Skip to content

A Lenten Lunch Date

March 18, 2011

Last Friday my older brother John asked me for some ideas about where to grab a meatless lunch. I would have gone with him, but I had a delicious cashew cheeze sauce pasta sitting next to me that I couldn’t pass up. I suggested that in the future we have a standing Lenten Lunch Date on Fridays so we can go try yummy vegetarian food together. Today was our first!

NCAA basketball actually took precedence over good vegetarian food today since Notre Dame played at 12:40pm. I checked the menu at a variety of sports bars and saw that Bar Louie had a promising veggie wrap, so that’s where we went.

Basketball? Check.

Ridiculously good wrap? Check.

Good company? Check. My brother and I usually get along:)

I ordered the Grilled Veggie Wrap without queso or mayo and with a side of fruit. I was so happy with my decision! The veggies were marinated in balsamic and grilled perfectly, and the mixture of avocado and hummus is always perfect. I really think the queso and mayo would have just diluted the flavors…not necessary in my opinion.

I cleared my plate. Notre Dame won. Lunch held me over all afternoon. Lenten Lunch Date #1 was a success!

*****

After work I stopped by Barnes and Noble for some inspirational reading.

I flipped through these three and “Changing Your Course” was my favorite. I’ve been on the fence about enrolling in The Institute of Integrative Nutrition, but this book made me realize I can’t afford not to follow my dreams. If I’m unhappy or unfulfilled, doing nothing isn’t going to change it. The book gave me a great boost of confidence and convinced me that enrolling is in my best interest, and luckily I got my parent’s approval tonight as well.

On the way home I stopped at Crazy Bowls & Wraps for my traditional Friday night dinner. I was pretty hungry at this point and think I actually waited a little too long to eat because I couldn’t stop munching afterwards.

At first I thought they brought me the wrong dish, but then I learned the restaurant got new bowls. My tofu veggie bowl with brown rice and jalepeno cilantro sauce was just as yummy as ever. And the natural light at dinner was nice change!

On the way home I crunched on an apple for dessert, and then I had some of my dance teacher’s famous Irish soda bread (admittedly better than mine, but it’s okay because she’s actually Irish) and some tortilla chips.

And now I’m cozied up on the couch for some Say Yes To The Dress, basketball, blog reading. More carbo-loading for tomorrow’s 20 miler may be in store is most definitely happening. It’s my longest run ever, and my last long training run before the marathon! YIKES!

  • How are you spending your Friday night?
  • Anyone have any exceptionally great meals recently to tell me about?
15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 8:48 pm

    Good luck on your run tomorrow! If you can, plan your route so the last few miles are somewhat uphill. Unless the course has changed drastically, the last 2 – 3 miles of the GO! are all uphill. I really wish I would of trained to be better prepared for them!

  2. March 18, 2011 9:10 pm

    your crazy bowls on fridays always make me so drool!

    glad you decided to go with whats best for you šŸ™‚ if you’re passionate about something then it’s definitely the right decision!

  3. Abby permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:39 pm

    That tofu veggie bowl looks yummy! I had dinner with my grandma tonight–I hadn’t seen her since Christmas so that was great! Then I made homemade hummus for the first time and I’m just soaking in the goodness of March Madness! Good luck on the 20 miler tomorrow!

  4. March 18, 2011 9:59 pm

    All those dishes look awesome! Both my man and I are not feeling well so the night was spent in with popcorn and food network!!

  5. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    March 18, 2011 10:11 pm

    that’s so exciting you’re pursuing your passions; good for you! and that tofu bowl look amazing.

    I’m seriously so glad I found your blog!! I’m planning on running my first marathon this fall so I’m excited to read about your training and how it goes for you. Good luck with the long run tomorrow!

    And given last night’s festivities tonight was a quiet one here. I’ve actually been knitting (just learned). I am such an old woman ha! šŸ™‚

  6. March 19, 2011 1:39 am

    I love your Lenten lunch date idea! So fun. And GOOD LUCK on your 20-miler!!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    March 19, 2011 3:05 am

    20 miles! good lordy! good luck girl!

  8. March 19, 2011 5:32 am

    Your happiness is your responsibility. By nor pursuing your dreams you re not doing yourself a favour, neither your family and friends. You ll end up whining for the rest of your life and people around you will roll their eyes saying: ” Here she goes again”. You ll be a miserable company even for your pet .

    Know that I frightened you enough , let me say that there s nothing more inspiring to watch , than a young girl who stands up for her dreams!

    Good luck!

  9. March 19, 2011 7:43 am

    Wow that wrap looks amazeballs!!

  10. March 19, 2011 8:16 am

    That wrap looks so delish! Last night I watched The Social Network – have you seen it? I think it makes Mark Zuckerberg looks like suuuch a douche. But I feel bad for him at the same time haha. Good luck with your run!! šŸ™‚

  11. March 19, 2011 8:59 am

    hey Clare! just wanted to let you know you won my oikos giveaway so if you could shoot me an email with your address that would be fab! thanks!

  12. March 19, 2011 9:53 am

    woohoo! your friday night sounds like mine, except i’m only carbing up for a 9 miler saturday because my 1/2 is next weekend! Then it’s time to bust out the big guns and i’ll be thinking of how you got through your long runs for your marathon!! yay!!!

  13. March 19, 2011 1:36 pm

    I’m really curious about those books! I love the line “you can’t afford not to follow your dream.” Sigh..that’s so true!

  14. March 19, 2011 3:33 pm

    CONGRATS ON YOUR 20 miler!! iknow you posted this last night.. but im just reading it now and i know you NAILED IT!! your friday night sounds SO PERFECt.. say yes to the dress ROCKs

Trackbacks

  1. Lunch Date Success & Crofter’s Winner! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

