Skip to content

Healthy Living At Work

March 18, 2011

Happy Friday! If you’re observing Lent, check out my post on great non-meat options for Fridays!

This morning I want to talk about healthy living for a good work-life balance. I believe a work-life balance is essential to perform your best in all areas of your life, and it’s something I constantly struggle with. It’s hard not to get too caught up in work, to make time for yourself, to see your friends, and to have a hobby that makes you happy.

I exercise in the morning not only for fitness and health, but for “me-time” and stress relief. This morning’s Bikram class, though extremely hot for some reason, left me feeling strong and calm. I love arriving at work knowing I’ve already accomplished something that day. But not everyone is a morning person like me. Some people prefer to exercise after work and some find ways to fit it in during lunch. But it’s hard not to be able to go for a run whenever we are getting antsy or have the most energy. Taking a break from work at 2pm just doesn’t fly in most companies.

OUTFIT:

I’m lucky enough to work at a company with a relatively relaxed dress code, including jeans on Friday. The ability to be comfortable and express myself through my clothes makes going to work a lot more fun! Some people at my company, and some entire companies in general, still believe that you still need to be in a suit to look professional. It’s definitely a point of debate, but I love the creativity that naturally flows from the ability to dress the way I want.

 

BREAKFAST:

I love to cook and eat healthy foods! Bringing a delicious breakfast to work that I can make in our mini kitchenettes helps me maintain that passion every day. And if I for some reason forget, our great cafeteria has fresh oatmeal and someone making egg sandwiches each morning.

I’m discussing this today because I’m trying to get ideas for ways that my company could promote a better work-life balance and attain a health-focused culture. To start, I’m compiling a list of best practices that other companies currently have. So tell me, what does your company do to encourage healthy living and a good work-life balance? These things can be straight forward such as healthy options in the cafeteria or a state-of-the-art fitness center, but can also range to video games to play, recycling, and stress relief.

Here are some examples:

  • Nutrition and wellness seminars offered
  • Vegetarian/Whole Wheat/Low Sodium meals offered. Nutrition information provided
  • Outdoor space to utilize
  • Options for standing at your desk or sitting on exercise balls
  • Weight loss programs or programs to help quit smoking
  • Running clubs
  • Half-day Fridays in the summer
  • Icentives for healthy lifestyle changes
  • Free pedometers
  • Massages!
  • A general culture of health where it is okay to leave if your work is done, okay to meditate for a few minutes, or okay to go for a jog during the day if you’re feeling antsy

 

I’m excited to hear about the awesome opportunities you all have at work!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 9:59 am

    A friend’s workplace has “walking competitions” – they hand out pedometers to employees and ask them to log their steps; whoever logs the most wins! I think this really encourages people to walk to someone else’s office, rather than e-mail, or take the steps, rather than elevator. Seems to work well there!

  2. March 18, 2011 10:23 am

    i think all those things you listed are IDEAL and perfect for every work company… the most i get is a cafeteria that tries to do their best but i really dont think they consult any dieticians or anything.. they just go with the basic health facts that aren’t always true

  3. March 18, 2011 10:34 am

    I’m still a student, but I do hope that wherever I end up working has good programs in place like some of those you named. I would love to have a gym at work, so I could come in early and exercise there. I’m going to be an accountant, so it does worry me that (especially in the first few years), I will really have to squeeze in the time to exercise!

  4. Abby permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:08 am

    I really hope I can find a job that encorporates some of these practices. I am going to graduate with my RN BSN in December! 🙂 It kind of amazes me that hospitals aren’t the first to have HEALTHY cafeterias. The ones I have been to don’t anyways!

  5. Natalie permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:06 pm

    It is wonderful that your company encourages a healthy lifestyle. My company tries to encourage healthy practices. For example, they offer yoga classes and massages at lunch, and a walking competition every year. Something that is DEFINITELY lacking are the food choices. Our cafeteria has things like oatmeal and fruit for breakfast, but then right next to the oatmeal and cream of wheat lie trays of donuts, pop tarts and heavy fat-laden breakfasts with bacon and tater tots. Another thing I noticed was that the fruit and yogurt parfaits “seem” healthy, but I looked up the nutrition info once and there is a whopping 63 grams of sugar and an equally absurd amount of carbohydrates (I adore carbs, but come on.) Even the lunches seem healthy too until you check out the nutrition information.. there are disgusting amounts of sodium, fat and calories. I’d say there’s room for improvement there!

  6. March 18, 2011 3:00 pm

    Large groups of co-workers in my office sign up for monthly or bi-monthly races (usually 5Ks). The races almost always have a fun theme. It builds such a livelihood among co-workers because they train for the races together 🙂

  7. March 18, 2011 3:16 pm

    My company encourages healthy behaviors by making the financial impact a little lighter… they sponsor 50% of the cost of a bunch of different health-related expenses, up to $500 per year. They’ll partially sponsor race entry fees, gym memberships, wii fit games (?!), heart monitors, and a whole bunch more. It’s such a great deal for employees!

  8. March 18, 2011 3:23 pm

    My company really pushes healthy living which Im so thankful for! they have a nice on site gym..training sessions, nutrition emails..the works! Love it…great post..finding that balance is tough but it can be done. Just takes a little work. Have an awesome friday!

  9. Cory permalink
    March 18, 2011 3:27 pm

    My last boyfriend worked for an AWESOME company that had a gym in the building (which I would sneak in and use w/ him hehe), group exercises classes during lunch hour, a massage therapist and a nutritionist that would come on a semi-regular basis to meet w/ employees by appt. I think all of those healthy-living perks were amazing and I wish I worked for a company that offered them!

Leave a Reply

