Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: The Sensitive Guy

March 21, 2011

Monday Man-Day

While watching the season finale of The Bachelor last week, I started to think about sensitive vs. tough guys. I think we can all agree that Brad Womack qualifies as the sensitive type, at least as he came across in the show. There were times when I thought if he said “I’m a changed man!” one more time I would barf. He was there for the right reasons. I know. His T.V. therapist told me.

Look at that cheesy grin.

source

But I can’t completely rag on the sensitive type. As much as girls say they want a “tough guy”, it’s really nice to be listened to, to be taken care of, and to be complimented. It is important for a guy to open up in a relationship and be able to say how he is feeling. The guy doesn’t have to have a sob-fest professing his love for you every night, but feeling needed and appreciated can really strengthen a relationship.

source

But then there’s the oh-so-desired tough guy. The jerk. The one girls hate to love. These guys grunt at the gym, ask you to bring them another beer while they are watching sports, and constantly keep you on edge. Colin Farrell has a total tough-guy image.

source

ย 

Dating the tough guy isย  thrilling, really, and girls love the chase. There’s nothing wrong with having to work at your relationship – I actually think it helps keep things interesting and exciting. But at some point that macho wall gets frustrating and you’ll be dying to tear it down just a little bit.

So what’s a good balance? Do you guys prefer a sensitive guy or a tough guy? Did Brad Womack make you sick to your stomach?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 2:34 pm

    I think a prefer the sensitive type. A little rough around the edges is fine, but I need someone to take care of me a little, too!

  2. March 21, 2011 2:50 pm

    I don’t get why girls like crappy guys. I really don’t! But in my mind, tough is not the same as jerk – if that makes any sense. I like that my manfriend is so kind and, yes, sensitive with me (no nightly sob-fests, I promise!) but he’s also very tough. I guess I feel special that he opens up to me and not many other people. I can’t describe him – but he’s great! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love this post, girl!

  3. March 21, 2011 2:55 pm

    I’ve never understood why my friends are always attracted to “bad” guys. They’ll outwardly acknowledge their behavior is wrong and yet do nothing about it. I think there is definitely a balance. My boyfriend is incredibly supportive and opens up to me in a way he probably doesn’t to many others, but he is also a guy’s guy, which is more appealing to me than a “bad” boy…he’s tough in the athletic department but not mean.

  4. March 21, 2011 3:30 pm

    Prefer Colin Farrel myself!!

  5. March 21, 2011 5:00 pm

    BAHAHH im SO GLAD you talked about Brad– he was WAY to sensitive and awkward thtat it came off so girly!! not my thing.. i do like a guy whos sensitive but i like them to be tough and protect me ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. March 21, 2011 5:27 pm

    i only watched one episode of the bachelor this season and i was already sick of hearing how much brad had changed. barf.

    i guess i like sensitive guys. it’s too frustrating not know what the jerks are thinking/feeling and while it might be more exciting at first, i don’t think that’s the kind of guy i could be secure with for very long.

  7. March 21, 2011 6:57 pm

    It’s true that “tough guys” do have a certain appeal to women because they’re rugged and seem to be in control, which is attractive. But in my opinion, sensitive guys have the complete package when it comes to being serious dating and marriage material but they generally seem to be more gentle and understanding to women’s feelings, and in the relationship for the right reasons.

    I’ve seen my girlfriends date some real jerks and it never worked out. They were too into themselves. I’m just glad that my husband is mostly sensitive with a touch of rugged “tough guy.” It’s the perfect combo. And for so many other reasons, he’s perfect for me.

    Good question!

  8. Good Ol'WENDY permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:21 pm

    Oh Clare….now you’re making the classic mistake of thinking that the terms “sensitive” and “tough” are mutually exclusive…..Honey, you’ve made yourself a false dichotomy. Classic mistake among women who haven’t met a man who embodies both.

    Sweetheart, let me just say….SAMUEL L. JACKSON! His gut wrenching performance in Snakes on a Plane shows he’s got nerves of steel and a heart of gold. Not to mention, he’s hunky as SIN!

    I feel bad for posting about him on your blog because I know what you’ve given up for Lent…but he is one fine piece of chocolate!!! (Out of line? Sorry!!! Wendy got her greedy little paws on another bottle of Chardonnay! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    Take Care and God Bless!
    Good Ol’ Wendy

  9. Abby permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:55 pm

    I think it needs to be a balance of sensitivity and being tough. I’ll be the first to admit that I like an athletic, cocky guy but at the same time they need to be able to be sensitive and considerate of others.

  10. squigglefloey permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:51 pm

    Yup. Brad Wooombat made me sick. I was so annoyed by his cookie cutter self by the end that it felt less like a reality show and more like a dumb sitcom. He’s as good as a cardboard man to me. haha…

Leave a Reply

