.
    Are you going to be able to do your St. Patty’s day dish on Thursday? Or is did the kitchen get bloooocked.

  15. March 15, 2011 8:59 pm

    woman you have some GORGEOUS teeth! i hope that’s not creepy for me to say…i’m just jealous. hahaha!

  16. March 15, 2011 10:32 pm

    Hoops for Hearts sounds like an amazing cause!! Your outift is adorable. I wish you could come dress me for a week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

