Skip to content

One For The Record Books

March 17, 2011

I figured out this morning that today marks the first St. Patrick’s Day on memory that I have actually worked. In both grade school and high school I was usually pulled out for Irish dance performances. In college..well…the festivities usually took priority over classes. (If class was a necessity, so was Bailey’s in my coffee). But today I worked.

It was torturous. My brother took the day off and enjoyed the parade in 70 degree sunny weather. The Brady Clan has a little float in the parade and he texted me as it went by. I envied him from my desk, staring down my last pieces of Irish Soda Bread while my co-workers pretended this wasn’t one of the best days of the year. No one on my team even wore green! But don’t worry, my old boss said that if I were still under her she would have let me leave. Please, make me more jealous…

But alas, my day began as usual. I did the same 5 mile running routine as last Thursday, followed by abs on a stability ball, the assisted pull-up shin-dig and some other machine exercises. Then it was off to the locker room…

OUTFIT:

You better believe I wore green! I even wore my green trench coat over this.

FOOD:

Breakfast was my usual banana/chia oats, except today with Sunbutter instead of peanut butter. Because the special day deserved a little excitement in the oatmeal arena.

Lunch was unpictured leftovers – vegan Colcannon, a side salad, and an apple. And eventually I had to sneak a slice of that soda bread which accompanied my Greek yogurt and strawberries for a snack. No grumbly stomach after the yogurt today!

*****

After work I met up with my friend Jill and her boyfriend to listen to some live Irish music. My harp teacher Eileen and my old accordian teacher Kelly were playing at Schlafly Bottleworks, a local brewery. It was so fun to just relax, catch up with Jill, and listen!

While there I had a small glass of Schlafly’s seasonal Extra Stout. This is the same one I had after running 19 miles a few weeks ago, leaving me extremely tipsy. The warned me that they served small portions because it’s 10% alcohol…boy do I know! If you ever get a chance to try Schlafly beer, please do! I haven’t found one that I disliked.

When I got home my house was buzzing with people. My old dance group performs at a house in my neighborhood each year and we always offer up our home for parents to wait and for everyone to eat. That meant pizzas everywhere, random trays of cookies, beer and wine, and tons of little kids. Honestly it stressed me out a bit – I need time to unwind and settle down before bed! But I played with an adorable little redhead also named Clare and chatted with old friends which was nice.

As for my own dinner I just quickly made a veggie burger. It was a Dr. Praeger’s Bombay Burger with mustard, spinach, and tomato on a sandwich thin. I also had a Luna Bar for dessert.

And now I need to get my life together before falling asleep! And by get my life together I mean check more basketball scores to see how much worse my brackets are getting. REALLY Louisville?

Before I go, I need to thank each of you so much for your thoughtful advice on my “I’m Confused” post. I have read each one thoroughly and truly appreciate all of the knowledge and experiences you are sharing. It’s so nice to know I’m not alone!!

Hope you guys had an AWESOME Holiday!!

  • Do you like beer? What is your favorite type?

While I am a fan of vodka waters and a good wine, I’m a beer girl at heart. I often stick to a classic Bud Select, but love trying all types of beers. I get so many weird looks when I order Guinness at bars!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenni permalink
    March 17, 2011 9:17 pm

    I love Schlafly too–the pumpkin and christmas ones are my favorites, the oatmeal stout is pretty good too–but all are definitely for nights when you only want one, they’re so filling! so otherwise I like bud light lime or blue moon!

  2. March 17, 2011 9:35 pm

    Sadly enough I just can’t get into beer. I’ve tried lots of kinds and haven’t even remotely liked any of them. The closest I get to beer is hard apple cider. But I love me some wine!

  3. March 17, 2011 9:47 pm

    i LOVE beer! there are so many amazing microbrews in wisconsin, and i’m a spoiled beer snob now! i do love schlafly’s though!!

  4. Abby permalink
    March 17, 2011 9:59 pm

    I can’t get myself to like beer. I’m more of a vodka or a good homemade margarita on the rocks girl! That outfit is adorable. As for Luna bars -you should try the Chocolate Dipped Coconut if you haven’t! So good! 🙂

  5. March 17, 2011 10:12 pm

    Happy St. Patty’s Day!! I’m loving the green outfit. Australia has different beers than I’m used to but I’ve been drinking Pure Blonde and really enjoy it!

  6. March 17, 2011 11:23 pm

    I really like beer, but it did take me a while. My favorite go-to is probably Labatt or Heinken, but I also like Guiness Extra Stout!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    March 18, 2011 3:34 am

    Seriously, after I come home from a long day of school/or what-not…I hope for a nice quiet house. Which it usually is, unless my mom has her sisters over (who I love — but I need time to unwind!) so I know what you mean 🙂
    Great job rockin’ the green! any plans for the wknd?

  8. March 18, 2011 8:24 am

    ahh so sorry you had to work !!! a float int he parade? that is AWESOME!! im more of a hard alcohol lady myself.. but stella is my fav beer if i had to choose!

  9. March 18, 2011 8:28 am

    I WISH I liked beer, but I can’t even pretend like it’s tastes good. I act like a 5 year old and make an ugly face every time I try it. I’m a vodka lover, 100% 😉

  10. March 18, 2011 9:22 am

    I’m such a beer girl! Love it! Blue Moon, Shiner Boch, Abita (brewed in Louisiana), Yuengling, Heineken… i could go on for days!

  11. March 18, 2011 9:43 am

    I just stumbled across your blog and love it! 🙂

    I am definitely a beer girl at heart too. I love sierra nevada, brooklyn, smithwick’s, stella…And cheap beers too. At 2 dollars a can, you can’t go wrong with PBR. 🙂 Guinness is a titch too dark for me. I love that you order it at bars! That’s hardcore.

    And like the addition of sunbutter to your oats. really need to get my hands on sunbutter. I’ve been seeing it around and it looks so tasty!

  12. March 18, 2011 4:55 pm

    your green outfit WINS! i love it, you are damn cute. i love beer. green lev is a favorite.

Leave a Reply

