Skip to content

What I Ate After 20 Miles

March 20, 2011

I got a question in the comments about how I refueled after yesterday’s 20 miler. The answer in short? With LOTS of food. You’d think that you would feel overly stuffed, but somehow your body just wants more. Here’s the timeline:

3pm: post-run Green Monster. The purpose of this was to get calories in me right away to replenish my glycogen stores. The smoothie probably had about 350-400 calories in it, but it was just a quick snack before I could make a real meal.

5:30pm: After I had iced, and showered I reheated a leftover Falafel Burger and had it with spinach, tomato, and avocado. I also had an entire purple sweet potato cut into chips and baked. Dessert for this meal was two supercharge me cookies that I received from Astrid!

9pm: I babysat last night but brought food with me because I knew I’d get hungry. I made my self a quesadilla out of two whole wheat tortillas, vegan mozzerella, and a bunch of sauteed veggies. I had it with salsa and had a Lemon Luna Bar for dessert.

11:30pm: I got home from babysitting and didn’t feel super hungry, but knew I wouldn’t sleep well unless I had more food in my stomach. The minute I opened the fridge I was famished. I snacked on three pieces of Irish Brown Bread while making a massive bowl of cereal. I had probably 2-3 servings of Kashi Go Lean with strawberries and soy milk.

Then I went back for 3 more supercharge mes before heading up to bed at 1am.

****

So that was yesterday. I think I ate quite a bit so no worries on that calorie end. Somehow it’s only 8 am, meaning only 7 hours of sleep which is not nearly enough for me, but I woke up starving. I just had a leftover crescent-wrapped, cheese-filled asparagus spear that my mom made and an apple. And soon I’ll make breakfast:) My post-run hunger always lasts at least two days!

 

 

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    March 20, 2011 8:52 am

    way to go on the 20 mile run yesterday!!!! I’m so impressed. and those quesadillas look so good!

  2. March 20, 2011 10:04 am

    I want to take up running just so I can eat like that. 🙂

    I seriously can’t imaging icing, though. I honestly feel like that’s the biggest reason that I will never attempt long runs. Icing. No way! Isn’t it horrible?

  3. March 20, 2011 10:23 am

    DANG im not surprised!!!! you should be hungry and i love how you are eating nutritious foods to fuel your body!! happy eating 😀

  4. March 20, 2011 10:56 am

    Awesome job on the run! I made quesadillas yesterday too!

  5. March 20, 2011 11:45 am

    Quesadillas look GREAT!!!!! I kind of want to make some for myself today! Long-long run hunger is so weird, but definitely cannot be ignored. It doesn’t even let you sleep!

  6. March 20, 2011 11:58 am

    That sounds like a delicious way to refuel, if I do say so myself!! I feel like I’m always hungrier the day AFTER a long run, than the actual day. When I was training for my last race, I’d always make a huge bowl of recovery oats- basically like a 600-700 calorie bowl of oatmeal. So freaking good!!

  7. March 20, 2011 3:19 pm

    I’ve been away from my computer all weekend, but I just wanted to tell you congratulations on your 20 miles!! That’s just awesome! 🙂

  8. March 20, 2011 5:11 pm

    Wow, 20 miles is awesome! That quesadilla looks super tasty!!

  9. March 20, 2011 6:11 pm

    hahaha i’m always starving after i run like 3 miles let alone 20!! i bet your like a ravenous beast today haha

  10. mel permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:39 am

    thanks for answering my question girl! have a good Monday!

Leave a Reply

