Skip to content

Naan…with a side of Chana Masala

March 15, 2011

I had a wrap literally bursting with flavor for lunch

It had a mixture of hummus and tomato sauce, spinach, green pepper, chopped tomato,  3 TJ’s meatless balls, and chopped avocado. Delicious. And of course my side of snap peas and an apple!

Snack was Greek yogurt and strawberries, and I’ve started to realize Greek yogurt makes my stomach a little grumbly. It tastes so good, but I instantly was a little bloated. I’m gonna keep testing the waters and see if it happens repeatedly….and pray that it doesn’t.

*****************************

I got a major craving for Chana Masala, a classic Indian chickpea stew. I haven’t made it since before I started this blog (gasp! almost 6 months!) and thought it was about time. Luckily this dish is incredibly simple and I had all of the ingredients on hand – including some Trader Joe’s frozen naan!

I also just figured out that I bought my mom a Slap Chop a while back and haven’t been giving it any love. It worked wonderfully for dicing onion and garlic tonight.

There are a bijillion ways to make Chana Masala, but I chose to halve a recipe that looked simple (and is from a graduate from the Institute of Integrative Nutrition!!) First step was to saute onion and garlic in a mixture of olive oil and tumeric. I also added a scoop of a garlic and ginger stir fry mixture that we had in the fridge.

Once they were translucent I added 1 TBSP tomato paste, garam masala, cumin, and coriander.

Final step was to add chickpeas and a bit of water and then let it simmer. I had a can of diced tomatoes on hand as some Chana Masala recipes call for them and I was concerned this recipe might be a bit dry. Turns out the water did the trick and they weren’t needed.

On the side I used another new kitchen toy – a microwave steamer! I just placed frozen broccoli on the top tray and about 1/2 cup water in the bottom and microwaved it for 5 minutes. Perfectly cooked.

All together now:

The Chana Masala was good, but could have used a bit more spice. I like a big kick.

But the Naan. Ooohh the Naan. Naan is an Indian oven baked flat bread similar to pita but with a much doughier texture. It’s also quite possibly one of my favorite Trader Joe’s products right now? You just pop it in at 400 degrees for ONE MINUTE and it becomes this fluffy, chewy piece of heaven. It totally made the meal. To think I considered only having a half piece… I’m upset with myself. I usually eat Chana Masala with rice as my carb, but never again!

I really just wanted to eat the Naan. But I was a good girl and joined the clean plate club.

  • Do you like Indian food?
  • Favorite Indian Dish?

I really haven’t made any Indian food for myself beside Chana Masala, but when I’m in a pinch I love Amy’s Frozen Indian Burrito that is stuffed with tofu and spinach. I need to expand my Indian palette!

********************************

I’m watching The Bachelor After The Final Rose on DVR right now, and Glee is up next! I cannot believe Emily is only 24. So happy he picked her! And I have soooo many blog post topics I want to write about (including a fun St. Patrick’s Day recipe for one!) but they all take some research and time. I’m going to try to work on them so I can get them up soon though! Goodnight!!

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 7:46 pm

    That is the BEST naan ever!! I actually have a box of the frozen Chana Masala in my freezer (from Tader Joes) but I have yet to try it. Seeing your dinner makes me want to make it.

  2. March 15, 2011 8:25 pm

    I would now just about kill for some naan 😛 I love it; but haven’t had it in way too long! Mental note to buy some when I’m at the store next :]

  3. March 15, 2011 8:34 pm

    I like indian food! I can’t have naan though. I need to figure out a gluten free version!

  4. March 15, 2011 8:47 pm

    My dad is from Iran and I have visited there a couple of times so I’ve had authentic naan before. It is AMAZING! Everyone goes to the bakery in the morning and they hand you stacks of naan literally right out of the oven.

  5. March 15, 2011 8:48 pm

    Oh I had to add this to my Recipes To Try page, I love Indian food but have never tried cooking it.

    How do you prepare your snap peas?

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:42 pm

    I love naan! I recently discovered the frozen kind thanks to my roomie who’s Indian. I used to sometimes get the non-frozen kind until she told me the frozen was 10x better. Sooo right.

  7. Abby permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:50 pm

    That dinner looks so good! 🙂 I haven’t eaten a whole lot of Indian food. I think it is something I need to try more!

  8. March 15, 2011 10:25 pm

    OMG, I LOVE that naan! SOOOO Amazing I can’t keep my hands off it so I can’t keep it around too frequently! : )

  9. March 15, 2011 11:00 pm

    You always mention the meatless meatballs from TJ’s. I need to try those – you make them sound yummy 🙂
    I love Indian food, but I’ve never made it. I actual bought some kind of simmer sauce from TJ’s that I’m eager to try. I need to buy some of the Naan. I’ve never had it but it looks/sounds great!

  10. March 15, 2011 11:33 pm

    i loooooove eating out at indian restaurants, but i’ve never cooked any indian food myself! i’d probably save a lot of money if i just learned one of these days!

  11. March 16, 2011 2:29 am

    Love Indian food! I had the best Indian food of my life in New Zealand? Random…..Can’t really find any on Maui though…..I love just about anything that involves samosas, naan, paneer cheese, or cilantro chutney!

  12. March 16, 2011 5:50 am

    Mm never had it but I will have to try..looks yummy!

  13. March 16, 2011 7:26 am

    im always so scared to eat indian! not even sure why.. its so flavorful!!..
    YES greek yog and dairy was giving me bloating, which was a factor is why i just cut it out and went vegan!

  14. March 16, 2011 9:01 am

    Mmmmm Naan bread is delicious! I almost ate 2 pieces of that goodness with a container of hummus!
    I like Indian, I just don’t know the name of the dishes.. Ill have what ever that was you created!
    DELICIOUS as always

  15. March 16, 2011 9:09 am

    I’ve only had Indian food once and I loved it! I don’t know the names of the dishes we tried, but the flavors were out of this world.

  16. March 16, 2011 11:31 am

    I love indian food..I have a vegetarian recipe you might like! http://jesscooknbake.blogspot.com/2011/01/bharta.html

  17. March 16, 2011 3:21 pm

    Another reason I wish I had a TJs.. sigh. I love love love indian food of all kinds. I think my fave is chicken tikka masala.. but really, I am not picky!

  18. March 16, 2011 9:53 pm

    mmmm i LOVE naan! I need to make some chana masala real soon, ive never made it before!

Leave a Reply

