Skip to content

An Irish Obsession

March 17, 2011

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!!

Did you miss the Irish Recipes I posted yesterday?

This has always been my favorite Holiday as I’m pretty obsessed with all things Irish. My Godparents, Jim & Ethna, are actually from Dublin and still live there. Jim is the brother of one of my dad’s high school teachers. They are the most generous, hospitable people in the entire world and Ethna throws a MEAN dinner party. I’m talking 6 or 7 courses of homemade soups, breads, meats, cakes, and ice creams! We eat well when we visit.

Jim & Ethna in the middle with my friends from school

My parents enrolled me in Irish dance and music lessons when I was five years old, and for the next thirteen years I spent every Tuesday at St. Louis Irish Arts. We performed and competed, and I had the chance to learn traditional Irish songs, the tin whistle, the accordian, and eventually the harp. The weeks leading up to St. Patrick’s Day meant days off school because we had 3 to 4 shows a day, and of course we danced on a big float in the parade each year.

I'm on the left

Β 

My Irish obsession continued when I attended the University of Notre Dame, home of the Fighting Irish. There I was able to continue my dancing and music and cheer on the Irish in sporting events. St. Patrick’s Day is a huge day party there!

St. Pat's at ND 2010

During college I was able to study abroad in Dublin for a semester. It was simply amazing to immerse myself even further in the culture. You can go fromΒ the bustling modern cityΒ of Dublin to a little countryside village in less than 15 minutes. Ireland really feels like a second home to me – I can’t wait to go back in a few years.

So Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone! Enjoy the day, Irish or not! I’ll leave you with some of my favorite pictures from my time abroad.

A beach on the west coast

Cliffs of Moher

Sheep!

Howth

A rainbow in Glendelaugh

So beautiful


πŸ™‚

Β 

  • Have you ever been to Ireland?
  • Are you celebrating today? – Meals, Parades, Wearing Green, Drinking Guinness??
25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 10:12 am

    Check out my recent post “My Priceless Geranium”. My family has a rich Irish history, and I’m learning more and more about it from my dad as he shares some of the lore that has been passed down. Being Irish rocks. Especially today! (Merf = Murph = Murphy, as Irish as we get!!!)

  2. March 17, 2011 10:16 am

    I love Ireland! I’ve been twice for Spring Breaks in college. I wish I was there right now (my alma matter’s Spring Break). I would have studied abroad there, but it didn’t work in my school schedule.

    I’m going out to dinner at a church, and maybe picking up some Guinness on my way home.

  3. March 17, 2011 10:20 am

    ahahha was that photo taken from fb?? i can see the allison tag!
    i LOVE IRELAND! ive been many times since im 1/2 irish and have all my roots there.. i apparently still have family there but we dnt know them at all :S

  4. March 17, 2011 10:45 am

    I’ve never been, but it’s on my list! Looks gorgeous.

  5. March 17, 2011 10:55 am

    That is way cool! That photo of you doing Irish dancing is so cute!

    I am of British descent, not Irish but I do love this GREEN holiday! πŸ™‚

  6. March 17, 2011 11:09 am

    Ireland looks amazing!! I can’t believe I studied in England for a whole year and never made it to Ireland 😦 it’s definitely on my list of places! Happy St. Patricks day!

  7. March 17, 2011 11:21 am

    Aw, that’s awesome that you appreciate your heritage! I’m German, my namesake lives in Germany, and we visit them every year! It’s awesome being able to go back and see where your ancestors are from!

  8. March 17, 2011 11:23 am

    Happy St. Pats day to you… Ha ha love the picture of the cows at the end… Haven’t been to ireland but my parents have many times. My mom loves it! Hope you two drink lots of green beer today

    cheers

  9. March 17, 2011 11:39 am

    That is so cool to have such close ties to the holiday! I bet it does make the holiday extra special for you. I’m guessing you definitely have your green on today;-) Have a great day!

  10. PAM permalink
    March 17, 2011 12:23 pm

    LOVED THE LAST PICTURE. KEEP UP THE GOOD POSTING. LOVE YOUR BLOG.

  11. March 17, 2011 12:40 pm

    Happy St. Patricks day! I’ve never been to Ireland but have always wanted to go!! I’ll be celebrating with a nice glass of green beer (hopefully the bar I go to will have GF beer since I cannot have gluten :-/)

  12. Natalie permalink
    March 17, 2011 1:10 pm

    I think that is so awesome your family is very involved in your Irish heritage. I’ve never been to Ireland before but I would love to go someday.

    I think I’m going to celebrate with some Bailey’s in my coffee tonight πŸ™‚

  13. March 17, 2011 1:10 pm

    Gosh, those pictures of Ireland look stunning. Makes me want to visit!

    And I just realized I haven’t done anything “green” today (at least I wore a green shirt :D)

  14. Cory permalink
    March 17, 2011 1:24 pm

    Love your Ireland pictures! I lived in Spain for a year teaching English and this day last year, I was on a plane to Dublin! Spending St Paddy’s day in Dublin made me realize we are WAY more into the holiday than the Irish! Although they do get the day off! Ireland was my FAVORITE place in all of Europe that I traveled. Where you at Trinity College or somewhere else?

  15. March 17, 2011 2:05 pm

    Oh, those cows are so lovely πŸ˜‰ Wouldn’t you hate to be a wild animal? You can’t even get it on in the privacy of your own open field without being photographed!
    I have been to Ireland, we stayed in a cottage in Dingle and it was amazing! I’d live there in a heart beat.
    Random question – Did you happen to know Matt or Michelle Hopke or Will Loftus while you were at ND? They’re all friends of mine who were there the same time you were πŸ™‚ (I know the chances are slim haha)

  16. March 17, 2011 2:50 pm

    I’ve never been to Ireland but I want to go OH SO badly!

  17. March 17, 2011 3:07 pm

    oh lol! the cows!

    i always used to wish i was irish when i was little – i think i just liked the “kiss me, i’m irish” shirts!

  18. Corbster permalink
    March 17, 2011 3:54 pm

    I seriously love this holiday. I still remember (3rd or 4th grade?!)you coming back from an Ireland trip and showing us pictures of your Blarney Stone visit. Go Irish!!

  19. squigglefloey permalink
    March 17, 2011 4:05 pm

    Haha well, I just finished my last final of the quarter and am going home in about an hour and then proceeding to sleep for the whole week until I have to come back! πŸ™‚
    I didn’t know you went to ND! Is that why your blog background is green πŸ˜‰

  20. Gabrielle permalink
    March 17, 2011 4:51 pm

    We are going to Ireland next year when ND is playing Navy at Aviva. I can’t wait – it’ll be my first time there! I’d love if you did a go-to post for Dublin! Especially the best places to get fish and chips and a pint.

    We will be going to Galway too

  21. March 17, 2011 7:01 pm

    I’m Irish too but for some reason I never really got into St. Pattys Day. I’m not sure why, it seems like such a fun holiday to celebrate! Regardless, I hope you had the best day!

  22. March 17, 2011 7:09 pm

    Never been to Ireland or anywhere that far north. Heard the surf is wicked over there though πŸ™‚

  23. March 17, 2011 8:17 pm

    girl you are representing the irish like no other today! and yesterday haha i love it! i’m glad you are though because i suck at being irish and didn’t at all.

  24. March 17, 2011 8:45 pm

    i would love love love to go to ireland one day!

    Today i ate and drank green and wore green! but worked to long to do much of anything else πŸ˜‰

  25. March 17, 2011 10:19 pm

    have fun celebrating!

    i went to ireland many years ago for like, 3 days. totally not enough!

Leave a Reply

